Magical Talent Trait Clarification


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

The magical talent trait states that you get a 0-Level spell to use as a spell like ability. I have a few questions that I'd like clarified if you can help out.

1) Which spell list does it come from?

I guess it's just that one.


Well magical traits are 'magical' without defining divine or arcane, so I would guess any spell list at all.


Yep, any spell list that has 0-level spells are valid for this.

Sovereign Court

Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
Yep, any spell list that has 0-level spells are valid for this.

So ANY list, or the one from which I have spells?

I.e. can a rogue take this and take bleed?


You do not have to be a caster to take this trait.

Sovereign Court

Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
You do not have to be a caster to take this trait.

Thanks. I was just concerned because the paragraph above that section states that not all the talents are usefull if you are not a spellcaster.


Well, I imagine Magical Knack (wizard) is pretty useless if you don't have levels in wizard, but that's a no-brainer ...

Scarab Sages

I have the same question myself.
The description of the trait states earlier as a sort of "flavor" description: "... You have mastered the use of a cantrip" (note the use of the word "cantrip")
It then goes on to specify how the trait works: "choose a 0-level spell. You may cast that spell once per day as a spell-like ability." What type or class of spell (cantrip, orison or something else entirely) is not specified, even though "cantrip" was used earlier in the description.
Is the intent to allow ANY 0-level spell, or is this a specifically "magic" trait (as opposed to a "faith" trait), and intended to allow only arcane spells (or cantrips)?

Sczarni

Pathfinder tends to divide up text into a "fluff" sort of introduction that leads to the "crunch" in-game benefits.

The "fluff" is just a possible descriptive element, and does not define the ability. The "Sword and Pistol" feat does not require you to use an actual Sword and Pistol, for example. You could use a Hand Crossbow and Dagger instead.

The "fluff" text of this Trait is "You have mastered the use of a cantrip". The "crunch" is "Choose a 0-level spell".

That means any 0-level spell from any spell list that has 0-level spells, and not just those lists that contain cantrips.


Would this also include a spell like Jolt?


Lupisque wrote:
Would this also include a spell like Jolt?

Is jolt a 0 level spell? If so, yes. If not, no.

Sczarni

Isn't Jolt the Cantrip they introduced in the blog a while back?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magical Talent Trait Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions