Slamming Half-Dragon?


Rules Questions


If you add the half-dragon template to something with natural slam attacks, how does the addition of the claw/claw/bite interact with the pre-existing slam attack(s)?

Does it now have claw, claw, bite, no slam?

Claw, claw, bite, slam, slam?

Something else?


it will retain all of its previous attacks. So lets assume it is a Gorilla with 2 slam attacks, a Half-Dragon Gorilla would then have 2 claws 2 slams and a bite attack.

The tricky thing here, and one to remember. Is that its slam attacks is made using the arms. Therefore i cannot use both the claws and slam attacks of the same arm in one full attack action. It could use 2 slams, 1 slam 1 claw, or 2 claw attack. And ofcourse a bite to all of those 3 full attack actions.

Imagine it like he can choose to hit with a curled up fist, or open his hand and use the claws. He cant have an open hand for claws, while also using a fist.

Hope that answers the question.


nicklas Læssøe wrote:
The tricky thing here, and one to remember. Is that its slam attacks is made using the arms.

Really? Gelatinous Cubes are sad then, as they have no arms.

Slam attacks are not associated by default with any particular limb.


while that is true in general. That slam attacks are not associated with a particular limb, if you look at my example above, the half dragon gorilla, you will find that the gorilla uses its arms for those slam attacks, and would therefore not be able to use both the claws and the slams.

A half dragon gelatinus cube, while also impossible to make (ok i dont know about dragon anatomy, but i highly doubt it then), would, if it actually had any arms to get the claw attacks from, be able to use both. As they would not take up the same limb. But as the cube couldnt qwalify for the claw attacks, i see no problem with them not stacking, although i do admit that the assumption all slam attacks are made with the arms, is a false one.

Happy?


So it appears no clear answer in the rules I missed somewhere.

It seems there's more than one "reasonable" way to handle this; the
example of claw or slam, claw or slam, bite, seems reasonable.

But so, to me, does slam, slam, claw, claw, bite...Half-dragon gorilla slams
with fists, and claws with feet, then bites.

Anyone know any Paizo material where we could find a published example of
a critter with slam attacks and a template adding claw attacks? Something in
a module, perhaps?


you are correct actually, it is possible to add the claws to the feet, though it would look kinda dumb making attacks with everything, as that leaves no legs to stand on. I am pretty sure its not against the rules, but i would personally consider it wery cheezy, and a borderline rulebreak. So my personal GM ruling would be absolutely not possible, but that might just be me. The half dragon template is crazy enough without needing buffs.


it is in the rules.

take the example of a two-weapon fighter.

He can attack with his sword and dagger, or the claws, no both.

ITs been discussed is many threads, in that form.

in the case of the gelantious cube, its essentially an amoeba and uses psuedo pods for its slam attacks.


it is in the rules.

take the example of a two-weapon fighter.

He can attack with his sword and dagger, or the claws, no both.

ITs been discussed is many threads, in that form.

in the case of the gelantious cube, its essentially an amoeba and uses psuedo pods for its slam attacks.


I think the main contention is whether slams and claws naturally use the creature's arms, if present. I'd personally say they do - for example, when describing a gorilla I would tell my players that it swings its big monkey arms to pummel them into man-paste. And I've always envisioned, say, a half-dragon human slashing with hand-claws. A quick perusal of the PRD, however, doesn't specify such when it discusses natural attacks.

My inclination is to say that there isn't a hard rule on the subject - go with what makes sense in each individual case.


nicklas Læssøe wrote:
you are correct actually, it is possible to add the claws to the feet, though it would look kinda dumb making attacks with everything, as that leaves no legs to stand on. I am pretty sure its not against the rules, but i would personally consider it wery cheezy, and a borderline rulebreak. So my personal GM ruling would be absolutely not possible, but that might just be me. The half dragon template is crazy enough without needing buffs.

Could you really add claws to feet? Would this work for a human? Or just gorillas and other primates?

A creature attacking with its arms and legs would not be left with no legs to stand on because it would attack with one leg at a time.

Anyway, I agree that this should not be possible. The natural attacks section has something that may help explain why a half-dragon gorilla can use a slam or claw from one arm but not both:

Quote:
Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons can use both as part of a full attack action (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam). Such creatures attack with their weapons normally but treat all of their natural attacks as secondary attacks during that attack, regardless of the attack's original type.

A gorilla makes slam attacks with its arms. I think this quoted section opens the door for applying common sense to natural attacks. Therefore, a gorilla with a dagger would have to give up one slam attack because that arm is now holding a dagger. I suppose it could still make a slam attack (punch) while holding the dagger, but it could not use that arm to make a dagger and slam attack as part of the same full-attack action.

Now a half-dragon gorilla simply has the dagger at the ends of its fingertips, but it is still part of the arm that makes the slam, so it can't make a claw attack and a slam attack with the same arm as part of the same attack action. But it could slam on its turn and then use the claw for an attack of opportunity.

And if a gorilla could also use its feet for slams, it would have 4 slams instead of 2.

However, a half-dragon ooze...that would be so weird. Technically, it is allowed since: "“Half-dragon” is an inherited or acquired template that can be added to any living, corporeal creature (referred to hereafter as the base creature)."

Oh, well actually:

Quote:
Melee: A half-dragon has two claw attacks and a bite attack. If the base creature can use manufactured weapons, the half-dragon can as well. A new claw or bite attack deals damage as appropriate for the half-dragon's size (see Natural Attacks.)

This doesn't say that a half-dragon GAINS 2 claws and 1 bite. This says that a half-dragon HAS 2 claws and 1 bite. Maybe this is simply the dragon part taking over, so it loses other natural attacks and only has 2 claws and 1 bite...and it can still use manufactured weapons... but no more slams or other natural weapons.


hehe reefwood, touche on that last part. as it dosnt say gains the attacks, i would use that to rule it loses its previous natural attacks, and the problem is solved.

But to the question of adding claws to feet, yes it is possible, although very cheezy. An example of something doing that exact thing would be the eidolon, that with 1 pair of legs can attack with claws on them. Still cheezy though.


"Claw" attacks on the feet (or rather, hind limbs) are very specifically "rake" attacks. Slam attacks are not defined, sadly, in the Pathfinder Bestiary. However, the 3.5 SRD provides this definition:
"Slap or Slam
The creature batters opponents with an appendage, dealing bludgeoning damage."

Basically, you club something with an arm or similar appendage (though not a tentacle, wing or tail, as those have their own attack types). When the creature has the template added, it now has 2 claw attacks which, conveniently, deal bludgeoning and slashing damage. So your slam, which was dealing bludgeoning only now deals bludgeoning and slashing, without changing the damage type. You would still technically retain the slam attack though, as has been mentioned, it is in the same appendage as the claw attack, so you could not use both the slam attack and the claw attack. For all intents and purposes, the new claw attacks "upgrade" the slam attack, since there is no reason not to use it over the slam attack (same attack bonus, same base damage, better damage types). The only reason I can see for a creature wanting to retain a slam attack over a claw attack is if certain feats are invested into slam attacks (weapon focus, etc.).


if it is true that all claw attacks on hind limbs are rake attacks, can you plz explain why a biped eidolon can have only one pair of legs, and have regular claw attacks on them? while i do agree its dumb, i have seen nothing in the rules preventing this.


Mauril wrote:

"Claw" attacks on the feet (or rather, hind limbs) are very specifically "rake" attacks. Slam attacks are not defined, sadly, in the Pathfinder Bestiary. However, the 3.5 SRD provides this definition:

"Slap or Slam
The creature batters opponents with an appendage, dealing bludgeoning damage."

Basically, you club something with an arm or similar appendage (though not a tentacle, wing or tail, as those have their own attack types). When the creature has the template added, it now has 2 claw attacks which, conveniently, deal bludgeoning and slashing damage. So your slam, which was dealing bludgeoning only now deals bludgeoning and slashing, without changing the damage type. You would still technically retain the slam attack though, as has been mentioned, it is in the same appendage as the claw attack, so you could not use both the slam attack and the claw attack. For all intents and purposes, the new claw attacks "upgrade" the slam attack, since there is no reason not to use it over the slam attack (same attack bonus, same base damage, better damage types). The only reason I can see for a creature wanting to retain a slam attack over a claw attack is if certain feats are invested into slam attacks (weapon focus, etc.).

Listen to the winged gorilla! If anyone knows about apes crossed with dragons, he would!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Slamming Half-Dragon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.