Taking free actions outside of your turn?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I was reading a grapple clarification Web site when I found the following passage:

"Remember, free actions can only be performed on your turn, unless the action description says otherwise; this one doesn’t, so the Primary Grappler can only end a grapple on his turn."

What I want to know, is where do the rules confirm this? I never really saw anything either way on the matter. I know you can talk as a free action even when it's not your turn, but I've never seen anything to make it exclusive to talking.

Scarab Sages

Do you get any actions when it's not your turn (assuming you're not holding an action or delaying your turn)?


You can take immediate actions in response to something, even on someond else's turn. Immediate actions, pf core rule book, pg. 182


Ravingdork wrote:

I was reading a grapple clarification Web site when I found the following passage:

"Remember, free actions can only be performed on your turn, unless the action description says otherwise; this one doesn’t, so the Primary Grappler can only end a grapple on his turn."

What I want to know, is where do the rules confirm this? I never really saw anything either way on the matter. I know you can talk as a free action even when it's not your turn, but I've never seen anything to make it exclusive to talking.

page 181 bottom left

free actions: you can perform one or more free actions WHILE TAKING ANOTHER action normally.

free actions are performed as PART of another action. ( this lead to some really funny stuff with immediate actions and free actions..) but any DM worth his salt would rule otherwise ( this is from core no joke second printing..) probably got cleaned up in errata.

Scarab Sages

If it specifically states it in immediate action text and not in free action text then you may not take a free action outside of your turn correct?


the rule wonkyness came in a game we played where i laughed and said ... "oh so if i take an immediate action.. as PART OF THAT ACTION i use my free action TO..."

and we all sorta just giggled and were like NO..

If you notice on 188 the list of things you can do, they all must happen on YOUR TURN except talking.

the intent is that free actions unless stated must happen on your turn AS PART OF ANOTHER action. (while i do X i activate X.


I think it depends on the free action in question along with what else is going on in the game. There is no correct yes or no answer.


We looked into this im sure on the srd or pfsrd or whatever it states on your turn. Unless it specifically states on anothers turn.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So I can't even take a free action in and of itself? It HAS to be part of another action?

That makes no sense to me.


Ravingdork wrote:

So I can't even take a free action in and of itself? It HAS to be part of another action?

That makes no sense to me.

I don't think that is right either. I know speaking is a free a action that can be taken when it is not your go. That is why last post read the way it did.


Technically thats what it says.. but if you think about it.. it makes sense...

"im standing in place and take a free action" .. your action is standing in place...

(otherwise think about how long the rules section just on free actions could be)


Quoting PRD: Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.

Note that "while" does not mean "has to be part of". It simply means that your free action may occur while you do something else. For example, you may speak while attacking, or drop a weapon while spellcasting. You may also speak while not doing anything or drop a weapon prior or after doing another action.

However, your free actions (unless explicitly allowed in action description) must happen on your turn. This is a very well thought out rule, otherwise, simply by holding a hand grenade (or a potion of ultimate boom) and dropping it outside of your turn, you would be able to circumvent action limits.

Regards,
Ruemere

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Taking free actions outside of your turn? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions