Witch Hex Stacking and Range


Rules Questions


So I'm playing a 4th level witch and a few questions came up during our last game.

Lets say I use Evil Eye on an opponent and I reduce their AC by 2. If I cast Evil Eye again on the same target can I reduce their AC by another 2 and keep doing this each round? Does Evil Eye stack?

We were battling an ogre and we stepped back and the ogre slammed the door. Now, I had already cast Evil Eye and we figured that Cackle continued to work as long as the ogre was on the other side of the door and stayed in range. But the question came up, could I cast Mishap on the ogre even though he was on the other side of the door and out of my line of sight?

Could I cast a hex on a person that was on one side of a wall inside a house and I was outside of the house as long as they were in range?

Thanks for your help!

Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Unless otherwise stated, an effect does not stack with itself.

Unless otherwise stated, you must have line of effect from the caster to the target to activate an ability.


Sean C. Macdonald wrote:

So I'm playing a 4th level witch and a few questions came up during our last game.

Lets say I use Evil Eye on an opponent and I reduce their AC by 2. If I cast Evil Eye again on the same target can I reduce their AC by another 2 and keep doing this each round? Does Evil Eye stack?

We were battling an ogre and we stepped back and the ogre slammed the door. Now, I had already cast Evil Eye and we figured that Cackle continued to work as long as the ogre was on the other side of the door and stayed in range. But the question came up, could I cast Mishap on the ogre even though he was on the other side of the door and out of my line of sight?

Could I cast a hex on a person that was on one side of a wall inside a house and I was outside of the house as long as they were in range?

Thanks for your help!

Most magical affects require line of affect to effect someone. Cackle seem to be sound based even though it does not specifically say so. I would rule that if he can hear you, and he is within range he is affected. Now if he were to figure this out he might plug his ears, and willing take a penalty to his perception check.


Thanks for your help. So can a creature be affected by Evil Eye multiple times but just by a different effect each time? -2 to AC this round, -2 to saves next round, -2 to skill checks the round after that... until you run out?

Contributor

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes, if a witch wants to spend all her actions over several rounds adding evil eye penalties to the same target, she can do so.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Yes, if a witch wants to spend all her actions over several rounds adding evil eye penalties to the same target, she can do so.

That's all kinds of special, right there! I had just assumed that a witch could only use the hex once/day/target, like slumber. Good to know!

Contributor

FAQ!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Witch Hex Stacking and Range All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.