Vital strike


Rules Questions


My GM gave the big bad of the session vital strike recently. During combat he interpreted the feat (which says that when ever the character makes the attack action roll an extra weapon die) so that the baddie used it for AoO's. As players the party raised a fuss about the rules as intended and not as written and he graciously backed down.
In a RAW sense was he correct or is there errata that I'm unaware of cause that just seems broken to me.
thanks in advance


Totally wrong. It's a standard action. You cannot take a standard action as part of an AoO. Open and shut case.


Attack Action = Standard Action (see top of page 183, core rulebook). One per round, maximum. Point out that otherwise you could take Vital Strike and full-attack with it ...


Yep, an "attack action" and an "attack" or "attack roll" isn't the same. Vital strike is used when you move your movement and then you attack, and is better used with big weapons that do a lot of damage, like 2 handed weapons and some exotic weapons.


Thanks for the backup


Yeah "BUT"... touch attacks and ranged touch attacks are attack actions.
I assume they qualify.

Grand Lodge

zarconww wrote:

Yeah "BUT"... touch attacks and ranged touch attacks are attack actions.

I assume they qualify.

Touch attacks - yes, if you have the touch attack ready without enacting any other ability. If this is true you also threaten an area with it.

Ranged touch attacks - no, an attack of opportunity is a melee attack.

Grand Lodge

This is a three year old thread.

So, necromancing a thread, with a witty response, is like trying to demoralize a corpse.

Just saying.


Also, the feat only ups your weapon damage. A touch spell is, literally, doing no weapon damage but just carrying the touch spell as a rider. Doubling nothing is still nothing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Vital strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions