Does Light spell get a save?


Rules Questions


...if cast on someones nose? Back in AD&D, we used to have a wizard who abused this spell to no end. I see in Pathfinders, it gets no saving throw, but what about if you made the focal point on someones nose? The obvious side-effects being temporary blindness.


It isn't viable tactics since 3.0. Currently light spell specificially is cast on objects. Nose, like any other part of creature's body is not an object.


Taem wrote:
...if cast on someones nose?

Nose is not an object.

Blindness would not happen anyway, all Light does is raise the level of light up to Normal.

If instead it was cast on someone's hat or armor, I would house rule that it gets (object) saves:

Saving Throw (object): The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature's saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater. This notation does not mean that a spell can be cast only on objects. Some spells of this sort can be cast on creatures or objects. A magic item's saving throw bonuses are each equal to 2 + 1/2 the item's caster level.

Dark Archive

Yep, can't do it in 3.x/PF

Quote:

Light

School evocation [light]; Level bard 0, cleric 0, druid 0, sorcerer/wizard 0

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V, M/DF (a firefly)

Range touch

Target object touched

Duration 10 min./level

Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

This spell causes a touched object to glow like a torch, shedding normal light in a 20-foot radius, and increasing the light level for an additional 20 feet by one step, up to normal light (darkness becomes dim light, and dim light becomes normal light). In an area of normal or bright light, this spell has no effect. The effect is immobile, but it can be cast on a movable object.

You can only have one light spell active at any one time. If you cast this spell while another casting is still in effect, the previous casting is dispelled. If you make this spell permanent (through permanency or a similar effect), it does not count against this limit. Light can be used to counter or dispel any darkness spell of equal or lower spell level.

a) creatures are not objects for targeting. The spell would need to say "Target: Creature/Object touched" to use on creatures and..

b) If you could cast it on creatures, it would be a touch attack and thus, most likely, not need a saving throw and...
c) could not even blind a creature with light sensitivity.

The worst you can do with the spell as written, is try to touch a creatures armor to make it glow (and thus might help vs, invisibility or stealth). but it would need to start with a touch attack.


Thanks guys, that answers my questions.


As an amusing side note: I often pick my armor (an armored coat) as the target of a light spell. Since I'm a blight druid, it just gets covered in magically conjured glow worms.

Silver Crusade

Sekret_One wrote:
As an amusing side note: I often pick my armor (an armored coat) as the target of a light spell. Since I'm a blight druid, it just gets covered in magically conjured glow worms.

An interesting flavor addition to the spell.


If a sorcerer had the heighten spell could he dispel deeper darkness, by heightening the light spell to lvl 3, and would he need to touch the darkness to dispel it ?

I am aware this is a little off topic :)


Remco Sommeling wrote:

If a sorcerer had the heighten spell could he dispel deeper darkness, by heightening the light spell to lvl 3, and would he need to touch the darkness to dispel it ?

I am aware this is a little off topic :)

Dispel, yes ("All effects dependent on spell level (such as saving throw DCs and ability to penetrate a lesser globe of invulnerability) are calculated according to the heightened level."). Touching the darkness, no - he'd have to touch the object that deeper darkness was cast on.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Light spell get a save? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions