Very basic monster stat block question


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Just a pretty basic question for a new guy understanding monster stat blocks. For example, take this CR 1 Ghoul, and look at its melee stats:

Melee bite +3 (1d6+1 plus disease and paralysis) and 2 claws +3 (1d6+1 plus paralysis)

So when its the ghouls turn to attack, what are his standard action options? Does he get 1 bite OR 2 claws? Does he get both a bit and 2 claws? Or does it take a full round action to get both a bite and the claws?

In addition, when it lists the dmg for 2 claws, is that 1d6+1 per claw? Or just a total of 1D6 dmg for both claws?

Thanks for any clarification!


As a Standard action you may make one natural attack, 1 bite or 1 claw. You must use a full attack action to use all of your natural attacks.
The damage listed is for one claw.


So using a full attack action, it would get both the bite AND the 2 claws? I'm just trying to figure out why they specify two claws.

Here is another example, I'm trying to understand:

Melee 2 claws +12 (1d6+5), bite +12 (1d6+5) or longspear +12/+7 (1d8+7), bite +7 (1d6+2)

So if I've learned anything, I would say that this creature can use 1 claw OR a +12 bite OR a longspear attack (although I don't get the +12/+7), but then why is there another bite option listed at +7.

Maybe its just been too long of a day, but i'm trying to read into the use a comma, the "or" and the "and", but I'm not quite getting it. I'm more familiar with 4th edition that sorta lays out the monster stats real real simple. So please forgive my ignorance.


The specify 2 claws because that is the number they have. Some creatures have an unusual number of natural attacks (like an Athach).
If it attacks with it's spear as a full attack action, it can use it's bite as a secondary natural attack.

Liberty's Edge

GarrinB wrote:

So using a full attack action, it would get both the bite AND the 2 claws? I'm just trying to figure out why they specify two claws.

Here is another example, I'm trying to understand:

Melee 2 claws +12 (1d6+5), bite +12 (1d6+5) or longspear +12/+7 (1d8+7), bite +7 (1d6+2)

So if I've learned anything, I would say that this creature can use 1 claw OR a +12 bite OR a longspear attack (although I don't get the +12/+7), but then why is there another bite option listed at +7.

Maybe its just been too long of a day, but i'm trying to read into the use a comma, the "or" and the "and", but I'm not quite getting it. I'm more familiar with 4th edition that sorta lays out the monster stats real real simple. So please forgive my ignorance.

All listed statblock attack sequences are for a full attack action. A full attack action must be used anytime a creature uses more than one attack. The statblock attack sequences can have multiple options. A creature can do list 1 or list 2 or list 3.

In the example you have above, a full attack could be either:

1) 2 claws +12 (1d6+5), bite +12 (1d6+5)

or

2) longspear +12/+7 (1d8+7), bite +7 (1d6+2)

Option 1 is 3 attacks (a claw, another claw, and a bite).
Option 2 is 3 attacks (a longspear at +12, a longspear iterative attack at +7, and a bite).


But to be specific with your second example, as full attack action, your second creature could attack with two claws and a bite, or with the longspear twice and bite.

The reason in this case the order of claws and bite flipped with respect to the ghoul, is because the primary weapon is listed first. In the case of the ghoul, its first impulse is to bite. Clawing comes second. The other creature favors its claws.


GarrinB wrote:


Here is another example, I'm trying to understand:

Melee 2 claws +12 (1d6+5), bite +12 (1d6+5) or longspear +12/+7 (1d8+7), bite +7 (1d6+2)

Ok here is the Draw out way to read it.

Standard Action = 1 attack per round.

1 claw +12 (1d6+5 damage) = Left claw

or

1 claw +12 (1d6+5 damage) = Right claw

or

1 bite +12 (1d6+5 damage) = Bite

or

1 Longspear attack + 12 (1d8+7 damage = by spear

....

Full Round Attack Action

  • = Right Claw +12 (1d6+5 damage), Left Claw +12 (1d6+5 damage), and Bite +12 (1d6+5 Damage).

    or

  • = First attack with Longspear +12 (1d6+7 damage), Second attack with Longspear +7 (1d8+7 damage), and Bite +7 (1d6+2 damage).

    .................

    The stat block is a condensed version, used in past edition.
    In the example above, the creature is using its natural attack listed given, or it is using a weapon attacks + bite listed given.

    Anyway hope this helps.


  • Wow, this is all very helpful. I was surprised to find out that the Longspear +12/+7 was actually a shorthand of sorts for 2 attacks.

    Also I'm I to understand the order the attacks are listed in is actually an indication of the creatures preferred fighting style?


    GarrinB wrote:
    Also I'm I to understand the order the attacks are listed in is actually an indication of the creatures preferred fighting style?

    Most of the time, yes. When the situation calls for it, the creature might change its tactics, but otherwise the order given is usually the order in which the creature will use its attacks.

    Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Very basic monster stat block question All Messageboards

    Want to post a reply? Sign in.
    Recent threads in Rules Questions