Grapple and potion


Rules Questions


I just want to be sure, a PC who is grappled, when he tries to break this grapple (standard action) can he drink a potion during the same round (because it's a standard action too) ?
Thanks a lot !


If they're both standard actions I think the PC is out of luck since you only get one standard action per round.


If you mean that he drinks a potion instead of breaking the grapple, then answer is yes, you can do any action that can be performed using one hand.
However I'm not sure if you can draw a potion from your belt (i.e.) and then drink it in the same round, because that would be two actions and it seems that you can only perform one action when you are the one grappled (not 100% sure)


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
IkeDoe wrote:
However I'm not sure if you can draw a potion from your belt (i.e.) and then drink it in the same round, because that would be two actions and it seems that you can only perform one action when you are the one grappled (not 100% sure)

I don't see anything that specifically states a grappled creature only gets one action. In the combat section it states "you can take any action that requires only one hand to perform" while under the grappled condition it says "grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform". The former implies you get one action the later just says you can't use two hands.

At my table, I think I would go with the latter. The former seems too restrictive. For example, a mage couldn't even redirect a spell as a move action while trying to break free. A strict literal reading would say you don't even get free actions, which is just silly.


I would read both entries as stating that the grappled player is allowed to take all of his normal actions (1 move action, 1 standard, 1 swift and any free), so long as they each don't take more than 1 hand and he doesn't move (as per the "grappled" condition).

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

To answer the OP:

Breaking from a grapple = standard action
Drinking a potion = standard action

Therefore, you can't do both in the same round.


You do not lose actions when you are grappled. The phrase "you can take any action" does not in any way limit you to just one action. Any action(s) you can do with one hand when you are not grappled are still available to you when you are grappled.

Sure, the one-hand restriction is limiting, but not the number of actions.


IkeDoe wrote:
However I'm not sure if you can draw a potion from your belt (i.e.) and then drink it in the same round, because that would be two actions and it seems that you can only perform one action when you are the one grappled (not 100% sure)

Because retrieving a stored item is a move action (that provokes an AoO) and drinking a potion is a standard action (that also provokes an AoO, with special rules with which you can take your AoO on the potion instead of the person attempting to drink to destroy the potion) you could do such while being grappled, but not while grappling someone else.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grapple and potion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions