Magic Item Creation - Sooooo confused!


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Wonder if anyone can help me? I'm a bit confused with the costs for creating magic items. How much would a +3 flaming burst longsword cost? The way I see it is:

mwk longsword = 315gp
base price (+6) = 72,000gp (magic(+3),mwk(+1),flaming burst(+2))
magical supplies = 36,000gp (1/2 base price)
total = 108,315gp
Is this correct???

If it is correct then I'm even more confused because the Flame Tongue weapon on page 473, which is a +1 flaming burst longsword costs 20,715gp. Whereas doing it the way I've done it above would be:

mwk longsword = 315gp
base price (+4) = 32,000gp (magic(+1),mwk(+1),flaming burst(+2))
magic supplies = 16,000gp (1/2 base price)
total = 48,315gp???

Am I doing it right and the Flame Tongue is just a "special" price. Or am I completely wrong?? Please help me, any clarification would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.


Masterwork does not at an extra +1 to the magic rating, it's just a prerequisite for enchanting, all it costs is the 300 for making the weapon masterwork.


You're adding the base price to the magic supplies cost. The magic supplies cost is how much it costs to craft the item.

The time spent to craft it is based on base price. And you don't add masterwork as +1. That's the 300gp. That's why the longsword costs 315gp instead of 15gp.

So as per your example it should read:

M/Work Longsword: 315gp
Base Price (to buy): Enhancement bonus (+3); Flaming Burst (+2). Total Enhancement bonus of +5 = 50,000gp. Plus 315gp = 50,315gp.

To enchant yourself halve the base price = 25,000gp + 315gp = 25,315gp

To enchant yourself and craft the sword yourself halve the lot = 50,315 divided by 2 = 25,157gp, 5sp.

And as a side note the creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon.

Dark Archive

Stormchaser wrote:
Masterwork does not at an extra +1 to the magic rating, it's just a prerequisite for enchanting, all it costs is the 300 for making the weapon masterwork.

Making a +2 sword:

300(gc)+normal weapon cost + 4000 PO in materials and your own enchanments. No more.

Buying a +2 sword:

300(gc)+ normal weapon cost +8000po


Tanis wrote:

You're adding the base price to the magic supplies cost. The magic supplies cost is how much it costs to craft the item.

The time spent to craft it is based on base price. And you don't add masterwork as +1. That's the 300gp. That's why the longsword costs 315gp instead of 15gp.

So as per your example it should read:

M/Work Longsword: 315gp
Base Price (to buy): Enhancement bonus (+3); Flaming Burst (+2). Total Enhancement bonus of +5 = 50,000gp. Plus 315gp = 50,315gp.

To enchant yourself halve the base price = 25,000gp + 315gp = 25,315gp

To enchant yourself and craft the sword yourself halve the lot = 50,315 divided by 2 = 25,157gp, 5sp.

And as a side note the creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon.

OK, so caster level of 15 required.

So, to both craft & enchant a masterwork longsword costs less than just enchanting a masterwork longsword alone?


Well yeah, because then you're buying the masterwork longsword rather than making it yourself.


Tanis wrote:


And as a side note the creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon.

Ok, to clarify, if you wanted to create a +10 Longsword (+5 hit/damage and +5 to abilities) the caster level would need to be 30? Or does enhancement bonus only count towards the +5 to hit/damage?


And as a side note the creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon.

Now i'm wondering, because Piazo screwed up the wording by using must when you don't have to, is that a MUST must or a Must OR the spellcraft dc increases by 5?


Hobbun wrote:
Tanis wrote:


And as a side note the creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon.
Ok, to clarify, if you wanted to create a +10 Longsword (+5 hit/damage and +5 to abilities) the caster level would need to be 30? Or does enhancement bonus only count towards the +5 to hit/damage?

Indeed. A +1 longsword and a +1 flaming keen scythe would both have a prereq of CL 3 (enhancement x3) while a +5 longsword would need a CL of 15 to create, as would a +5 holy wounding greatsword, for example. Same with armor and shields.

Question of my own: does the creation time depend on the cost of the item to buy or to create?


Pavlovian wrote:
Hobbun wrote:
Tanis wrote:


And as a side note the creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon.
Ok, to clarify, if you wanted to create a +10 Longsword (+5 hit/damage and +5 to abilities) the caster level would need to be 30? Or does enhancement bonus only count towards the +5 to hit/damage?

Indeed. A +1 longsword and a +1 flaming keen scythe would both have a prereq of CL 3 (enhancement x3) while a +5 longsword would need a CL of 15 to create, as would a +5 holy wounding greatsword, for example. Same with armor and shields.

Ok, that sounds a bit better. I was going to say, CL 30 for a +10(with abilities) was steep, even being a +10.

As for your question, you craft 1000 gp per day of the base price. So the creation time will of course vary, depending on the base cost of the item.

Now, you can shorten the time if you make really good rolls. I think you have to at least double the DC check to make any difference, though.

Dark Archive

add a +1 enhancement bonus requiere three levels. You can add a +5 with level 15 but the especial qualities like flaming...etc require his own CL check, and you can craft (when you are level 9) a +3 longsword, flaming and holy (if you have the money of course) because you fulfill the caster level requirement for those properties.


Mark Vicars wrote:
Tanis wrote:

You're adding the base price to the magic supplies cost. The magic supplies cost is how much it costs to craft the item.

The time spent to craft it is based on base price. And you don't add masterwork as +1. That's the 300gp. That's why the longsword costs 315gp instead of 15gp.

So as per your example it should read:

M/Work Longsword: 315gp
Base Price (to buy): Enhancement bonus (+3); Flaming Burst (+2). Total Enhancement bonus of +5 = 50,000gp. Plus 315gp = 50,315gp.

To enchant yourself halve the base price = 25,000gp + 315gp = 25,315gp

To enchant yourself and craft the sword yourself halve the lot = 50,315 divided by 2 = 25,157gp, 5sp.

And as a side note the creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon.

OK, so caster level of 15 required.

So, to both craft & enchant a masterwork longsword costs less than just enchanting a masterwork longsword alone?

No, the required caster level isn't 15. It's whichever is worse: the caster level for flaming burst or the caster level of 9 for a weapon with a +3 enhancement bonus. Since flaming burst has a requirement of CL 12, that's the prerequisite caster level.


BigNorseWolf wrote:

And as a side note the creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon.

Now i'm wondering, because Piazo screwed up the wording by using must when you don't have to, is that a MUST must or a Must OR the spellcraft dc increases by 5?

That's not a prerequisite, it's a requirement. That means you can't +5 the DC and still create it. In other words, it's exactly like the item creation feat, you can't increase the DC by 5 to make a magic item if you don't have the magic item creation feat.


Lathiira wrote:


No, the required caster level isn't 15. It's whichever is worse: the caster level for flaming burst or the caster level of 9 for a weapon with a +3 enhancement bonus. Since flaming burst has a requirement of CL 12, that's the prerequisite caster level.

*sigh* I wish that were the case.

Unfortunately, it's 12, unless you're level 9, in which case you can increase the DC by 5 and still do the flaming burst. Only the enhancement bonus has a hard limit on the caster level. :( I hate that caster level is not a prerequisite. :(


Quote:
That's not a prerequisite, it's a requirement. That means you can't +5 the DC and still create it. In other words, it's exactly like the item creation feat, you can't increase the DC by 5 to make a magic item if you don't have the magic item creation feat.

Thanks *begins beating the development team with a thesaurus*


mdt wrote:
Lathiira wrote:


No, the required caster level isn't 15. It's whichever is worse: the caster level for flaming burst or the caster level of 9 for a weapon with a +3 enhancement bonus. Since flaming burst has a requirement of CL 12, that's the prerequisite caster level.

*sigh* I wish that were the case.

Unfortunately, it's 12, unless you're level 9, in which case you can increase the DC by 5 and still do the flaming burst. Only the enhancement bonus has a hard limit on the caster level. :( I hate that caster level is not a prerequisite. :(

I think it would clean up so many problems as well. I also assumed (perhaps hastily) that the original poster understood the rules about bypassing prerequisites and the rules about requirements. I just didn't want to see the misinterpretation again that the effective enhancement bonus of the weapon (which, as a +3 flaming burst weapon, is +5) is the one you use.


Ok, now I’m confused again. lol

So basically the CL needed is always going to be 3x the enhancement bonus unless the magic item/ability states an actual CL requirement? (i.e. CL 12 for Flaming Burst)


Hobbun wrote:

Ok, now I’m confused again. lol

So basically the CL needed is always going to be 3x the enhancement bonus unless the magic item/ability states an actual CL requirement? (i.e. CL 12 for Flaming Burst)

No, apparently I was wrong (:

Unless the ability specifically states that it requires a certain level to craft (like the spell storing weapon ability), you use the enhancement bonus as the hard cap. So mdt's example of caster level 9 with a +5 to the craft DC would also work.


But if you look under Flaming Burst, the requirement says: Strong evocation; CL 12th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor and flame blade, flame strike, or fireball; Price +2 bonus.

Isn’t that the required level to cast?

Or when you say if the item states it needs a required level to craft, it is in the actual description?


Hobbun wrote:

But if you look under Flaming Burst, the requirement says: Strong evocation; CL 12th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor and flame blade, flame strike, or fireball; Price +2 bonus.

Isn’t that the required level to cast?

Or when you say if the item states it needs a required level to craft, it is in the actual description?

It either says it in the description (as in the spell storing property) or it's a base rule as part of the item type (weapons and armor).

For a +3 flame burst longsword, it must be at least 9th CL because of the restriction in crafting magic weapons.

For a +1 spell storing longsword, it must be at least 12th CL.


Hobbun wrote:

But if you look under Flaming Burst, the requirement says: Strong evocation; CL 12th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor and flame blade, flame strike, or fireball; Price +2 bonus.

Isn’t that the required level to cast?

Or when you say if the item states it needs a required level to craft, it is in the actual description?

Unfortunately, CL's are only requirements if they are specifically called out as requirements. If they are not called out, then you can ignore the CL. :(


Well this is all very confusing lol. I only wanted to know the breakdown of costs for creating magic weapons. My understanding of the rules (which is probably wrong!) is that to buy a +3 flaming burst longsword would cost 50,320gp. And to enchant a masterwork longsword to +3 flaming burst would cost 25,320gp.


Mark Vicars wrote:
Well this is all very confusing lol. I only wanted to know the breakdown of costs for creating magic weapons. My understanding of the rules (which is probably wrong!) is that to buy a +3 flaming burst longsword would cost 50,320gp. And to enchant a masterwork longsword to +3 flaming burst would cost 25,320gp.

Buying Weapon and then Enchanting it :

320gp : MW Weapon
25,000gp : Enchanting supplies
Total : 25,320gp

Crafting Weapon and then Enchanting it :
160gp : Crafting MW Weapon
25,000gp : Enchanting Supplies
Total : 25,160gp


Cost only, not worrying about DCs to craft:

for YOU to imbue an item with magic (craft magic arms and armor, craft wondrous item, etc) = 1/2 market price.
for anyone to imbue it for you other than another PC = market price

to imbue a masterwork longsword yourself with +3 flaming burst = 25,000
to have a masterwork longsword imbued with +3 flaming burst = 50,000

Costs otherwise that have been discussed:
A masterwork longsword costs 315 gp
to craft a masterwork longsword yourself it would cost 1/3rd total market price of the item (magic items are 1/2 cost to craft, non magic items are 1/3rd cost to craft) = 105 gp

So, total costs if you are making everything yourself: 105+25,000 = 25,105 gp

Total costs if you are buying the item premade/preenchanted or having someone do the work for you other than another PC: 315+50,000 = 50,315 gp

As to the DCs discussed:
When crafting magic arms or armor, you MUST (actually must) have the feat (craft magic arms and armor) and MUST have a CL equal or greater than 3x the actual magical + enchantment on the weapon (a +1 longsword requires CL3, a +2 longsword requires CL6, and so on). Everything else that says you "must" have it will raise the DC to craft by +5 for every one of those "requirements" you do not meet.
Weapon and armor enchantments that give an equivalent + modifier to the item enchanted does not require 3x CL of the equivalent +, so flaming burst does not require you to be CL6 (or CL12 as shown in the listing) to cast it, but if you don't meet the CL12 listed under flaming burst, your DC to imbue the item with it will be +5.

An example: +3 flaming burst longsword

Requires you to be CL9 (for the +3)
Gives a +5 DC for each of the requirements not met (CL12 for flaming burst, and if you don't have any of these 3 spells available; flameblade, flamestrike, fireball).

~~~~~~~~~~~
To confuse things, as far as I can see, I believe the rules below apply as MUST, not "must", but framed my clarification above within the discussion already had... let me know if there is something that overrides this, as I havn't seen it.

core rulebook wrote:
Caster Level for Weapons: The caster level of a weapon with a special ability is given in the item description. For an item with only an enhancement bonus and no other abilities, the caster level is three times the enhancement bonus. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met.


Stubs McKenzie wrote:

Cost only, not worrying about DCs to craft:

for YOU to imbue an item with magic (craft magic arms and armor, craft wondrous item, etc) = 1/2 market price.
for anyone to imbue it for you other than another PC = market price

to imbue a masterwork longsword yourself with +3 flaming burst = 25,000
to have a masterwork longsword imbued with +3 flaming burst = 50,000

Costs otherwise that have been discussed:
A masterwork longsword costs 315 gp
to craft a masterwork longsword yourself it would cost 1/3rd total market price of the item (magic items are 1/2 cost to craft, non magic items are 1/3rd cost to craft) = 105 gp

So, total costs if you are making everything yourself: 105+25,000 = 25,105 gp

Total costs if you are buying the item premade/preenchanted or having someone do the work for you other than another PC: 315+50,000 = 50,315 gp

As to the DCs discussed:
When crafting magic arms or armor, you MUST (actually must) have the feat (craft magic arms and armor) and MUST have a CL equal or greater than 3x the actual magical + enchantment on the weapon (a +1 longsword requires CL3, a +2 longsword requires CL6, and so on). Everything else that says you "must" have it will raise the DC to craft by +5 for every one of those "requirements" you do not meet.
Weapon and armor enchantments that give an equivalent + modifier to the item enchanted does not require 3x CL of the equivalent +, so flaming burst does not require you to be CL6 (or CL12 as shown in the listing) to cast it, but if you don't meet the CL12 listed under flaming burst, your DC to imbue the item with it will be +5.

An example: +3 flaming burst longsword

Requires you to be CL9 (for the +3)
Gives a +5 DC for each of the requirements not met (CL12 for flaming burst, and if you don't have any of these 3 spells available; flameblade, flamestrike, fireball).

~~~~~~~~~~~
To confuse things, as far as I can see, I believe the rules below apply as MUST, not "must", but framed my clarification above...

Thanks for that. Think that's cleared most of my doubts up. One more question, where you've put:

to imbue a masterwork longsword yourself with +3 flaming burst = 25,000

Don't you have to add the price of masterwork weapon to this? Or do you only add that when you're working out the market price? Either way, thanks for clearing things up for me.


Enchanting the longsword implies that you already have a masterwork longsword at hand, having either crafted one yourself or procured it somehow (purchase, adventuring, or whatever).

As such, for the actual enchantment you don't need to pay the masterwork cost, because it has already been paid.

It's all in the quoted text in your post there. =)


Tanis wrote:

You're adding the base price to the magic supplies cost. The magic supplies cost is how much it costs to craft the item.

The time spent to craft it is based on base price. And you don't add masterwork as +1. That's the 300gp. That's why the longsword costs 315gp instead of 15gp.

So as per your example it should read:

M/Work Longsword: 315gp
Base Price (to buy): Enhancement bonus (+3); Flaming Burst (+2). Total Enhancement bonus of +5 = 50,000gp. Plus 315gp = 50,315gp.

To enchant yourself halve the base price = 25,000gp + 315gp = 25,315gp

To enchant yourself and craft the sword yourself halve the lot = 50,315 divided by 2 = 25,157gp, 5sp.

And as a side note the creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon.

This is correct.

As far as CL goes, the text states "If an item has both an enhamncement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met."

Therefore CL 12 (from Flaming Burst as opposed to 9 {+3 enhancement bonus *3}).


Raging Hobbit wrote:

As far as CL goes, the text states "If an item has both an enhamncement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met."

Therefore CL 12 (from Flaming Burst as opposed to 9 {+3 enhancement bonus *3}).

This +1.

Liberty's Edge

Tanis wrote:
Raging Hobbit wrote:

As far as CL goes, the text states "If an item has both an enhamncement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met."

Therefore CL 12 (from Flaming Burst as opposed to 9 {+3 enhancement bonus *3}).

This +1.

Stubs' post is comprehensive and correct with the exception about Caster Level. Caster Level is not a prerequisite for flaming burst quality, nor for any item unless it is specifically called out in the prereqs. This is in the errata. The 3*enhancement level is called out.

The Caster Level for the +3 sword is indeed 9. If this is a "typical" +3 flaming burst sword, it would have a Caster Level of 12, per the description. This is what would be used, for example, if using dispel magic on the sword to supress it's ability.

As for the "higher of two caster level requirements..." passage, it is possible that this has been missed in the errata, that it in reference to elements like the dispel that I have mentioned, or that this should be taken as calling out the caster level as a prerequisite in the way that the special enhancement level is called out. If the latter, I am course am wrong. :)


Raging Hobbit wrote:
Tanis wrote:

You're adding the base price to the magic supplies cost. The magic supplies cost is how much it costs to craft the item.

The time spent to craft it is based on base price. And you don't add masterwork as +1. That's the 300gp. That's why the longsword costs 315gp instead of 15gp.

So as per your example it should read:

M/Work Longsword: 315gp
Base Price (to buy): Enhancement bonus (+3); Flaming Burst (+2). Total Enhancement bonus of +5 = 50,000gp. Plus 315gp = 50,315gp.

To enchant yourself halve the base price = 25,000gp + 315gp = 25,315gp

To enchant yourself and craft the sword yourself halve the lot = 50,315 divided by 2 = 25,157gp, 5sp.

And as a side note the creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon.

This is correct.

This is almost correct. As Stubs pointed out above, the cost to craft the MW weapon is 1/3 the marketprice, not 1/2. In most instances, the difference is negligible, but when using costly special materials (like adamantine), it can be significant (as can be the time required to craft it).


huh. Right you are.


What about creating items with multiple special abilities?
Ex. a +2 flaming, shocking longbow of distance? Would it be 6 from the enhancement bonus (as the abilities are +1 each) or would you add up the abilities to 9?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Didn't see this listed yet, so:

The creator's caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met.

You NEED to meet the CL of weapon special abilities in order to imbue them into the weapon. This appears to be an exception, as you can normally ignore the CL listing for most other magic items.

For example, a +2 longsword could be created by a 6th-level caster, whereas a +2 vorpal longsword could only be crafted by a character with caster level 18.

Liberty's Edge

Demonlore wrote:

What about creating items with multiple special abilities?

Ex. a +2 flaming, shocking longbow of distance? Would it be 6 from the enhancement bonus (as the abilities are +1 each) or would you add up the abilities to 9?

+2 = CL 6

Flaming = CL 10
Shock = CL 8
Distance = CL 6

Actually, because of Flaming, it is CL 10.

If not for the CLs called out by the abilities, it would be the CL 6 of the +2.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Callarek wrote:

+2 = CL 6

Flaming = CL 10
Shock = CL 8
Distance = CL 6

Actually, because of Flaming, it is CL 10.

If not for the CLs called out by the abilities, it would be the CL 6 of the +2.

Exactly!


Ravingdork wrote:
Callarek wrote:

+2 = CL 6

Flaming = CL 10
Shock = CL 8
Distance = CL 6

Actually, because of Flaming, it is CL 10.

If not for the CLs called out by the abilities, it would be the CL 6 of the +2.

Exactly!

It is just the straight plus bonuses that require 3x CL, otherwise, it would be impossible to create up to +10 equivalent weapons and armor (10 * 3 = CL 30 to craft)... in fact the highest you could ever get is +6 in the rules.

All of the other CLs. Can be ignored (including the CLs for flaming and other weapon properties)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Stubs McKenzie wrote:
All of the other CLs. Can be ignored (including the CLs for flaming and other weapon properties)

Except in the case of weapon and armor special abilities, this just isn't true. It's specifically called out in the rules that you must meet them--I've already quoted the relevant text above. But I'll repost the relevant bits for you and others:

Magic Arms and Armor Creation Rules:
Creating Magic Armor

To create magic armor, a character needs a heat source and some iron, wood, or leatherworking tools. He also needs a supply of materials, the most obvious being the armor or the pieces of the armor to be assembled. Armor to be made into magic armor must be masterwork armor, and the masterwork cost is added to the base price to determine final market value. Additional magic supply costs for the materials are subsumed in the cost for creating the magic armor—half the base price of the item.

Creating magic armor has a special prerequisite: The creator's caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the armor. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met. Magic armor or a magic shield must have at least a +1 enhancement bonus to have any armor or shield special abilities.

If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the armor, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material components or focuses the spells require. The act of working on the armor triggers the prepared spells, making them unavailable for casting during each day of the armor's creation. (That is, those spell slots are expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if they had been cast.)

Creating some armor may entail other prerequisites beyond or other than spellcasting. See the individual descriptions for details.

Crafting magic armor requires one day for each 1,000 gp value of the base price.

Item Creation Feat Required: Craft Magic Arms and Armor.

Skill Used in Creation: Spellcraft or Craft (armor).

Creating Magic Weapons

To create a magic weapon, a character needs a heat source and some iron, wood, or leatherworking tools. She also needs a supply of materials, the most obvious being the weapon or the pieces of the weapon to be assembled. Only a masterwork weapon can become a magic weapon, and the masterwork cost is added to the total cost to determine final market value. Additional magic supplies costs for the materials are subsumed in the cost for creating the magic weapon—half the base price of the item based upon the item's total effective bonus.

Creating a magic weapon has a special prerequisite: The creator's caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met. A magic weapon must have at least a +1 enhancement bonus to have any melee or ranged special weapon abilities.

If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the weapon, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) but need not provide any material components or focuses the spells require. The act of working on the weapon triggers the prepared spells, making them unavailable for casting during each day of the weapon's creation. (That is, those spell slots are expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if they had been cast.)

At the time of creation, the creator must decide if the weapon glows or not as a side-effect of the magic imbued within it. This decision does not affect the price or the creation time, but once the item is finished, the decision is binding.

Creating magic double-headed weapons is treated as creating two weapons when determining cost, time, XP, and special abilities.

Creating some weapons may entail other prerequisites beyond or other than spellcasting. See the individual descriptions for details.

Crafting a magic weapon requires 1 day for each 1,000 gp value of the base price.

Item Creation Feat Required: Craft Magic Arms and Armor.

Skill Used in Creation: Spellcraft, Craft (bows) (for magic bows and arrows), or Craft (weapons) (for all other weapons).

I agree with your statement as far as other items are concerned though.


My apologies, i thought they deleted the 2nd sentence in errata for special abilities, but after checking i see they did not.


what about adding in the master craftsman feat? and of course the part where they say:
"The DC to create a magic
item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not
meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation
feat, which is mandatory."


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Demonlore wrote:

what about adding in the master craftsman feat? and of course the part where they say:

"The DC to create a magic
item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not
meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation
feat, which is mandatory."

If developer forum posts are any indication, that rule does not apply to weapons, armor, and other items that specifically require a given caster level (such as bracers of armor).

It's definitely a RAW vs RAI issue.


.... okay, still confused. What I am working on creating is a:

+2 flaming, frost(ing), seeking, composite longbow (str rating +2) of distance.

I have the craft magic arms and armor feat, the master craftsman feat, 10 ranks in craft bow, and more than 100k gp. What is it going to cost to make, what do I need spell-wise, and is there anything else that I am missing?


Demonlore wrote:

.... okay, still confused. What I am working on creating is a:

+2 flaming, frost(ing), seeking, composite longbow (str rating +2) of distance.

I have the craft magic arms and armor feat, the master craftsman feat, 10 ranks in craft bow, and more than 100k gp. What is it going to cost to make, what do I need spell-wise, and is there anything else that I am missing?

+2 +2 (caster level 6)

+1 flaming
+1 frost
+1 seeking caster level 12
+1 Distance caster level 6

You are functionally making a +6 weapon which costs 72,000 gp in the store, so you need to pay

36,000 Gp for the mats to enchant (half the market price)
300 gp for the masterwork,
200 for a +2 strength rating
100 gp for the composite longbow (i'm assuming you're not going to skimp on this part)

The DC is 5 (base)+ 12 (the highest caster level) + 20 (5X4) = 37 because you don't meet the requirements for flaming frost seeking or distance

There's a LOT of ambiguity in the rules as to whether you can drop the DC by 5 by having a friendly caster cast the spell for you while you're making it.


the master craftsman feat uses ranks in the craft skill instead of a caster level. I would of course use scrolls for the spells required.
Is that affecting the dc, or is it due to something else?

the bow I would of course be making from its own materials.


That is 72 days of scrolls, just fyi. Dc would drop significantly if you used them though.

If you are crafting the bow divide all the non magical bits by 3.


crafting the bow, buying the scrolls. what would it be after taking into account buying the required scrolls?


Demonlore wrote:

.... okay, still confused. What I am working on creating is a:

+2 flaming, frost(ing), seeking, composite longbow (str rating +2) of distance.

I have the craft magic arms and armor feat, the master craftsman feat, 10 ranks in craft bow, and more than 100k gp. What is it going to cost to make, what do I need spell-wise, and is there anything else that I am missing?

for the following breakdown i assumed a +13 to craft bow: 10 (ranks)+3(class skill)

cost-effective way to do it:

Spoiler:

making the bow:
craft a composite longbow (str rating +2):
1/3 of value as materials-> 100 gp
time: taking 10 Vs a DC of 19: daily progress of 624 cp, 48 days to complete

craft a masterwork weapon:
1/3 of value as materials-> 100 gp
time: taking 10 Vs a DC of 20: daily progress of 657 cp, 45 days to complete

item: masterwork composite (str rating +2) longbow
cost so far: 200 gp
time so far: 93 days

enchanting it:
1)making it a +1 bow
1/2 of value as materials-> 1000 gp
time: fast craft-> 1 day
check (taking 10) 23, CD 13 [5(base)+3(CL)+5(fast craft)]

item: composite (str rating +2) longbow +1
cost so far: 1200 gp
time so far: 94 days

2)upgrading it to a +2 bow
1/2 of value as materials-> 3000 gp
time: fast craft-> 3 day
check (taking 10) 23, CD 16 [5(base)+6(CL)+5(fast craft)]

item: composite (str rating +2) longbow +2
cost so far: 4200 gp
time so far: 97 days

3)upgrading it to a +2 distance bow
1/2 of value as materials-> 6000 gp
time: fast craft-> 6 day
check (taking 10) 23, CD 16 [5(base)+6(CL)+5(fast craft)+5(ignore requisite clairaudience/clairvoyance)]

item: composite (str rating +2) distance longbow +2
cost so far: 10200 gp
time so far: 103 days

4)upgrading it to a +2 frost distance bow
1/2 of value as materials-> 10000 gp
time: fast craft-> 10 day
check (taking 10) 23, CD 23 [5(base)+8(CL)+5(fast craft)+5(ignore requisite chill metal)]

item: composite (str rating +2) distance frost longbow +2
cost so far: 11200 gp
time so far: 113 days

5)upgrading it to a +2 frost flaming distance bow
1/2 of value as materials-> 15000 gp
time: normal craft-> 30 day
check (taking 10) 23, CD 23 [5(base)+10(CL)+5(ignore requisite fireball)]

item: composite (str rating +2) distance flaming frost longbow +2
cost so far: 26200 gp
time so far: 143 days

6)upgrading it to a +2 frost flaming seeking distance bow
1/2 of value as materials-> 21000 gp
time: normal craft-> 42 day
check (taking 10) 23, CD 23 [5(base)+12(CL)+5(ignore requisite true seeing)]

item: composite (str rating +2) seeking distance flaming frost longbow +2
cost so far: 47200 gp
time so far: 185 days

Result: +2 flaming, frost, seeking, composite longbow (str rating +2) of distance using 47200 gp and 185 days (no scroll required)
If you want to get it quickly you can buy the masterwork composite longbow and then enchant it, so paying 400 gp more you save 93 days, for a total cost of 47600 gp and 92 days.

Sorry if my post is a bit complex but english is not my native language, hope it was usefull.


it was, and since my craft bow check is 20 (10 ranks + 3 class + 3 int + 2 masterwork artisan's tools + 2 master craftsman feat) I think I can shave off even more days. Thank you for the break-down, it really helped!

Shadow Lodge

How many abilites can you throw on to an item if the item is being created by level 20 or higher wizard ? Is there a limit.


Stubs McKenzie wrote:
That is 72 days of scrolls, just fyi. Dc would drop significantly if you used them though.

How much would the DC go up if he doesnt use the scrolls. Only 5 right.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Item Creation - Sooooo confused! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions