Monk Weapon Usage Question


Rules Questions


Hi everyone,

Here's another weapon-related question...

In the Monk's character class description, there's a fairly small number of weapons that the monk is allowed to use/be proficient in.

My question is, what happens when you're playing a non-human monk that has racial bonuses with weapons and/or automatic proficiencies in weapons that aren't on that chart?

For example, an elf character automatically has proficiency in various swords and bows which the monk doesn't normally get to use.

Likewise, a dwarf character treats special dwarf weapons (like the urgosh) as standard weapons -- would a dwarf monk still be prohibited from using an urgosh since it's not on the "sanctioned weapons" list??

Any clarification from our resident sages would be most appreciated! :-D

Cheers, JohnH / Wanda

Liberty's Edge

Proficiencies are additive. If you get it from any source, you have it. The racial proficiency traits generally just change the difficulty of learning the proficiency, but do not automatically grant it.
The elf trait is a mix. You get Rapier, Longsword, Shortbow and Longbow always, and get the others only if your class grants "all martial" proficiencies or you take martial proficiency for them yourself.


Wanda V'orcus wrote:
what happens when you're playing a non-human monk that has racial bonuses with weapons and/or automatic proficiencies in weapons that aren't on that chart?

They have proficiency.

Wanda V'orcus wrote:
would a dwarf monk still be prohibited from using an urgosh since it's not on the "sanctioned weapons" list??

Being a dwarf makes the Dwarven Urgrosh a martial weapon. Monks do not have martial weapon proficiency, so he would not be proficient. He could take the feat, though.

Keep in mind proficiency does not make the item a monk weapon: Your dwarf is proficient with the Heavy Pick, but he still can't flurry with it.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Wanda V'orcus wrote:
would a dwarf monk still be prohibited from using an urgosh since it's not on the "sanctioned weapons" list??

Prohibited from using it in a Flurry, yes.

He could use it outside of a Flurry without taking the -4.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monk Weapon Usage Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions