
![]() |

We scoured the rulebook but couldn't find the answer to this. If something is on the ground, do you have to be in the same square to pick it up or can you be in an adjacent square?
I can see it both ways. Characters already have the ability to reach into other squares otherwise we couldn't attack ajacent targets. But at the same time if I'm in the middle of my square and the item is in the middle of it's square then it's 5 feet away from me and I wouldn't be able to reach it. I know that there are no rules that say exactly where you are in your square but you see what I'm getting at.
This came up because one of the characters was concerned that his disarm would be usless as the target could step back 5 feet, pick up the item, and wait for him to advance. So we looked in the rules but couldn't find anything about what square you have to be in to pick things up.
Your thoughts?

![]() |

I do it this way because Ive never seen RAW to the contrary
you have to be in the square to pick up an object its a standard action to pick it up and it does provoke AoO
This is because you have to take time to bend over and grab the dumb thing
I could see how it might be a move equivalent aswell
Maybe you should check the actions section of the combat chapter and the table under move actions. Picking up an item is a move action that provokes. Though I haven't seen anything about not being able to pick items up from squares you threaten, having to be in the same square as the object is a reasonable houserule.
--School of Vrock

![]() |

I forgot to put in my original post a condition that I thought of after the situation happened. If your sword was on the ground and your opponent stood in the same square as it, then you could NEVER pick up the weapon if you couldn't reach into adjacent squares.
Just a situation I could see happening that would make me second guess a house rule that you had to be in the same square as the object being picked up.

![]() |

IMO, you should be able to reach into an adjacent square to pick up an item. Granted that might nerf the AoO if you do the 5ft step first, but the main purpose of disarming is not to create a AoO situation, it's so your opponent cannot attack. It has many tactical advantages. Before the target's next turn, everyone can move around him without fear of AoO. Of course, if they are wearing gauntlets or have Imp Unarmed Strike, then there is still an AoO, albeit with a less-preferred weapon. Also, the target will have to spend a move action to recover it. In the case of TWF, high-iterative attack warriors, etc, it drops them to, at best, one attack.

Raging Hobbit |

I look at it like this.
A chest in the Lich's lair has a wand in it that you need. You do not stand on the chest to pick up the wand. IMO, you can reach into adjacent squares, but not squares that you threaten. A troll trying to pick up a rock more than 5 feet away, over a player, might be problematic.