Holding the Touch


Rules Questions


A debate came up today when we were discussing build decisions, revolving around touch spells and their delivery in Pathfinder.

When one casts a touch spell, you can hold the charge to deliver the spell at a later time. This much is clear. But what kind of action does this take? Normally, it's a standard action to perform a touch attack, but in the case of touch spells the standard action to touch is subsumed in the initial casting (if you don't hold the charge). Consider:

It's my turn. I cast Cure X Wounds (standard action). I hold the charge (no action), then move up (move action) behind my big friendly fighter. What kind of action does it take to touch my friendly target and apply the spell? Bear in mind that this is all happening on the same turn, separated only by a single move action between casting time and delivery.

We've not been able to find a clear cut case of RAW, just a Q&A on the WotC board for 3.5.


Pathfinder Core Rulebook, Chapter 8: Combat, Cast a Spell, page 185 wrote:
Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.

So it's a free action that can be taken immediately upon finishing the spell, or after you move. It only requires an attack roll if you touch an enemy (I mention that because I've had DMs require me to attack my allies to deliver healing spells before).

Pathfinder Core Rulebook, Chapter 8: Combat, Hold the Charge, page 186 wrote:
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action.

So, if you don't deliver your touch spell in the same round that you cast it, you can no longer touch as a free action. Touching allies is a standard action or up to 6 allies as a full-round action. Touching an enemy is a standard touch attack (requiring an attack roll and a standard action to make that attack).


Thanks for that! Apparently my guys are blind, or didn't RTFM like they ought've. Game commences in 11 hours, so your timing is perfect! Thank you for the fast turnaround as well.


There are some abilities(like paladin LoH) and vague wording that suggests that you can use the charge on yourself as a free action.

Liberty's Edge

so when holding the charge then and making touch attacks every round...does the spell deal its damage every round or is it discharged on the initial touch. Example
cast Inflict light wounds --hold charge--then make touch attacks for the next x number of rounds each doing the inflict wound damage of 1d8+1.

Shadow Lodge

advarial wrote:

so when holding the charge then and making touch attacks every round...does the spell deal its damage every round or is it discharged on the initial touch. Example

cast Inflict light wounds --hold charge--then make touch attacks for the next x number of rounds each doing the inflict wound damage of 1d8+1.

Unless the spell has a duration like Chill touch the spell is discharged on first use.


advarial wrote:

so when holding the charge then and making touch attacks every round...does the spell deal its damage every round or is it discharged on the initial touch. Example

cast Inflict light wounds --hold charge--then make touch attacks for the next x number of rounds each doing the inflict wound damage of 1d8+1.

Just once.

Pretty much every attack spell is like that. You cast, it goes off, then it's done. Sure, a few spells specifically say otherwise, in which case, the instructions are in the spell description. Without explicit instructions letting you use the attack multiple times, you can't.

Liberty's Edge

DM_Blake wrote:
advarial wrote:

so when holding the charge then and making touch attacks every round...does the spell deal its damage every round or is it discharged on the initial touch. Example

cast Inflict light wounds --hold charge--then make touch attacks for the next x number of rounds each doing the inflict wound damage of 1d8+1.

Just once.

Pretty much every attack spell is like that. You cast, it goes off, then it's done. Sure, a few spells specifically say otherwise, in which case, the instructions are in the spell description. Without explicit instructions letting you use the attack multiple times, you can't.

Thats what I thought but the wording is a bit foggy so i had to ask.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Holding the Touch All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.