Eidolon Question


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 51 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

I tried a bit of searching for this, but my search fu is evidently weak.

It says in the Eidolon description that they cannot wear armor. However, is it possible to cast mage armor on them?


Yes, they only cannot wear physical armor, bracers of armor are good to.


Kierato wrote:
Yes, they only cannot wear physical armor, bracers of armor are good to.

Cool. Thanks.


Kierato wrote:
Yes, they only cannot wear physical armor, bracers of armor are good to.

Wasn't there something about if the eidolon wears a magic item in a slot, the summoner can't wear one in that same slot?


That is correct.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Ok, one more Summoner question.

Since an Eidolon counts as a summoned creature, does Augment Summoning work on it?


drbuzzard wrote:

Ok, one more Summoner question.

Since an Eidolon counts as a summoned creature, does Augment Summoning work on it?

Nope, it's stated in the description that it doesn't.


QOShea wrote:
drbuzzard wrote:

Ok, one more Summoner question.

Since an Eidolon counts as a summoned creature, does Augment Summoning work on it?

Nope, it's stated in the description that it doesn't.

Which description?

Grand Lodge

drbuzzard wrote:

Ok, one more Summoner question.

Since an Eidolon counts as a summoned creature, does Augment Summoning work on it?

Augment Summoning only works on spells (or spell-like abilities) of Conjuration (Summoning) subschool. It won't work on the Eidolon summoning ritual because it's not a spell. It won't work on Planar Allies, or Gated creatures either since they're "Called" rather than "Summoned". It will work on the Summoner's Summon Monster spell-like ability.


Actually it states that it only works on Summon spells, I took this to mean Summon Monster I-IX and Summon Nature's Ally I-IX.

RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

Kierato wrote:
Actually it states that it only works on Summon spells, I took this to mean Summon Monster I-IX and Summon Nature's Ally I-IX.

Agreed. Is there some interpretation other than "I figure SLAs are spells" to say it works on the summoner's summon SLA?


Christopher Dudley wrote:
Kierato wrote:
Actually it states that it only works on Summon spells, I took this to mean Summon Monster I-IX and Summon Nature's Ally I-IX.
Agreed. Is there some interpretation other than "I figure SLAs are spells" to say it works on the summoner's summon SLA?

The rules state that Spell-Like abilities function exactly as the spells of the same name, except that they do not occupy spell slots or the like. That means that any feats, class abilities, or so on that apply to specific spells function perfectly fine with SLAs that duplicate those spells, as long as the feats/features/etc don't require spell slot shenanigans. That's why you can't use (most) metamagic feats on SLAs; SLAs do not have spell slots, so you can't increase the level of the required slot by any amount. Metamagic feats that don't change the spell slot required actually can be used on SLAs. So can Augment Summoning.

Liberty's Edge

drbuzzard wrote:

I tried a bit of searching for this, but my search fu is evidently weak.

It says in the Eidolon description that they cannot wear armor. However, is it possible to cast mage armor on them?

Yes, but note that at 2nd level they get a +2 Armor Bonus, so Mage Armor is only going to be worth +2 at that point.

By 5th level the Eidolon will have a +4 Armor Bonus and Mage Armor will be obsolete.


You can devide the bonus between Armor and Natural armor, put it all towards Natural armor (I can't see a down side).

Liberty's Edge

Kierato wrote:
You can devide the bonus between Armor and Natural armor, put it all towards Natural armor (I can't see a down side).

I did not know that...


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So does Augment summoning work on the eidolon or not? I see this debated but the play test boards were taken down way back for this question and everyone just says yes or no with no real explanation. Now the newly released APG, it says essentially that the summon monster spell like ability uses the same energy to sustain the eidolon, which was their reasoning to make it so you can only have one or the other summoned at a time. So if augment summoning works on the summon monster ability, which it actually does, should it not also work on the eidolon? I am wondering because they failed to classify it under any type of ability. I mean, it is summoning an eidolon, not calling. If it was calling, it would drop dead when killed rather than going to another plane. All summoning is conjuration but again they failed to give this a type. So I am very confused here. I hope they errata the book to include a solid answer to this since only having either the eidolon or a summoned monster out really changes the way a summoner is played. After all, a conjuration wizard can make a small army. A summoner, someone trained specifically in summoning monsters, only gets one because they use it as a spell like ability. Shouldn't they be able to summon more effectively than a wizard since this is all they are trained for? I am just trying to understand the reason behind some rules in actual In-Game terms, not just "because the rules say so."


From another thread:

Quote:


Augment Summoning

Your summoned creatures are more powerful and robust.

Prerequisite: Spell Focus (conjuration).

Benefit: Each creature you conjure with any summon spell gains a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Constitution for the duration of the spell that summoned it.

You are all missing the important part of this text. I have bolded it. Summon is italicized. This means Spells with the word Summon in them. The Eidolon is not summoned by such means unless conjured with Summon Eidolon. All summons are affected this way. Augment summoning works on the following for a Summoner

Summon Monster spells and spell like abilities.

Summon Swarm

Summon Eidolon


Jaçinto wrote:
So does Augment summoning work on the eidolon or not? I see this debated but the play test boards were taken down way back for this question and everyone just says yes or no with no real explanation. Now the newly released APG, it says essentially that the summon monster spell like ability uses the same energy to sustain the eidolon, which was their reasoning to make it so you can only have one or the other summoned at a time. So if augment summoning works on the summon monster ability, which it actually does, should it not also work on the eidolon? I am wondering because they failed to classify it under any type of ability. I mean, it is summoning an eidolon, not calling. If it was calling, it would drop dead when killed rather than going to another plane. All summoning is conjuration but again they failed to give this a type. So I am very confused here. I hope they errata the book to include a solid answer to this since only having either the eidolon or a summoned monster out really changes the way a summoner is played. After all, a conjuration wizard can make a small army. A summoner, someone trained specifically in summoning monsters, only gets one because they use it as a spell like ability. Shouldn't they be able to summon more effectively than a wizard since this is all they are trained for? I am just trying to understand the reason behind some rules in actual In-Game terms, not just "because the rules say so."

I say that it should. The Eidolon is clearly a summoned creature. You can call it different things, and do rituals and stuff, but you are summoning the thing. Which it mentions numerous times in the APG if you read the description. If you take the strict interpretation of the rules, then no it does not apply to the Eidolon because the word "Summon" isn't used in the title.

But for the SLA it says it draws on the same power as the Eidolon so I don't see any reason why it would apply to one, but not the other, since they both come from the same power.

Shadow Lodge

Does the feat Varisian Tatto increase your "caster level" for the SLA's, and increase the duration to a minute per level plus one more minute?

Varisian Tatto shows up in the Rise of the Runelords Player's guide(pdf is free on this site!).


Without actually reading the rise of the runelords book, which is stupid of me I know, I would say the tattoo does work since an SLA works exactly like a spell. Also I found this http://www.d20pfsrd.com/extras/advanced-player-s-guide-playtest/playtestfaq -1?tmpl=%2Fsystem%2Fapp%2Ftemplates%2Fprint%2F with this Q: Does the feat Augment Summoning affect Eidolon during the summon like other spell-like abilities?
A: (Jason Bulmahn 11/30/09) Summoning the eidolon is actually a supernatural ability and is not subject to the Augment Summoning feat.

Now, this was back in 09 where he typed it as an SU, but now since it shares energy and sources with an SP, it should also become an SP. His originally only reason for making it so it does not work was declaring it Supernatural, yet the ability can no longer be considered that. Kinda like when they changed Telekenetic fist from Supernatural to Spell-Like and gave it limited uses.


Jaçinto wrote:

Without actually reading the rise of the runelords book, which is stupid of me I know, I would say the tattoo does work since an SLA works exactly like a spell. Also I found this http://www.d20pfsrd.com/extras/advanced-player-s-guide-playtest/playtestfaq -1?tmpl=%2Fsystem%2Fapp%2Ftemplates%2Fprint%2F with this Q: Does the feat Augment Summoning affect Eidolon during the summon like other spell-like abilities?

A: (Jason Bulmahn 11/30/09) Summoning the eidolon is actually a supernatural ability and is not subject to the Augment Summoning feat.

Now, this was back in 09 where he typed it as an SU, but now since it shares energy and sources with an SP, it should also become an SP. His originally only reason for making it so it does not work was declaring it Supernatural, yet the ability can no longer be considered that. Kinda like when they changed Telekenetic fist from Supernatural to Spell-Like and gave it limited uses.

Exactly why so many people are having problems with this feat and the eidolon. It says that the SLA and the Eidolon draws upon the same power in the APG. But then you get Jason saying that summoning the Eidolon is a Super Natural ability. Therefore the SLA and Eidolon can't draw upon the same power because they are different. And the vicious cycle continues.


AS far as I see it, the Eidolon summoning is a spell like ability. It simply has to be to be able to share energy with summon monster. All spell likes are just that, spell-like. So what spell is it like? Not Planar binding because that actually calls rather than summons, since a called creature actually dies and stays dead. The only other option is a summon. And like you said, the APG keeps saying you summon the Eidolon with summon being the key word here. And for spell names, we are just splitting hairs here because really, in game terms, no spell has a set name. Casters can name their spells anything they want. A wizard may, instead of calling it Magic Missile, say Kristoff's seeking bolt of light. The names are just for convenience so people know what you are talking about, kinda like in Call of Cthulhu RPG where each mythos book has different names for the same spells. You could just call summon monster something like The beast commeth. Now again, in a role playing game, what do you think the summoner was told when it was learning how to harness its power? "Today, we are going to learn Eidolon." Since that is what the ability is called, or "Today, we are going to learn how to summon an Eidolon." I know some people that prefer to think of the game as by the numbers rather than having a roleplaying reason for things, but D&D is a Roleplaying game. There has to be a story explanation for everything.

Liberty's Edge

It doesn't work by the rules. You can houserule it if you like. It appears to work if you have summoned the Eidolon temporarily with the Summon Eidolon 2nd level spell (which has different restrictions than when you normally have your one minute ritual Eidolon out).

Note that there is a feat in the APG that gives your Eidolon a boost for 10 minutes after you summon it- and that boost is a mere +2 to your choice of Str, Con, or Dex. I don't think that's a very good feat, but obviously by that standard Augment Summoning would be overbudget.

Now, does it work on the SLA? I was at Gencon and some Paizo folks sure felt it should! Whether it does or does not by rules (and how it would play out in society play) would be good to know for sure. I'd say that it working on the SLA has a good chance, but it working on your Eidolon passively being out like, when you are adventuring, bathing, or whatever it is you do with your Eidolon, is definitely a no as written.


cfalcon wrote:
Now, does it work on the SLA? I was at Gencon and some Paizo folks sure felt it should! Whether it does or does not by rules (and how it would play out in society play) would be good to know for sure.

One of the developers confirmed that Augment Summoning does work with the SLA. I can't seem to find it right now. Maybe someone else has better search-fu and can add the link.


cfalcon wrote:

It doesn't work by the rules. You can houserule it if you like. It appears to work if you have summoned the Eidolon temporarily with the Summon Eidolon 2nd level spell (which has different restrictions than when you normally have your one minute ritual Eidolon out).

Note that there is a feat in the APG that gives your Eidolon a boost for 10 minutes after you summon it- and that boost is a mere +2 to your choice of Str, Con, or Dex. I don't think that's a very good feat, but obviously by that standard Augment Summoning would be overbudget.

Now, does it work on the SLA? I was at Gencon and some Paizo folks sure felt it should! Whether it does or does not by rules (and how it would play out in society play) would be good to know for sure. I'd say that it working on the SLA has a good chance, but it working on your Eidolon passively being out like, when you are adventuring, bathing, or whatever it is you do with your Eidolon, is definitely a no as written.

And where is this rule that says you can not? I would like to see it for how it explains the situation. After all, summon monster SLA and the eidolon now use the same energy to summon so it has in fact changed since the beta. Rules have changed since back then so a new ruling from them is required. Look at the current APG. It keeps calling the eidolon a summon, not a call. And if summon monster is an SLA, so is the eidolon since they share energy. Again, you can't explain things with just "because we say so." It has to be explained in the in-game terms. And since that is what they did with summon monster and the eidolon's connection, then augment has to work.


Spell-Like Abilities and Supernatural Abilities can share the same "energy source", so the argument "the SLA and the Eidolon share the same energy source" (which is false anyway) has no bearing on whether the Eidolon is an Su or Sp ability.

It doesn't matter if it's a Sp ability anyway, of course, since Augment Summoning specifically calls out a summon spell. Not a summoning spell; the italics denote that the summon must be part of the spell name (that's how spells are written in the rules).


Zurai wrote:

Spell-Like Abilities and Supernatural Abilities can share the same "energy source", so the argument "the SLA and the Eidolon share the same energy source" (which is false anyway) has no bearing on whether the Eidolon is an Su or Sp ability.

It doesn't matter if it's a Sp ability anyway, of course, since Augment Summoning specifically calls out a summon spell. Not a summoning spell; the italics denote that the summon must be part of the spell name (that's how spells are written in the rules).

Actually, read the current APG that just came out. They DO share the same energy source which is why you can only have summon monster OR the eidolon. And I don't think it is a supernatural ability. I could be wrong, but SU don't require gestures and whatnot and don't have a daily limit on how often they can be used, while the ritual, which clearly acts like a spell can only be done once per day. If I am wrong here, check the current release of the APG and let me know. And really, again rules should make sense in game terms. How does it make sense that a feat only works because some wizard decided to name a spell using the word summon. You can name spells whatever you want, really. Like how they changed every spell that had wizard names on them to make them more general since those wizards do not exist in the pathfinder world. And yes the word summon is in italics and you are assuming it means the word summon must be in the spell. It does not say this. For all we know, that means it does not apply to spells that CALL monsters, just summons them since those are two totally different things.


Jaçinto wrote:


Actually, read the current APG that just came out.

I did. Did you?

Quote:
They DO share the same energy source which is why you can only have summon monster OR the eidolon.

I never claimed otherwise. My statement was that a Su ability and a Sp ability can share the same power.

Quote:
I could be wrong, but SU don't require gestures and whatnot and don't have a daily limit on how often they can be used, while the ritual, which clearly acts like a spell can only be done once per day.

Incorrect on both counts (This is why I asked if you had read the APG). No gestures are mentioned, and spell-like abilities don't require gestures any more than supernatural ones anyway. Also, there's no limit on the number of times you can use the ritual per day, aside from the 1 minute activation time and the fact that if the Eidolon is banished due to hit point damage it takes 24 hours to be re-callable. You can spend a minute summoning it, immediately dismiss it, spend another minute summoning it, immediately dismiss it, and spend another minute summoning it if you want.

Quote:
And yes the word summon is in italics and you are assuming it means the word summon must be in the spell. It does not say this. For all we know, that means it does not apply to spells that CALL monsters, just summons them since those are two totally different things.

This is one of the weakest arguments I've seen on these boards. Occam's Razor applies here. Also, the Eidolon is referred to as both summoned and called in various places in the Summoner class.


I know this is house ruly, but I tend to think of it like this: upon the "golden rule/ Rule #1: make sense, and whatnot." (now I know some folks would use this basis to let Augmented Summon work) I'm using this to say it won't. Simply because the Eloden can get pretty powerful on it's own, honestly letting this feat work is out-right... just simply too powerful, so at my table (maybe even barring a different ruling) Augmented Summon won't give it's bonuses to Eloden's in my game... :)

My 2 copper.

Liberty's Edge

There seems to be one nifty little piece of information that you may be overlooking. The fourth sentence of the Eidolon ability states:

Eidolons are treated as summoned creatures, except that they are not sent back to their home plane until reduced to a number of negative hit points equal to or greater than their constitution score.

Now, that should clear up any issue with the "Summoned vs. Called" line of thought I saw up there.

As far as Augment Summoning goes, I always took "any summon spell" to mean any Conjuration (summoning) spell that actually summons a creature (Elemental Swarm? Sure thing. Storm of Vengeance? What would the point be?). Whether or not that counts the Eidolon ritual is up to the individual GM. Personally, I allow it to avoid arguments like this from bogging down gameplay.


For the record, the official line is that the summoning ritual is a Supernatural ability.


Zurai wrote:
so the argument "the SLA and the Eidolon share the same energy source" (which is false anyway)
Zurai wrote:

Quote:

They DO share the same energy source which is why you can only have summon monster OR the eidolon.

I never claimed otherwise. My statement was that a Su ability and a Sp ability can share the same power.

Yeah, about that....

That was the official line back in the playtest before they added the "Summon Monster I (Spell like ability): This uses the same summoning power as the summoner's eidolon." line to the summoner description.

They DID remove the restriction to only summon him once per day, which is nice. Still got the "can't resummon the same day if he dies", but they also changed that to "the following day" instead of "for 24 hours", so I don't have huge periods of uselessness now :D

The fact is no tag was applied to the eidolon ability, nor does it specifically say, so barring errata, it's gonna be down to the DM. My current DM isn't going to allow it because I was too powerful while I was using the playtest class... which sucks because now that I'm less powerful he's gonna cut my power even more (I was using Augment on my Eidolon until now). Here's hoping after they see how the final version of the summoner works they'll make the errata specifically say one way or the other to clear up the confusion.

*none of the "quotations" in this post are direct quotations, but my APG was open and referenced during its creation


gatherer818 wrote:


Spell-like abilities require the exact same gestures and sounds as the spells they emulate.

Completely and totally incorrect.

Spell-like abilities require nothing more than the action type used to activate them (usually standard but ocassionally swift or free and rarely move action).

You don't need to move, talk, gesture or anything else to use them.

Rules wrote:


Usually, a spell-like ability works just like the spell of that name. A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability's use, even if the ability resembles an arcane spell with a somatic component.


That's what I get for not also having the Corebook open and referenced while I type. You are completely correct, and I was wrong. The offending line has been removed my previous post.

My other points - mostly pointing out that the most argumentative person whose posted so far can't even agree with himself - are still valid.


I do agree that augment summoning on an eidolon makes it overpowered. I am just saying I would like an in-game explanation other than "I say so" or "The rules say so." An explained roleplay reason, I am saying, like they did for the rest of the summoner. And Zurai you must have made a typo. You said:

"the SLA and the Eidolon share the same energy source" (which is false anyway) has no bearing on whether the Eidolon is an Su or Sp ability. See, you said saying the SLA and eidolon sharing the same energy is false.

Then later you said Quote:

They DO share the same energy source which is why you can only have summon monster OR the eidolon.

I never claimed otherwise. My statement was that a Su ability and a Sp ability can share the same power.

So you see, you kinda DID claim otherwise. Not trying to make an argument, just saying you contradicted yourself.


Yeah, you're right. Mea culpa.

That doesn't change the actual facts of the matter, though.

Shadow Lodge

Jaçinto wrote:
I am just saying I would like an in-game explanation other than "I say so" or "The rules say so." An explained roleplay reason, I am saying, like they did for the rest of the summoner.

You mean like the reason they gave to explain why Eidolons can't wear armor or use a shield?

Let's say the Summoner is Human, and has both Spell Focus(Conjuration) and Augment Summing.

While a Summoner can apply the bonus from Augment Summoning to his creatures summoned through his SLA, he cannot apply it to his Eidolon. An Eidolon is, in the most basic sense, part of the Summoner. The ritual that summons the Eidolon doesn't actually summon it, but seperates from the Summoner.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Dragonborn3 wrote:
You mean like the reason they gave to explain why Eidolons can't wear armor or use a shield?

Where exactly does it say they can't use a shield? All I've ever read is no armor...


Dragonborn3 wrote:
Jaçinto wrote:
I am just saying I would like an in-game explanation other than "I say so" or "The rules say so." An explained roleplay reason, I am saying, like they did for the rest of the summoner.

You mean like the reason they gave to explain why Eidolons can't wear armor or use a shield?

Let's say the Summoner is Human, and has both Spell Focus(Conjuration) and Augment Summing.

While a Summoner can apply the bonus from Augment Summoning to his creatures summoned through his SLA, he cannot apply it to his Eidolon. An Eidolon is, in the most basic sense, part of the Summoner. The ritual that summons the Eidolon doesn't actually summon it, but seperates from the Summoner.

Now I WOULD accept an answer like that but I am looking at the APG right now. "A summoner begins play with the ability to summon to his side a powerful outsider called an eidolon. The eidolon forms a link with the summoner, who, forever after, summons an aspect of the same creature."

So technically the Eidolon is bonded to him, but is not actually part of the summoner. I do really like your explanation, but they kinda disprove that in the book. Like I said, I WANT to accept your reasoning, people; but I need a role playing explanation that does not contradict anything in the book.


Jaçinto wrote:
I need a role playing explanation that does not contradict anything in the book.

I gave you one. Augment Summoning only works on spells. The ritual to bring forth the Eidolon the normal way isn't a spell, nor even a spell-like ability. The summon Eidolon spell is a spell, and does benefit from Augment Summoning.


Zurai wrote:
Jaçinto wrote:
I need a role playing explanation that does not contradict anything in the book.
I gave you one. Augment Summoning only works on spells. The ritual to bring forth the Eidolon the normal way isn't a spell, nor even a spell-like ability. The summon Eidolon spell is a spell, and does benefit from Augment Summoning.

But why is it not a spell or spell like? It is a ritual and uses magic to summon. I could buy it as an SU as Jason said originally, but a lot has changed since then since he changed it so the Eidolon and Summon Monster come from the same source of power so only one can be out at a time, which tells me they are harnessed in similar ways. Help me understand here.


This was ended post #17.

Liberty's Edge

He wants a reason that makes sense, roleplaying wise, a legit question.

Try this:

Augment Summoning represents your ability to pick the cream of the crop, to recognize that some tiny fraction of the billions of tiny blips making up the constellation of all beings that you share fractional awareness of when you summon- some tiny fraction of those are better, they are stronger, and more resilient, and you know how to summon those. So when you summon a celestial monkey to open the door, you pick a really super good monkey.

But there's just one Eidolon that you are bonded with. You can't get a different one!

I don't think that clashes with anything.

Liberty's Edge

A more literal explanation would say that you know some trick of words with summoning spells, that makes the spells make the monsters you summon stronger- and this trick doesn't work when you summon your Eidolon, because it's not with a spell, and you can't apply the trick (but it would explain how it applies when brought in with Summon Eidolon).


cfalcon wrote:

He wants a reason that makes sense, roleplaying wise, a legit question.

Try this:

Augment Summoning represents your ability to pick the cream of the crop, to recognize that some tiny fraction of the billions of tiny blips making up the constellation of all beings that you share fractional awareness of when you summon- some tiny fraction of those are better, they are stronger, and more resilient, and you know how to summon those. So when you summon a celestial monkey to open the door, you pick a really super good monkey.

But there's just one Eidolon that you are bonded with. You can't get a different one!

I don't think that clashes with anything.

I actually like this explanation and I think I will stick with it until Jason or whoever that does errata on books say otherwise. Thanks.


If Augment Summoning worked for Eidolons then there would be no need for the feat Summoner's Call. Since this feat exists, Augment Summoning must not work on the Eidolon.


I can not find a use for Summoner's call in our games. Eidolon takes 1 minute to summon, so you do it outside combat, sure. Summoner's call gives you a boost for only 10 minutes. Yes, ONLY ten minutes. I say that because my DM tends to have us walk down a trail, then an encounter happens. I ask him how long it has been since my summon and he tends to say 20 minutes or so. So really, I can't use this feat since encounters always hit after the duration has expired on it. That was why I wanted Augment Summoning to work. So what is the point in me taking this feat, which only works for the ritual, not the summon spell by the wording of it, only gives +2 to ONE of the physical attributes and only lasts 10 minutes when the encounters happen much later after I summon the eidolon? It just is not worth it. I liked the earlier explanation to why there is no augment summoning but Summoner's Call is junk unless you are expecting a fight very soon and have a full minute to prepare. Especially useless when your DM expects you to prepare hours in advance, in character, and tends to throw ambushes and other surprise attacks at you. Turns summoner's call into a garbage feat. MAYBE if it was 10 minutes per level, but it is not. Also, they made a mistake in that feat. The flavour description says it lets you summon the eidolon one more additional time per day but that is not in the listed benefits area, so that is not actually part of the feat. It is misleading.

Liberty's Edge

Where do you get the idea that you have a limited number of times a day you can summon your Eidolon?

I read that feat as being something like, you summon dismiss and summon your Eidolon with the 1 minute ritual, or you plan to only get your Eidolon in play with Summon Eidolon and you also have Augment Summoning (which would let you have a +6 to Str maybe?).

Either way, it seems a heavily suboptimal feat, probably didn't quite get polished on its way out of beta. Just don't take it! This game has way much in the way of awesome fun feats, don't sweat the terrible ones :P


cfalcon wrote:

Where do you get the idea that you have a limited number of times a day you can summon your Eidolon?

I read that feat as being something like, you summon dismiss and summon your Eidolon with the 1 minute ritual, or you plan to only get your Eidolon in play with Summon Eidolon and you also have Augment Summoning (which would let you have a +6 to Str maybe?).

Either way, it seems a heavily suboptimal feat, probably didn't quite get polished on its way out of beta. Just don't take it! This game has way much in the way of awesome fun feats, don't sweat the terrible ones :P

The limit thing is the part I said was misleading since the feat says:

Summoner’s Call
You have the power to call your eidolon one additional
time per day.
Prerequisite: Eidolon class feature.
Benefit: Whenever you summon your eidolon, you may
give it a +2 enhancement bonus to its Strength, Dexterity,
or Constitution. This bonus lasts 10 minutes after the
summoning ritual is complete.

See the first sentance after the name of the feat? THAT is misleading. Really they should not release the book the same time as the PDF. Let out the PDF and when people find the errors, correct them THEN print the book. I know some people that wont get the PDF and prefer the book, and when the book has typos and mistakes in it then it becomes a waste of money. Maybe if they had a "Send in the book you bought and we will give you a corrected version." then it would be alright.

Liberty's Edge

OH I get it.

You must have been limited during the playtest and the flavor text never got fixed.

I think they are more than happy to print a second printing of the book later. The problem with the PDF first is that print runs still take a very long time, so the time delta would be very large.

1 to 50 of 51 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eidolon Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.