Drunken Master Monk Archetype and Drunken Ki


Advice


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the errata.

So I am currently in a game where I am playing a drunken monk archetype. We just hit level 3 and I know have access to drunken ki. It says that I can spend 1 drunken ki point as a move action to move 5 feet without provoking attacks of opportunity. My question is, since I can move 5 feet anyways without provoking, what use is this power?


a five foot step is listed as "no action" on p. 183 of the Core Rulebook. so you could take your no action 5-foot step, then take a move action 5-foot step, moving 10 feet with no attack of opportunity and still have a standard action left. Tactical application #1: you are flanked. a 5-foot step keeps you within their reach. a second one gets you out of their reach. then you can spend your remaining standard action to run away (not really effective at your 3rd level, but eventually with the monk could be impressive). you'll have to figure out other tactical benefits.


I assume the intention is to allow you to make two 5-foot steps in one round, but as written it doesn't quite work.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.
Gary Egan wrote:

a five foot step is listed as "no action" on p. 183 of the Core Rulebook. so you could take your no action 5-foot step, then take a move action 5-foot step, moving 10 feet with no attack of opportunity and still have a standard action left. Tactical application #1: you are flanked. a 5-foot step keeps you within their reach. a second one gets you out of their reach. then you can spend your remaining standard action to run away (not really effective at your 3rd level, but eventually with the monk could be impressive). you'll have to figure out other tactical benefits.

Ah thank you. I had no idea that five foot stepping was a no action. Though it says on page 189 that I can't take a five foot step in the same round that I move any distance. So technically I can't use the ki point to move if I five foot step, right?


A little bump for help


Odraude wrote:
A little bump for help

It's come up on two other threads I've seen, as far as I can tell the power doesn't really work as written.

In any case once you hit level four you will have much better things to do with your ki points and you will never look back.

Most people think the intent was to give you two five foot steps, still situational but potentially useful - so that would be the way I'd try to get it house ruled in a home game. Otherwise suck it up for a level.

Edit: I also think changing it to 'as a swift action' rather then 'as a move action' would also be a way to give it a small amount of utility and would be another way to house rule. I'll see if I can dig up the other threads and faq it too.

Edit2:

linky
linky


urodivoi wrote:
Odraude wrote:
A little bump for help

It's come up on two other threads I've seen, as far as I can tell the power doesn't really work as written.

In any case once you hit level four you will have much better things to do with your ki points and you will never look back.

Most people think the intent was to give you two five foot steps, still situational but potentially useful - so that would be the way I'd try to get it house ruled in a home game. Otherwise suck it up for a level.

Edit: I also think changing it to 'as a swift action' rather then 'as a move action' would also be a way to give it a small amount of utility and would be another way to house rule. I'll see if I can dig up the other threads and faq it too.

Edit2:

linky
linky

Thanks. I'll run it by my GM Friday, though I'm certain that the intent was to allow two 5 foot steps in a turn. I also flagged it for FAQ as well.

The Exchange

As written, the only benefit of the ability is when there is difficult terrain as a 5-foot move would be allowed.

Although I too would suggest it is intended to allow you to take an additional 5-ft move without provoking.


After searching the forum for this issue, I found this thread and some others, this being the most recent.

SHA-BAM! Official errata!

Page 110—In the Drunken Master archetype, in the Drunken Ki class feature, in the sixth sentence, change “as a move action” to “as a swift action.”
Page 129—In the Skirmisher archetype, in the Hunter’s Tricks class feature, in the Surprise Shift paragraph, in the first sentence, change “as a move action” to “as a swift action.”

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Drunken Master Monk Archetype and Drunken Ki All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice