Five foot step, move action, and attack


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

If a character has the Improved Feint feat, which, among other things, causes Feint to be a move action, can he, in one round, Feint (move action), Attack (standard action), and take a 5-foot-step?

The rule on a 5-foot-step is:

You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot-step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot-step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot-step in the same round that you move any distance.

On the one hand, "perform any movement" somewhat implies using a move action, but it doesn't actually state "use a move action." Improved Feint is a move action, but does not involve movement.

Thoughts?


You can, a move action can be used for a lot of things, since 5 foot step says when you don't move, when you don't move you can use it. It doesn't say a move equilevent action.


Leo's right: Five-foot-steps are for rounds where you didn't otherwise move, meaning that you didn't change your position on the battlefield. There are many different things that are a move action (formerly known as a "move-equivalent action") that have nothing to do with movement (again in the definition of changing your position on the battlefield) as such. Feinting with the feat is one, but there are more: Standing up from prone, drawing a weapon, reloading a light crossbow are other popular ones.


Yes he can (what leo said).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Five foot step, move action, and attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.