Cleric sub domain oceans ability - Surge


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

This is from the open srd.

Surge (Su): As a standard action, you can cause a mighty wave to appear that pushes or pulls a single creature. Make a combat maneuver check against the target, using your cleric level + your Wisdom modifier as your CMB. If successful, you may pull or push the creature as if using the bull rush or drag combat maneuver. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

All I want to know is that if I move a foe through one of my threatened squares do I receive an attack of oppurtunity? I think that I would, but I'm unsure since it's on my turn that they're moving. Just wanted to clarify. thanks!

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Malleus Maleficarum wrote:


This is from the open srd.

Surge (Su): As a standard action, you can cause a mighty wave to appear that pushes or pulls a single creature. Make a combat maneuver check against the target, using your cleric level + your Wisdom modifier as your CMB. If successful, you may pull or push the creature as if using the bull rush or drag combat maneuver. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

All I want to know is that if I move a foe through one of my threatened squares do I receive an attack of oppurtunity? I think that I would, but I'm unsure since it's on my turn that they're moving. Just wanted to clarify. thanks!

My best guess is that it does not. It states that it moves them as if you used the Bull rush or Drag combat maneuvers, and both of these state that they do not generate attacks of opportunities unless you have the greater versions of the feats.


I believe there is a rule that states "involuntary movement does not provoke AoO's", but this is possible another 3.5 rule that I have accidentally carried over, as i have a tendency for doing... Aside from that, I would say Happler's logic is sound.


It looks like that is correct. That is a shame. I can't believe that. Bull rush could be so cool and they just don't let it...

Shadow Lodge

Malleus Maleficarum wrote:
It looks like that is correct. That is a shame. I can't believe that. Bull rush could be so cool and they just don't let it...

I know this is an OLD thread, but like Happler stated, if you have Greater Bull Rush or Greater Drag, that movement WOULD provoke attacks of opportunity. It does take a while to gain access to, due to the prerequisites - I would only recommend using that combination if it's a major feature of your character build.

May I suggest another feat to bide you over in the meantime? Domain Strike allows you to activate a use of a doman power at the same an unarmed strike hits. I actually use a cleric who goes this route, and I choose unarmed-related feats when I can't choose either bull rush or drag. It's proven formidable.


Happler wrote:
Malleus Maleficarum wrote:


This is from the open srd.

Surge (Su): As a standard action, you can cause a mighty wave to appear that pushes or pulls a single creature. Make a combat maneuver check against the target, using your cleric level + your Wisdom modifier as your CMB. If successful, you may pull or push the creature as if using the bull rush or drag combat maneuver. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

All I want to know is that if I move a foe through one of my threatened squares do I receive an attack of oppurtunity? I think that I would, but I'm unsure since it's on my turn that they're moving. Just wanted to clarify. thanks!

My best guess is that it does not. It states that it moves them as if you used the Bull rush or Drag combat maneuvers, and both of these state that they do not generate attacks of opportunities unless you have the greater versions of the feats.

But what is the range of surge in the first place? Do I have to be standing right by the target?

Scarab Sages

Myrph wrote:
Happler wrote:
Malleus Maleficarum wrote:


This is from the open srd.

Surge (Su): As a standard action, you can cause a mighty wave to appear that pushes or pulls a single creature. Make a combat maneuver check against the target, using your cleric level + your Wisdom modifier as your CMB. If successful, you may pull or push the creature as if using the bull rush or drag combat maneuver. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

All I want to know is that if I move a foe through one of my threatened squares do I receive an attack of oppurtunity? I think that I would, but I'm unsure since it's on my turn that they're moving. Just wanted to clarify. thanks!

My best guess is that it does not. It states that it moves them as if you used the Bull rush or Drag combat maneuvers, and both of these state that they do not generate attacks of opportunities unless you have the greater versions of the feats.
But what is the range of surge in the first place? Do I have to be standing right by the target?

It is sadly unspecified. We've been using the range from the ability it replaced Icicle, which is 30 ft.


Just a quick note though, had they wanted to make it work at range, and not a up close perosnal thing, they would have made it work like hydralic push, adding that it can be uses to drag as well.

It reads, to me, that it allows the character to make a bull rush or drag, just like normal. Which means that you push the guy away from you, or you drag him by moving him, but rather than using your spellcaster attack bonus you use your caster level.

Bull Rush use to mean say you ahve to moive with them, but now you can just shove someone away. Drag specifically states you are pulling them behind you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleric sub domain oceans ability - Surge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions