Trip question


Rules Questions


Do you use your CMB + D20 for a trip attack or do you use a normal weapon attack for a trip attack?

Can you use the barbarian rage power strength surge with a trip attack?

I also wanted to double check this, are the only weapons you can use in a trip attack the weapons that have the special quality trip attached to their description or can you use other weapons to trip also?

Scarab Sages

Nahtar wrote:
Do you use your CMB + D20 for a trip attack or do you use a normal weapon attack for a trip attack?

You use CMB, but see below.

Nahtar wrote:
Can you use the barbarian rage power strength surge with a trip attack?

Yes, a trip attack is a combat maneuver.

Nahtar wrote:
I also wanted to double check this, are the only weapons you can use in a trip attack the weapons that have the special quality trip attached to their description or can you use other weapons to trip also?

You can only make trip attacks with a trip weapon (or unarmed) - if you use a trip weapon, any modifiers for attacks you have with that weapon (such as Weapon Focus, or magical enhancement) apply to the CMB check.


Tom Baumbach wrote:
Nahtar wrote:
Do you use your CMB + D20 for a trip attack or do you use a normal weapon attack for a trip attack?

You use CMB, but see below.

Nahtar wrote:
Can you use the barbarian rage power strength surge with a trip attack?

Yes, a trip attack is a combat maneuver.

Nahtar wrote:
I also wanted to double check this, are the only weapons you can use in a trip attack the weapons that have the special quality trip attached to their description or can you use other weapons to trip also?
You can only make trip attacks with a trip weapon (or unarmed) - if you use a trip weapon, any modifiers for attacks you have with that weapon (such as Weapon Focus, or magical enhancement) apply to the CMB check.

Thank you very much for your help that clears it all up for me perfectly.


Tom Baumbach wrote:
Nahtar wrote:
Do you use your CMB + D20 for a trip attack or do you use a normal weapon attack for a trip attack?

You use CMB, but see below.

Nahtar wrote:
Can you use the barbarian rage power strength surge with a trip attack?

Yes, a trip attack is a combat maneuver.

Nahtar wrote:
I also wanted to double check this, are the only weapons you can use in a trip attack the weapons that have the special quality trip attached to their description or can you use other weapons to trip also?
You can only make trip attacks with a trip weapon (or unarmed) - if you use a trip weapon, any modifiers for attacks you have with that weapon (such as Weapon Focus, or magical enhancement) apply to the CMB check.

Is the dex mod you from weapon finesse applicable to the CMB check if you use a whip?

Scarab Sages

ryathas ruyonin-shar wrote:
Is the dex mod you from weapon finesse applicable to the CMB check if you use a whip?

Yes, in the case of Weapon Finesse with a trip weapon you would use your DEX modifier in place of your STR modifier for trip attacks.


It is:
CMB + d20.

Strenght Surge:
Add your barbarian level to one str chec or combat maneuver check.
So yes you can use it for trip because trip is a maneuver ceck.

Weapons for trip.

The weapons with trip give you a +2 to trip. You can use other weapons to trip but without the +2.

I searched the rules.


Count Duck wrote:

It is:

CMB + d20.

Strenght Surge:
Add your barbarian level to one str chec or combat maneuver check.
So yes you can use it for trip because trip is a maneuver ceck.

Weapons for trip.

The weapons with trip give you a +2 to trip. You can use other weapons to trip but without the +2.

I searched the rules.

Where does it state that weapons without the trip ability in the discription can be used to trip?

I was under the impression that James stated elsewhere that specifically only weapons described with trip can do so.
EDIT: I also don't see any reference to weapons getting the +2 to trip if they have the trip quality. The only reference to a +2 to trip that I can find is in the description of the Improved Trip feat so could you please post page numbers or links to your statments.

EDIT EDIT: Sorry this post looks snarky! Its not meant to be I'm curious :)


Spacelard wrote:


I was under the impression that James stated elsewhere that specifically only weapons described with trip can do so.

He stated it here


Spacelard wrote:
Count Duck wrote:

It is:

CMB + d20.

Where does it state that weapons without the trip ability in the discription can be used to trip?
I was under the impression that James stated elsewhere that specifically only weapons described with trip can do so.
EDIT: I also don't see any reference to weapons getting the +2 to trip if they have the trip quality. The only reference to a +2 to trip that I can find is in the description of the Improved Trip feat so could you please post page numbers or links to your statments.

EDIT EDIT: Sorry this post looks snarky! Its not meant to be I'm curious :)

Page 145 PRG:

Tip:
You can use a trip weapon to make trip attacks. If you are tripped druing your own trip attemt, you can drop the weapon to avoid being tripped.

I don't know wher my confusion is coming from.


Cormac wrote:
Spacelard wrote:


I was under the impression that James stated elsewhere that specifically only weapons described with trip can do so.
He stated it here

Thought so...

I thought I was losing my mind again then!


Count Duck wrote:
Spacelard wrote:
Count Duck wrote:

It is:

CMB + d20.

Where does it state that weapons without the trip ability in the discription can be used to trip?
I was under the impression that James stated elsewhere that specifically only weapons described with trip can do so.
EDIT: I also don't see any reference to weapons getting the +2 to trip if they have the trip quality. The only reference to a +2 to trip that I can find is in the description of the Improved Trip feat so could you please post page numbers or links to your statments.

EDIT EDIT: Sorry this post looks snarky! Its not meant to be I'm curious :)

Page 145 PRG:

Tip:
You can use a trip weapon to make trip attacks. If you are tripped druing your own trip attemt, you can drop the weapon to avoid being tripped.

I don't know wher my confusion is coming from.

I've gone through the online rule book and the d20pfsrd but I see nothing to back up your quote "The weapons with trip give you a +2 to trip. You can use other weapons to trip but without the +2."

Under disarm it says that a weapon with the disarm quality gets a +2 on the disarm CM check but there is no such statement under the trip section.

The Improved Trip gives a +2 bonus to trip CM and James Jacobs has stated that only weapons with the trip quality can make trip CM.

That is why I'm confused. What you posted above about dropping the weapon during a trip attack, etc. doesn't address the original quote.
You're not getting trip and disarm mixed up are you?

Again all with the non-snark caveats, I know meaning, etc. can get lost on the interweb :)


Thanks


Count Duck I think your confusion was that you may have been confusing Trip and Disarm. Page 144 CRB says Disarm: When you use a disarm weapon, you get a +2 bonus on Combat Maneuver Checks to disarm an enemy.


The +2 to Trip from trip weapons comes from the Beta version of PRPG, where it could be understood that other weapons can trip but without that +2.
The final version, with the official answer from James, states that trip weapons can trip (nothing about a +2 here) and non-trip weapons cannot.
But you can have the Improved Trip feat to regain that +2 (and Greater Trip for another +2).

Personally, I prefer the Beta version. Deciding that people can't do X without having Y seems like a computer game, where I can't dig a hole without a shovel.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Trip question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.