Reach Weapons, AoO, and Combat Maneuvers


Rules Questions


Several questions here;

Are reach weapons worthless in regards to Attacks of Opportunity, ie. If my character is wielding a whip and an enemy enters/passes a square i threaten, do I actually get an AoO, or not?

Secondly; can I perform a trip as an AoO?


Whips don't threaten any squares, so you cannot make any AoOs with them.

Yes, you can execute a Trip maneuver in place of any melee attack. To do so, you need to be holding a melee weapon with the Trip ability, or be unarmed (and able to threaten). Using a whip which doesn't threaten won't allow you to trip as an AoO - try using a flail (e.g.) instead.


DM_Blake wrote:

Whips don't threaten any squares, so you cannot make any AoOs with them.

Yes, you can execute a Trip maneuver in place of any melee attack. To do so, you need to be holding a melee weapon with the Trip ability, or be unarmed (and able to threaten). Using a whip which doesn't threaten won't allow you to trip as an AoO - try using a flail (e.g.) instead.

A whip is listed as having disarm, reach, trip and non-lethal. Similiarly, a scorpion whip has the same properties, with the exception of dealing 1d4 points of damage for a medium creature and dealing lethal damage. Why does a whip not threaten any squares?


Caim wrote:


A whip is listed as having disarm, reach, trip and non-lethal. Similiarly, a scorpion whip has the same properties, with the exception of dealing 1d4 points of damage for a medium creature and dealing lethal damage. Why does a whip not threaten any squares?

Because of this:

Whip: A whip deals no damage to any creature with an armor bonus of +1 or higher or a natural armor bonus of +3 or higher. The whip is treated as a melee weapon with 15-foot reach, though you don't threaten the area into which you can make an attack. In addition, unlike most other weapons with reach, you can use it against foes anywhere within your reach (including adjacent foes).


Simon Legrande wrote:
Caim wrote:


A whip is listed as having disarm, reach, trip and non-lethal. Similiarly, a scorpion whip has the same properties, with the exception of dealing 1d4 points of damage for a medium creature and dealing lethal damage. Why does a whip not threaten any squares?

Because of this:

Whip: A whip deals no damage to any creature with an armor bonus of +1 or higher or a natural armor bonus of +3 or higher. The whip is treated as a melee weapon with 15-foot reach, though you don't threaten the area into which you can make an attack. In addition, unlike most other weapons with reach, you can use it against foes anywhere within your reach (including adjacent foes).

*sigh*

That makes them absolutely useless even with Fury's Fall. Back to the drawing board.


They're really just a way to disarm or trip someone not next to you.
Think of a whip as free Improved Disarm or Improved Trip since you can just drop it if you fail the check.


Whips may not threaten, but most other reach weapons do. You can make an AoO as normal into any or the 16 squares you threaten. This makes reach weapons much better for making AoOs because you threaten more area and foes will provoke more often, (including just to get to you) Grab some armor spikes or a gauntlet and you threaten adjacent squares as well, or just take Improved Unarmed. A Fighter with a guisarme and IUS and lunge can trip anything in a 35' circle. Get a Wizard to hit you with Enlarge person, and it's a 60' circle.

You can make a disarm attempt in place of an attack, including an AoO, and you don't even need a disarming weapon


Quantum Steve wrote:

Whips may not threaten, but most other reach weapons do. You can make an AoO as normal into any or the 16 squares you threaten. This makes reach weapons much better for making AoOs because you threaten more area and foes will provoke more often, (including just to get to you) Grab some armor spikes or a gauntlet and you threaten adjacent squares as well, or just take Improved Unarmed. A Fighter with a guisarme and IUS and lunge can trip anything in a 35' circle. Get a Wizard to hit you with Enlarge person, and it's a 60' circle.

You can make a disarm attempt in place of an attack, including an AoO, and you don't even need a disarming weapon

If you're holding your reach weapon with two hands, do you really threaten adjacent squares with a spiked gauntlet? In other words, even if you can switch between holding your reach weapon in one hand or two hands as a free action while it's your turn, can you do so while it's not your turn? If you can't, can you still threaten adjacent squares with your spiked gauntlet while holding a weapon in the same hand that is wearing the spiked gauntlet?

My head hurts... :\


That's why you get armor spikes instead -- it obviates the hands question entirely.


AvalonXQ wrote:
That's why you get armor spikes instead -- it obviates the hands question entirely.

I just checked in the CRB and you're right. Armor spikes for everyone! :)


Spiked Gauntlet and polearm don't work for AoOs because releasing and regripping your hand is a free action not an immediate action. Free actions can only be done on your turn.

So for the purposes of being able to full attack all the squares around you the spiked gauntlet + polearm works great but it doesn't work on AoOs as you either threaten with the polearm or the inner band with the spiked gauntlet.

The RAW method around this is to use armor spikes instead. Personally I find the aesthetics and balance of the armor spike solution to be more than slightly distasteful but if you want to be a RAW polearm trip specialist it's the best strategy.


Greetings, fellow travellers.

Quote:


Spiked Gauntlet and polearm don't work for AoOs because releasing and regripping your hand is a free action not an immediate action. Free actions can only be done on your turn.

What keeps you from making your reach weapon melee attack(s) (standard or full attack action) and than let go of said weapon (free action on your turn) for having your spiked gauntlet ready (for e. g. an AoO) and regripping your reach melee weapon (free action) next round on your turn for melee attack(s) (standard action or full round action) and then let go again (free action)?

Ruyan.

Dark Archive

RuyanVe wrote:

Greetings, fellow travellers.

Quote:


Spiked Gauntlet and polearm don't work for AoOs because releasing and regripping your hand is a free action not an immediate action. Free actions can only be done on your turn.

What keeps you from making your reach weapon melee attack(s) (standard or full attack action) and than let go of said weapon (free action on your turn) for having your spiked gauntlet ready (for e. g. an AoO) and regripping your reach melee weapon (free action) next round on your turn for melee attack(s) (standard action or full round action) and then let go again (free action)?

...because then you wouldn't be able to use your reach weapon for AoO, only make ones in your 5-foot space with the gauntlet. What you could do is 5-foot-step backwards on your own turn, maintaining the distance between you and your opponent somewhat (which is largely how you fight as a lone polearm user).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach Weapons, AoO, and Combat Maneuvers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions