Order of the Dragon challenge


Rules Questions


Quote:
Whenever an order of the dragon cavalier issues a challenge, his allies receive a +1 circumstance bonus on melee attack rolls against the target of his challenge whenever he is threatening the target. This bonus increases by +1 for every four levels the cavalier possesses.

So, is it correct that the only time you don't get the attack bonus vs. your challengee is if you're attacking unarmed and don't have Improved Unarmed Strike?

Grand Lodge

Sizik wrote:
Quote:
Whenever an order of the dragon cavalier issues a challenge, his allies receive a +1 circumstance bonus on melee attack rolls against the target of his challenge whenever he is threatening the target. This bonus increases by +1 for every four levels the cavalier possesses.
So, is it correct that the only time you don't get the attack bonus vs. your challengee is if you're attacking unarmed and don't have Improved Unarmed Strike?

Not the only time - if you, the cavalier, make an attack against the target that is not a melee attack, you don't benefit from the bonus. If you don't threaten the target, nobody gets the bonus.

For example, if you attack the target with a whip while you aren't in reach with any other weapon or Improved Unarmed Strike, you don't gain the attack bonus even though you're making a melee attack.


Sizik wrote:
Quote:
Whenever an order of the dragon cavalier issues a challenge, his allies receive a +1 circumstance bonus on melee attack rolls against the target of his challenge whenever he is threatening the target. This bonus increases by +1 for every four levels the cavalier possesses.
So, is it correct that the only time you don't get the attack bonus vs. your challengee is if you're attacking unarmed and don't have Improved Unarmed Strike?

Correct, you are not armed so you do not threaten. A Spiked gauntlet solves this issue though.


Starglim wrote:
Sizik wrote:
Quote:
Whenever an order of the dragon cavalier issues a challenge, his allies receive a +1 circumstance bonus on melee attack rolls against the target of his challenge whenever he is threatening the target. This bonus increases by +1 for every four levels the cavalier possesses.
So, is it correct that the only time you don't get the attack bonus vs. your challengee is if you're attacking unarmed and don't have Improved Unarmed Strike?

Not the only time - if you, the cavalier, make an attack against the target that is not a melee attack, you don't benefit from the bonus. If you don't threaten the target, nobody gets the bonus.

For example, if you attack the target with a whip while you aren't in reach with any other weapon or Improved Unarmed Strike, you don't gain the attack bonus even though you're making a melee attack.

Ah, I forgot about whips.

Grand Lodge

Sizik wrote:
Starglim wrote:
Sizik wrote:
Quote:
Whenever an order of the dragon cavalier issues a challenge, his allies receive a +1 circumstance bonus on melee attack rolls against the target of his challenge whenever he is threatening the target. This bonus increases by +1 for every four levels the cavalier possesses.
So, is it correct that the only time you don't get the attack bonus vs. your challengee is if you're attacking unarmed and don't have Improved Unarmed Strike?

Not the only time - if you, the cavalier, make an attack against the target that is not a melee attack, you don't benefit from the bonus. If you don't threaten the target, nobody gets the bonus.

For example, if you attack the target with a whip while you aren't in reach with any other weapon or Improved Unarmed Strike, you don't gain the attack bonus even though you're making a melee attack.

Ah, I forgot about whips.

That was only an example. There are also ranged attacks and spells (other than touch spells, which work with the challenge). Various conditions prevent the cavalier from making attacks of opportunity, but I'm not sure if they explicitly prevent him threatening an area. If the cavalier is baleful polymorphed into a mindless creature, he still qualifies because it's a circumstance bonus.


he wouldnt get it on a charge, because when he begins his charge action he isnt threatening.

Grand Lodge

Pendagast wrote:
he wouldnt get it on a charge, because when he begins his charge action he isnt threatening.

He threatens the target when he makes his attack. He can challenge a foe and then charge at it, because issuing a challenge is a swift action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Order of the Dragon challenge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions