Double Weapons: 2H or 1H?


Rules Questions


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.
Core, p144-5 wrote:

Double: You can use a double weapon to fight as if

fighting with two weapons, but if you do, you incur all the
normal attack penalties associated with fighting with two
weapons, just as if you were using a one-handed weapon
and a light weapon. A double weapon can be wielded as
a one-handed weapon, but it cannot be used as a double
weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the
weapon can be used in any given round.

I interpret this to mean that a double weapon has two "modes" of use:

1. Two attacks: Attack once with each end. Requires both hands.

2. Single attack: Attack once with either end. Requires both hands, but grants 1.5 bonus str. damage.

Others interpret this to add a third "mode":

3. Single attack: Attack once with either end. Requires only one hand. You could, for example, use a double weapon with a shield.

I see nothing in the description of double weapons that changes a double weapon from a 2H weapon into a 1H weapon. Others disagree. Feel free to weigh in.

The Exchange

"A double weapon can be wielded as a one-handed weapon, but it cannot be used as a double weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round."

I would interpret this to mean that the weapon can be wielded one-handed. As such, it would not get the 1.5 Str bonus. You could also require an additional Exotic Weapon Proficiency feat to wield it one-handed without penalty.


I am exceedingly loathe to interject realism into the rules as usually they are quite divorced.. but I have to admit having trouble imagining someone wielding a two bladed sword, dire flail, or quarterstaff with just one hand while wielding a shield or some such.

The rules seem to state quite clearly though that it works that way, unless it was an editing error or just an unintended consequence of the language.

Personally though I fall into the "requires two hands but can choose to use one end Or the other if desired" allowing a double-weapon user to forgo their two-weapon fighting stuff to just use one end and their regular iterative attacks.

-S


"A double weapon can be wielded as a one-handed weapon, but it cannot be used as a double weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round."

I do not see anyway this statement can be construed as saying anything other than, "You may use double weapons as one handed weapons" since that is exactly what it says.

And speaking from honest experience it is possible to use a double weapon in one hand without making a chum of yourself.


I would only allow it with a double weapon that is a one-handed weapon (as far as size is concerned). For instance, a human could use a gnome-sized gnome hook hammer in one hand and hold a shield in the other hand.

Sovereign Court

Nightwish wrote:

"A double weapon can be wielded as a one-handed weapon, but it cannot be used as a double weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round."

I would interpret this to mean that the weapon can be wielded one-handed. As such, it would not get the 1.5 Str bonus. You could also require an additional Exotic Weapon Proficiency feat to wield it one-handed without penalty.

You could but you shouldn't...

The Double weapon trait clearly shows THREE modes of use.
1. Double Weapon via TWF for str & 1/2 str off hand.
2. 2H weapon for 1.5 str.
3. 1H weapon, but only one end (your choice each round) for normal str.

Idk, looks pretty obvious to me.

--Vrock, Paper, Scissors

Liberty's Edge

Mynameisjake wrote:
Core, p144-5 wrote:

Double:.... A double weapon can be wielded as a one-handed weapon, but it cannot be used as a double weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the

weapon can be used in any given round.

Others interpret this to add a third "mode":

3. Single attack: Attack once with either end. Requires only one hand. You could, for example, use a double weapon with a shield.

I see nothing in the description of double weapons that changes a double weapon from a 2H weapon into a 1H weapon. Others disagree. Feel free to weigh in.

This is the same wording as in the 3.5 SRD. It was never a problem in 3.5 because the PHB provided a clarification and few if any rules discussions were strictly SRD-only. The 3.5 PHB clarification is that the single-hand matter applies to smaller weapons (medium critter using small double-sword).

The PHB included such examples when needed to clarify unclear rules. The SRD is intended to be taken by developers and used for newly developed games such as PF. It is incumbant on the PF developers to have provided examples when needed. In the absence of errata or authoritative FAQ, I will use the 3.5 explanation.

The Exchange

I would say, also, that in the case of a double-bladed weapon, if you use it as a one-handed weapon, it would almost have to be used for piercing only. It seems to me it would very unwieldy and awkward trying to slash one-handed with a double-bladed weapon, unless they are very small blades, like no larger than daggers. Easier to poke.


*Jacob sets out a plate of fresh, hot cookies as Paizo employee bait*


I swear this language (in the 3.5 PHB) came straight out of a 3.0 Sage Advice question, about a large person using two double weapons to do four attacks.

The key to realizing that I think is that it doesn't say "You can wield a double weapon in one hand", it says "A double weapon can be...", a clear change from the language at the start of the paragraph.

I mean.. really, is there any reason to think you can use a staff in one hand (because it's a double weapon), but can't use a spear or a ranseur one handed?


In case anyone finds it relevant, here's what the 3.5 FAQ had to say.

3.5 FAQ wrote:

Is a double weapon considered a two-handed weapon or

a one-handed weapon plus a light weapon, for the purposes
of feats such as Weapon Finesse and Power Attack?

A double weapon can be wielded in two ways, either as a
one-handed weapon and a light weapon, or as a single two-
handed weapon. Either way, it follows the normal rules for
using such weapons.
Wielding as Two Weapons: The primary end (the “one-
handed weapon”) adds your Strength modifier to damage, and
the secondary end (the “light weapon”) adds one-half your
Strength bonus to damage. When using Power Attack, bonus
damage applies only to the primary end. If you have Weapon
Finesse, you can add your Dexterity modifier instead of your
Strength modifier to attack rolls with the secondary end (but
not with the primary end).
Wielding as One Weapon: Add one-and-one-half your
Strength bonus to damage rolls. When using Power Attack,
double the bonus damage granted by the feat.
The Sage strongly recommends that characters who wield
double weapons record attack and damage values for both
methods of use, to speed play.

And:

3.5 FAQ wrote:

My character has 18 Strength and wields a two-bladed

sword. When I make only a single attack with it, how much
of my Strength bonus can I add to the damage? Does it
matter which end I swing with?

When you make only a single attack with a double weapon,
the weapon is treated as a two-handed weapon. Thus, you’d
add 1–1/2 times your Strength bonus (in this case, +6). If you
used Power Attack on this attack, you’d add double the value
of the penalty you applied to your attack roll (+2 damage per –
1 on attack). It doesn’t matter which end you swing with.

*Jacob adds a pitcher of ice cold milk next to the plate of cookies. Mmmmmmmmm, good.*


This clause is to clarify that a human can't wield a small sized quarterstaff in each hand to get 4 attacks. It doesn't allow you to violate the rules and wield a Two-Handed Weapon one handed.

This is not a new rule or a new misinterpretation. The language hasn't changed and neither has the meaning.


*jacob tucks a twenty dollar bill under the edge of the plate with the cookies*


Except nobody has anything in pathfinder or on these forums to support their conjecture.


Core Rulebook p. 141 wrote:


The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it.

On the other hand, right after that they refer to "wielding [it] in one hand". I'd personally go with either two-weapon mode or two-handed (only one end) mode. This would make it very interesting for two-weapon fighters, as they would retain a powerful standard attack.

Sczarni

Selgard wrote:

I am exceedingly loathe to interject realism into the rules as usually they are quite divorced.. but I have to admit having trouble imagining someone wielding a two bladed sword, dire flail, or quarterstaff with just one hand while wielding a shield or some such.

-S

Quarterstaff can definitely be wielded in one hand effectively in real life - it takes specialized training though, and classes that use the quarterstaff usually can't use martial/exotic weapons....


I'm not too sure on the confusion here. It states it can be wielded as a two weapons for two weapon fighting (using each end) and as a one handed weapon utilizing one end. Just as any other one handed weapon (not light melee) you can wield it with two hands to deal 1.5 str dmg.


Hello!
This question was largely debated on former topics...

Try these links!

SOME DOUBLE WEAPON CONFUSION

and this other
J. Jacobs is not a computer!

Bill: the most important information is that J.J. is an human being. What a shame! ;)
Ok, Ok i go out!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Double Weapons: 2H or 1H? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions