Cooperating on Magic Item Creation


Rules Questions


Do both people who are helping to create an item need the item creation feat?

PRD wrote:

It is possible for more than one character to cooperate in the creation of an item, with each participant providing one or more of the prerequisites. In some cases, cooperation may even be necessary.

If two or more characters cooperate to "create an item", they must agree among themselves who will be considered the creator for the purpose of determinations where the creator's level must be known.

Does this imply that those who fulfill the requirements need to have the ability to create the item?

If you can't "create an item" can you cooperate?

Why would there even be an agreement if one of the cooperaters couldn't create the item in the first place.


Raging Hobbit wrote:

Do both people who are helping to create an item need the item creation feat?

From what I read, you can cooperate even if you can't create the item on your own - it's enough if at least one of the participants has the feat. The others could be casting spells, for instance.

PRD wrote:

It is possible for more than one character to cooperate in the creation of an item, with each participant providing one or more of the prerequisites. In some cases, cooperation may even be necessary.

If two or more characters cooperate to "create an item", they must agree among themselves who will be considered the creator for the purpose of determinations where the creator's level must be known.

Emphasis mine.

Raging Hobbit wrote:
Why would there even be an agreement if one of the cooperaters couldn't create the item in the first place.

You are right, it seems strange that you can be considered the creator even if you don't have the feat :/. I guess they meant that, if two or more of the characters have the feat, they must agree who will be the creator?

So, IMHO: by RAW, you don't need the feat to cooperate and you can be the creator either way; RAI, I can't tell either way, but seems strange.


As stated in PF Core page 549 left column, 2nd paragraph..

"The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory."

So, cooperation is possible but the creator must have the craft feat.

If all parties have the craft feat, then they need to decide whom is the creator.

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

If you look at some of the magic items, they require a Craft or Knowledge skill. I think having a character on hand to guide the process or craft the component needed is what is meant. Or to cast the necessary spell at the required juncture during creation.


Crafting a magic item will always require a craft feat.. i.e..
weapons = Craft Arms and Armor
Armor = Craft Arms and Armor
Potion = Craft Potion
Scroll = Scribe Scroll
Headband = Craft Wondrous Item
Mantle = Craft Wondrous Item
Rod = Craft rod
Wand = Craft wand
Ring + Craft Ring

now, this should not be confused with the skill craft :??... but once again, needing the skill to craft an item should be required.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cooperating on Magic Item Creation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions