Shapable Spells such as Fire Storm and Reverse Gravity


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I did a messageboard search, but the wording for spell is not explicit, so I figure I would ask. Or at least not clear enough, given that I have players who can see it being valid either way.

For spells that are shapable [(s) following the area description of the spell] - do the areas affected need to be contiguous?

Firestorm
Reverse Gravity

And from the prd -
(S) Shapeable: If an area or effect entry ends with “(S),” you can shape the spell. A shaped effect or area can have no dimension smaller than 10 feet. Many effects or areas are given as cubes to make it easy to model irregular shapes. Three-dimensional volumes are most often needed to define aerial or underwater effects and areas.


Hm. I would say that the shape would have a dimension of 0 (< 10') at some point if it weren't connected, but I could see an argument the other way.


I'm fairly certain that in 3.x, it was explicit that it needed to be contiguous. From the text given there, Hogarth's reasoning is the only support that I can see for not allowing it to consist of multiple regions.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shapable Spells such as Fire Storm and Reverse Gravity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.