Does Lunge Make You Immune to AoOs?


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.

For example, if you attempt a disarm maneuver w/o Imp. Disarm in conjunction with Lunge, would you suffer an AoO? I'm leaning towards "no" since doing the same thing with a reach weapon wouldn't permit an AoO since the targeted character doesn't threaten the square that the attacking character occupies. On the other hand, this would greatly improve the functionality of the Lunge feat. Thoughts?


Since Lunge increases your reach, any AoO you provoke would have to be able to "reach" you. It doesn't necessarily make you immune, but if your opponent is not using a reach weapon, his AoO would be useless: you're not in a square he threatens when your provoking action occurs.

Grand Lodge

I'd say you could just use a reach weapon to achieve the same end, but I don't know which ones PF allows maneuvers with.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Mynameisjake wrote:
For example, if you attempt a disarm maneuver w/o Imp. Disarm in conjunction with Lunge, would you suffer an AoO? I'm leaning towards "no" since doing the same thing with a reach weapon wouldn't permit an AoO since the targeted character doesn't threaten the square that the attacking character occupies. On the other hand, this would greatly improve the functionality of the Lunge feat. Thoughts?

As per p. 180, AoOs are only provoked in threatened squares. Actions that provoke AoOs that occur in non-threatened squares...don't.

So, if a creature performs a combo lunge/disarm*, and the target does not have reach to threaten the attacker's square, then no AoO.

* totally legitimate from a real-world fencing standpoint; we call it "hand-sniping".


Disarm without Improved Disarm and no AoO? That's interesting and a nice way to avoid taking the Improved feats.
What about Trip?

And what about doing these maneuvers without weapons?
Can we envision someone (say, a monk) lunging forward to disarm his foe 5 feet away (and grabbing the weapon) with no danger to himself?

And what about Small and smaller creatures?

Grand Lodge

Can you use Lunge with unarmed strikes? I know my spiked chain monk was tripping with it before he got Imp Trip and avoiding AoOs.


Louis IX wrote:

Disarm without Improved Disarm and no AoO? That's interesting and a nice way to avoid taking the Improved feats.

What about Trip?

And what about doing these maneuvers without weapons?
Can we envision someone (say, a monk) lunging forward to disarm his foe 5 feet away (and grabbing the weapon) with no danger to himself?

And what about Small and smaller creatures?

Well, Lunge says it affects all of your melee attacks, and sunder, trip, and disarm specifically say they can be substituted for melee attacks, so I'm guessing the answer is yes. You wouldn't get the +2 for some of the maneuvers, but you wouldn't get an AoO, either.

It would also seem that you can use Lunge in conjunction with a charging bull rush as well.

There doesn't seem to be much difference between an IUS strike and a weapon, so I'd say yes on that one, including using CMs instead of strikes.

As for small and smaller creatures, it would depend. If they had normal reach, then sure. If they had no reach, then the feat would seem to grant it to them, but the only benefit would be not having to enter the larger creature's square in order to attack.

@TOZ: Spiked Chains don't get reach in PF.

Grand Lodge

Mynameisjake wrote:
@TOZ: Spiked Chains don't get reach in PF.

Another reason why I don't play PF.

Dark Archive

i'd still give an AoO, but since they cant reach you they could only disarm or sunder. you shouldn't have to be able to reach them in those cases, just the weapon

my 2cp


Strike Back
+ Lunge
+ Reach Weapon
= No Imp. Trip needed to try to trip a dragon

A little silly and prone to fail, but funny. Gargantuan dragon swings his tail at the fighter, he grabs it in his hand and turns the dragon over.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

[rant] Another reason why the the Strike Back feat shouldn't exist! It promotes rules abuse such as this! [/rant]


Ice Titan wrote:

Strike Back

+ Lunge
+ Reach Weapon
= No Imp. Trip needed to try to trip a dragon

A little silly and prone to fail, but funny. Gargantuan dragon swings his tail at the fighter, he grabs it in his hand and turns the dragon over.

Trip has a size limit on what you can trip IIRC.


wraithstrike wrote:
Ice Titan wrote:

Strike Back

+ Lunge
+ Reach Weapon
= No Imp. Trip needed to try to trip a dragon

A little silly and prone to fail, but funny. Gargantuan dragon swings his tail at the fighter, he grabs it in his hand and turns the dragon over.

Trip has a size limit on what you can trip IIRC.

Probably. So just a large dragon, then, but I thought it was clever.

Offtopic:
Fighter is using a polearm and has Strike Back and Lunge. Dragon has Lunge.
1) Ready an action to attack the dragon when it threatens you. You use lunge on this readied action so that you can attack the dragon from the farthest distance.
2) The dragon doesn't move and uses Lunge to attack you.

Now the fighter is fighting 15 feet out and attacking the dragon fighting 20 feet out. What exactly is going on?!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Lunge Make You Immune to AoOs? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions