Shopping for Treasure


Pathfinder Society

1/5

My older players are giving me so much blow-back on my reading of the v2.2 guide, I'd like you good board dwellers to back me up or set me strait on treasure.

The way I'm reading v2.2 The only items in the universe they can buy are those found on their chronicles and the few things listed in chapter 10. If they want to buy something off of a chronicle, even then they are limited to the max. item cost on table 11-2.
Correct?

Some of my players believe because it used to be the case that:
a) If they want to get something from the core book like a Headband of Inspired Wisdom +2, that's O.K. as long as they have enough prestige to fit it under their max. item cost.
b) The max item cost on table 11-2 only applies to their shopping from the core book and doesn't apply to chronicles. So if they see a PoP 2 on a chronicle, it doesn't matter what their prestige is, they can buy it if they have the gold because it's on a chronicle.


John Willy wrote:

My older players are giving me so much blow-back on my reading of the v2.2 guide, I'd like you good board dwellers to back me up or set me strait on treasure.

The way I'm reading v2.2 The only items in the universe they can buy are those found on their chronicles and the few things listed in chapter 10. If they want to buy something off of a chronicle, even then they are limited to the max. item cost on table 11-2.
Correct?

Some of my players believe because it used to be the case that:
a) If they want to get something from the core book like a Headband of Inspired Wisdom +2, that's O.K. as long as they have enough prestige to fit it under their max. item cost.
b) The max item cost on table 11-2 only applies to their shopping from the core book and doesn't apply to chronicles. So if they see a PoP 2 on a chronicle, it doesn't matter what their prestige is, they can buy it if they have the gold because it's on a chronicle.

They would be correct rather than you.

-James

Dark Archive 5/5

Some of your players are correct.

Liberty's Edge 1/5

A and B are both correct.

Just note that anything of a higher sub-tier than what they played the scenario is inaccessible. For example, the players play a scenario at sub-tier 4-5, but there's items listed for 4-5 and 7-8 on the chronicle. They can't purchase the 7-8 items, EVEN IF THEY LATER ARE LEVEL 7 or 8, from the chronicle! However, anything in the core rulebook, even things listed under a higher tier, can be purchased if the player has high enough max prestige.

Essentially there are three, separate lists to buy from:
A) Always available items
B) Items on Chronicle sheets from the sub-tier they played and lower
C) Anything in the core rulebook (or allowed other sources) under their max prestige gold-spend-limit-thingy

Hope this helps :)

Grand Lodge 3/5

Austin Morgan wrote:

A and B are both correct.

Just note that anything of a higher sub-tier than what they played the scenario is inaccessible. For example, the players play a scenario at sub-tier 4-5, but there's items listed for 4-5 and 7-8 on the chronicle. They can't purchase the 7-8 items, EVEN IF THEY LATER ARE LEVEL 7 or 8 from the chronicle! However, anything in the core rulebook, even things listed under a higher tier, can be purchased if the player has high enough max prestige.

Essentially there are three, separate lists to buy from:
A) Always available items
B) Items on Chronicle sheets from the sub-tier they played and lower
C) Anything in the core rulebook (or allowed other sources) under their max prestige gold-spend-limit-thingy

Hope this helps :)

+1 on this.

Grand Lodge 5/5

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Austin Morgan wrote:

A and B are both correct.

Just note that anything of a higher sub-tier than what they played the scenario is inaccessible. For example, the players play a scenario at sub-tier 4-5, but there's items listed for 4-5 and 7-8 on the chronicle. They can't purchase the 7-8 items, EVEN IF THEY LATER ARE LEVEL 7 or 8, from the chronicle! However, anything in the core rulebook, even things listed under a higher tier, can be purchased if the player has high enough max prestige.

Essentially there are three, separate lists to buy from:
A) Always available items
B) Items on Chronicle sheets from the sub-tier they played and lower
C) Anything in the core rulebook (or allowed other sources) under their max prestige gold-spend-limit-thingy

Hope this helps :)

+1

Hope this sets you straight Willy, I heard about this "discussion" and it seems that it was causing much consternation in your group.

1/5

I run characters too, and I'd be happy to find that I'm wrong and you guys and my players are right, but what am I missing?

Under Chapter 10 in the guide, Other Items:

Weapons, armor, equipment, magic items and so on that are outside of these lists are not available for purchase at any time.

"These Lists" are referring to:
+1 Weapons, Armor, Shields, 1st level scrolls and oils, & the wayfinder

It goes on to say see chapter 13 for items outside the core assumptions, but the core rulebook is the core assumption and I can't find anywhere in the guide to organized play that permits shopping for treasure in the core rule book except "All basic armor, gear, items, and weapons from chapter 6"

Also under chapter 11 Spending and tracking prestige there is no mention that stuff purchased from chronicles gets a waiver from the TPA sallary cap.

Liberty's Edge 1/5

No, "these lists" are referring to the two lists in the sentence right before that one:

Guide to OP wrote:
Beyond the gear noted above (always available items), your character is restricted to purchasing additional items from his accumulated chronicle sheets (see Chapter 9, Step 3), or through his PA with his faction (see Chapter 11).

Italics is my addition.

As for the other point:

Page 23 wrote:
Every item that you find on a chronicle sheet is considered always available for purchase for you

and

Page 24 wrote:
PCs can always buy weapons and equipment off their chronicle sheets


Austin Morgan wrote:

A and B are both correct.

Just note that anything of a higher sub-tier than what they played the scenario is inaccessible. For example, the players play a scenario at sub-tier 4-5, but there's items listed for 4-5 and 7-8 on the chronicle. They can't purchase the 7-8 items, EVEN IF THEY LATER ARE LEVEL 7 or 8, from the chronicle! However, anything in the core rulebook, even things listed under a higher tier, can be purchased if the player has high enough max prestige.

Essentially there are three, separate lists to buy from:
A) Always available items
B) Items on Chronicle sheets from the sub-tier they played and lower
C) Anything in the core rulebook (or allowed other sources) under their max prestige gold-spend-limit-thingy

Hope this helps :)

Just a bit more on this. Anything you are never allowed to buy from a chronicle sheet, whether it is something you did not find or items from a different tier than you played through, should be crossed out by the GM. If it is not crossed out, then it is always available for you to buy, up to the item limit listed, if there is one.

Sovereign Court 5/5 Owner - Enchanted Grounds, President/Owner - Enchanted Grounds

I was going to start a new thread for this discussion, but this seems very relevant, so...

My character has enough gp to purchase a +2 item. The specific item I want is *not* listed on any of my chronicles sheets. I already own a +1 version of the weapon I want to get. I know that in PFS I only have to pay the difference to get the +2 version (so, 6,000 gp). However, the actual cost of the item is 8,315 gp (item+masterwork+enhancement). Which brings me to my question:

I only have 24 PA, putting me at the 8,000 gp limit for an item. Does this limit get imposed on the total cost, or merely on the upgrade cost?

My assumption is that I need 3 more PA to get my weapon, as it's not on any of my sheets and I need to be able to have enough PA to fit the actual cost under my limit, not just the upgrade cost. But I know I'm going to get comments going both ways from other players in my area, and I want my ducks in a row if/when I start enforcing this rule at my tables.

Thanks, in advance.


You are right, you need enough PA to cover the total cost of the item, not just the upgrade cost. Then to upgrade the way you want to, you only have to pay in gold the difference in price.

Shadow Lodge 5/5

Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
You are right, you need enough PA to cover the total cost of the item, not just the upgrade cost. Then to upgrade the way you want to, you only have to pay in gold the difference in price.

Yup...this, unfortunately.

Grand Lodge 2/5

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
John Willy wrote:


It goes on to say see chapter 13 for items outside the core assumptions, but the core rulebook is the core assumption and I can't find anywhere in the guide to organized play that permits shopping for treasure in the core rule book except "All basic armor, gear, items, and weapons from chapter 6"
Guide To Organized Play v2.2 pg. 3 wrote:


Unless noted in later chapters, everything contained in the Core Rulebook and Seekers of Secrets is legal for play in Pathfinder Society Organized
Play. This includes base classes, feats, spells, equipment, and even prestige classes.

1/5

O.K.

Tanx for clearing up my misconceptions. I was also wondering about the +2 weapon example, so I'm glad Enevhar asked that too.

I would like to buy for my Sorcerer a Staff of Magic Missile. As long as I'm in a town of 5,000 residents, and I have at least 18 TPA, I can just buy it for 3,200? Is there a problem about it being caster level 8 even though I would only be 4th or 5th, or that I'm ordering something designed from the Magic Item Creation section, and not buying one pre-designed on the table? Assuming it's legal for purchase in the first place, can I recharge it inbetween adventures by casting the magic missile spell, even though the craft staff feat is not legal for play?

Scarab Sages 2/5

The problem with buying that is you cannot custom create any items. You would be able to purchase a Staff of that price, with that amount of prestige, but only if it was a pre-built one in the Core Book. Anything that is not pre-built is not available for purchase (the only exceptions really being weapons/armor, you can quasi-'build your own' by putting together different abilities and such, but they still need to be off the table).

The Magic Item Creation section, like the Craft feats, is off-limits.

Liberty's Edge 1/5

Karui Kage wrote:
Anything that is not pre-built is not available for purchase, the only exceptions really being weapons/armor.

+1.

Minor-ly edited to make sense as a quote :)


Austin Morgan wrote:
Karui Kage wrote:
Anything that is not pre-built is not available for purchase, the only exceptions really being weapons/armor.
+1.

...and potions and wands and scrolls.

Scarab Sages 2/5

hogarth wrote:
Austin Morgan wrote:
Karui Kage wrote:
Anything that is not pre-built is not available for purchase, the only exceptions really being weapons/armor.
+1.
...and potions and wands and scrolls.

In a sense, though I believe consumables need to be full (I know this) and at their default caster level (I believe this, 90% sure), so even those have some restrictions.

Sovereign Court 1/5

Karui Kage wrote:
hogarth wrote:
Austin Morgan wrote:
Karui Kage wrote:
Anything that is not pre-built is not available for purchase, the only exceptions really being weapons/armor.
+1.
...and potions and wands and scrolls.
In a sense, though I believe consumables need to be full (I know this) and at their default caster level (I believe this, 90% sure), so even those have some restrictions.

Yes and yes.

I got your back.


Karui Kage wrote:

The problem with buying that is you cannot custom create any items. You would be able to purchase a Staff of that price, with that amount of prestige, but only if it was a pre-built one in the Core Book. Anything that is not pre-built is not available for purchase (the only exceptions really being weapons/armor, you can quasi-'build your own' by putting together different abilities and such, but they still need to be off the table).

I'm sorry, but why are Staves being treated differently than wands, potions, scrolls, shields, armor, and weapons?

The rules for them are just as laid out as the others.

I think that you are confusing the rules for these items with the DM's guideline for creating new items. The later is certainly off limits (just as it should be in a normal campaign) while the former is just not done because of the sheer number of possibilities involved (heck just scrolls of magic missile would be 20 different items as you vary the caster level) so the formula is provided.

-James

Scarab Sages 2/5

james maissen wrote:
Karui Kage wrote:

The problem with buying that is you cannot custom create any items. You would be able to purchase a Staff of that price, with that amount of prestige, but only if it was a pre-built one in the Core Book. Anything that is not pre-built is not available for purchase (the only exceptions really being weapons/armor, you can quasi-'build your own' by putting together different abilities and such, but they still need to be off the table).

I'm sorry, but why are Staves being treated differently than wands, potions, scrolls, shields, armor, and weapons?

The rules for them are just as laid out as the others.

I think that you are confusing the rules for these items with the DM's guideline for creating new items. The later is certainly off limits (just as it should be in a normal campaign) while the former is just not done because of the sheer number of possibilities involved (heck just scrolls of magic missile would be 20 different items as you vary the caster level) so the formula is provided.

-James

Not at all confused. Josh has commented numerous times on this issue. The point I am trying to make is that you can only use items from each type's section. Weapons and Armor have their own section with Specific Weapons/Armor and abilities. You can 'create' your own unique weapon by combining pre-made abilities, but you can't make new abilities. With the consumables, only tables for a spell level, price, and class are present. You can cross-reference these to make your own 'unique' consumables, but you can't create new spells to fill them.

With Staves, Rods, Rings, and Wondrous Items, rules for creating new types aren't found within these sections, only pre-made ones are present. Thus, you can only choose from within these lists. You would need to reference the Item Creation list in the back to create a new staff, which is off limits in Society.

Liberty's Edge 1/5

hogarth wrote:
Austin Morgan wrote:
Karui Kage wrote:
Anything that is not pre-built is not available for purchase, the only exceptions really being weapons/armor.
+1.
...and potions and wands and scrolls.

Thanks, I seem to have not been paying enough attention lol


james maissen wrote:

I'm sorry, but why are Staves being treated differently than wands, potions, scrolls, shields, armor, and weapons?

The rules for them are just as laid out as the others.

My understanding is that you can buy anything from Tables 15-3 to 15-26 in the Core Rulebook (there aren't any prices for cursed items, so I don't think you can buy those).

Thus I can buy a generic scroll from levels 0 to 9 since they're listed in Table 15-15, but Table 15-16 lists specific staves so I can only buy one of those.

Scarab Sages 2/5

hogarth wrote:
james maissen wrote:

I'm sorry, but why are Staves being treated differently than wands, potions, scrolls, shields, armor, and weapons?

The rules for them are just as laid out as the others.

My understanding is that you can buy anything from Tables 15-3 to 15-26 in the Core Rulebook (there aren't any prices for cursed items, so I don't think you can buy those).

Thus I can buy a generic scroll from levels 0 to 9 since they're listed in Table 15-15, but Table 15-16 lists specific staves so I can only buy one of those.

Yes. This is what I have been trying to say, my versions just being over-complicated. :)


Correct!

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Shopping for Treasure All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society