Grappling a Fire Shielded Target


Rules Questions


Target A has 'fire shield' spell active.

Attacker B grabbles Target A.

When Attacker initiates grapple, it take damage.

When during grabbling does it take further damage?
a) once per round
b) once per action
c) other

(example on b: action 1 is to pin opponent, action 2 it to cause damage to pinned target)

Shadow Lodge

First, the Grappler takes the damage (and that damage is a penulty on their innitial Grapple CMB to start the Grapple). Thereafter, anytime they take an attack agains you (that meets the Fireshield requirements), they take that damage, and I would also say at the start of your turn, as long as you are still Grappling.


The fire shield will damage you each time you make a CMB check to either maintain the grapple, pin the opponent, or damage the opponent. The spell specifically says you take damage when you make a melee attack againt target A and CMB checks count as melee attacks.

Edit: You have to do one of those three things to maintain a grapple/pin, otherwise you let the target go and then are no longer in contact with it.


Fire Shield does damage on a grapple? Is this from some errata?


Quantum Steve wrote:
Fire Shield does damage on a grapple? Is this from some errata?

I don't think it's a stretch to say that a creature who performs a combat maneuver such as grappling falls under the heading of a "creature that attacks you in melee".


hogarth wrote:
Quantum Steve wrote:
Fire Shield does damage on a grapple? Is this from some errata?
I don't think it's a stretch to say that a creature who performs a combat maneuver such as grappling falls under the heading of a "creature that attacks you in melee".

I guess. Would that include all combat maneuvers? What about feint?

What if you disarm using a disarming weapon? Or is that getting close enough without reach?

If disarming or sundering a weapon is close enough, why can't a Fire Shielded character just make a melee touch attack and burn you with fire?

The whole thing of including CMBs just smells a bit too much of DM Fist for my tastes.

Shadow Lodge

You are basically setting yourself on fire magical that doesn't burn you.


Quantum Steve wrote:


I guess. Would that include all combat maneuvers? What about feint?

I'm not sure what you mean. Feint isn't a combat maneuver; it's a Bluff check.


I would say that the Fire Shield's damage applaies anytime a would be attacker contacts (Trips, Sunders, Grapples, Attacks...) the subject of the Fire Shield.

So, no a Feint would not: it is specifically *not* an attack :)

GNOME

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grappling a Fire Shielded Target All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions