PC Wealth Calculation


Rules Questions


So I was thinking about how much gear I just gave out to my PC's, and it was quite a bit, but I was curious about something.

You have gear such as say a belt of physical perfection +6, and then a Manual of Quickness of Action +5 that are of about the same value. One is consumable, the other is worn.

Do you calculate how many Tomes or Manuals a PC has consumed in their character wealth? My gut answer is no, but that seems like a big bonus if the character is supposed to get another Quickness of Action worth of items since he followed the manual for the +5 Dex. Then again, it's a huge hole in the reverse.

Just curious what you all do for this.


Yes you do. even one use items count. As for the manual hell man thats a permanent boost where as ya can loose the belt.


Yep, if anything the manuals and tomes are more valuable than the belts/headbands for overall character "wealth" by level.


Man, I guess I'm running a "Superpowered" campaign then... lol


One shot items like manuals or tomes that give a permanent boost definitely count.

On the other hand, I, personally, don't count consumables such as potions or scrolls that are found and used in the same adventure. That's just me, tho.


The Tomes and Manuals are better than items, but they can't stack, while you can upgrade an existing Belt or Headband. And, when comparing prices for a character able to Craft the thing, there isn't much difference for Tomes and Manuals, whereas a Crafting character making his own stuff can apply restrictions further lowering its price (IIRC).


Louis IX wrote:
The Tomes and Manuals are better than items, but they can't stack, while you can upgrade an existing Belt or Headband. And, when comparing prices for a character able to Craft the thing, there isn't much difference for Tomes and Manuals, whereas a Crafting character making his own stuff can apply restrictions further lowering its price (IIRC).

Valid points about stacking and upgrading.

In regards to crafting items, I'm pretty sure one of the Paizo folks said that restrictions on who could use an item only reduced the market price, not the crafting cost.


Isn't crafting cost defined as 50% of the base market price?


You can apply restrictions for a discount only if the GM allows it. Most GMs won't, unless you bribe them.

Manuals definitely count as items. They're just as useful. In fact, they're more useful. I can take away your magic sword. I cannot take away your inherent strength boost.

Sunaj Janus wrote:
Isn't crafting cost defined as 50% of the base market price?

For the spellcasting itself. Costly material components must be paid in full.


If you get an extra benefit from an item or anything that isn't a class or character feature, count it as treasure.

That said, you can't sell previously used tomes if you find a new, more powerfull tome, so it is reasonable to count only the price of the most powerfull tome used for a single ability score.

I would only put the +5 tome in a treasure, as an end-of-campaign item for level 19 or 20, but that's me.


Of course! All Items are worth money! So calculate it! Anything that the can use you should calculatie.

for item reation topic. I and other GM's We are allowing all the discounts they can get. We have only one rule though. Above level 3, don't expect that CR are completeley what they should be! (we make it heavier).

Wy should we do that? HAving tons of items is always fun! Aan in my groep almost all player are good GM's to so we understeand each ohters wishes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / PC Wealth Calculation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions