
KKay529 |
As written Charm Person appears to affect any humanoid, including giants.
Is it the intent of the spell, charm person, to affect humanoid (giant) creatures? I ask because the Charm Monster spell seems to indicate that charm person is restricted by both creature type and SIZE.
Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Drejk |

I ask because the Charm Monster spell seems to indicate that charm person is restricted by both creature type and SIZE.
Seems to be copy-paste type error when updating charm monster from 3.5 to PF and earlier when WotC upadted from 3.0 to 3.5 (in 3.0 charm person affected only Medium-sized humanoids or smaller, 3.5 removed the size restriction but 3.5 charm monster wasn't updated).

KKay529 |
Abraham spalding wrote:Size matters not. Look at me, judge me by my size do you? And well you should not.+1
Yeeees. Quite elucidating, thank you.
The description of Charm Monster reads:
"This spell functions like charm person, except that the effect is not restricted by creature type or size."
This seems to suggest that charm person is both restricted by creature type (which is confirmed in the charm person spell as humanoid), and size, which is not confirmed in the charm person spell.
So, is it the intent of charm person to only be able to be used on humanoids of a certain size?