Declaring Cleave


Rules Questions

201 to 250 of 431 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | next > last >>

TriOmegaZero wrote:


What are your options? Because taking a -2 to AC and attacking is basically saying 'I make a Cleave attempt', which uses a Standard Action.

No. It's not declaring what future attacks will be nor what action type I must be in.

Rather it gives the PC options on what they can legitimately do after that first attack.

His round could have been any of the following (in addition to free & swift actions):

1. Standard action (attack) then move action.
2. Standard action (cleave) then move action.
3. Full round action (full attack).

All of these are consistent with that first attack and all are currently allowable to him after that first attack.

If he did not elect to take that -2 to AC he would be denied #2. Just as he *is* denied option 4 below because he did not take a penalty on that attack.
4. Full round action (TWF full attack).

-James


You take the -2 penalty to AC as a result of using TWF or Cleave. Not the other way around.

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:
No. It's not declaring what future attacks will be nor what action type I must be in.

Yes, actually it does. There is only one action by the rules where you take a -2 to AC and make a single attack. And that is Cleave. There are no actions where you take a -2 to AC and Full Attack to my knowledge. There is Charge, but that requires moving before, not after. Unless you can find me another option that lets you take a -2 to AC and attack, Cleave is the only option. And as a standard action, you take that attack and get a -2 to AC. Regardless of if you hit or not, you take that -2 to AC. Thus, it requires a Standard Action to complete regardless of if you hit or not. You can't turn it into a Full Attack. You can only turn a Full Attack into a Standard Action.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
james maissen wrote:
No. It's not declaring what future attacks will be nor what action type I must be in.
Yes, actually it does. There is only one action by the rules where you take a -2 to AC and make a single attack. And that is Cleave. There are no actions where you take a -2 to AC and Full Attack to my knowledge. There is Charge, but that requires moving before, not after. Unless you can find me another option that lets you take a -2 to AC and attack, Cleave is the only option. And as a standard action, you take that attack and get a -2 to AC. Regardless of if you hit or not, you take that -2 to AC. Thus, it requires a Standard Action to complete regardless of if you hit or not. You can't turn it into a Full Attack. You can only turn a Full Attack into a Standard Action.

Bad logic.

What happens if I elect to take a -3 to AC?

What happens if I elect to take -2 to AC but don't attack?

Sorry, you're dancing around things a bit and I think you've confused yourself here.

And to the other poster, you don't get a -2 to AC as a result of TWF, perhaps you meant -2 to hit in that case?

-James

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:

What happens if I elect to take a -3 to AC?

What happens if I elect to take -2 to AC but don't attack?

You can't, by the rules.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
james maissen wrote:

What happens if I elect to take a -3 to AC?

What happens if I elect to take -2 to AC but don't attack?

You can't, by the rules.

Mind giving a reference to that?

-James


First, I didn't intend to type "TWF or".. that was my typing fail. Fumble-fingers really.

Second, RAW you cannot "elect" to take a penalty to your AC. You can use actions that, as a side effect of their use, reduce your AC.

I'll restate my previous statement: You take the -2 penalty to AC as a result of using Cleave. Not the other way around.

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:

Mind giving a reference to that?

-James

There is no rule saying you can or can't. The only way you can take a penalty to AC by the rules is the Charge action. So you willingly taking a penalty to your AC is a case of Rule 0.


I'm done with this. This circular arguing is getting boring. How 'bout we just play however we're used to playing, and be done with this thread already?

Grand Lodge

No thanks, I'm having fun. Besides, it helps distract me from the headache my Algebra homework is.


lol.. have fun then =)


The main problem I see with declaring a cleave from the get go is what if I (as a PC) change the action of my PC. There seems to be persons wanting to dictate PC actions!!!

For example

ooh look two baddies
I am going to cleave them
Attack roll
hit
dies
DM roll your second attack
Nope I decided to let this one live
DM you can't not attack you declared cleave
PC Yes I can
DM Cleave says both opponenets
PC no feat says I can attack not that I have to
DM you have to
PC I release my weapon OR fall prone (Do I still have to?)

As far as the -2 to AC....
PC attacks baddie #1/hits/dies
PC attacks baddie #2 (DM interupts with AoO and appropriate penalty to AC)....Then PC attacks BAddie #2

Scarab Sages

cleave says "If you hit, you deal damage normally and CAN make an additional attack..."

Not *must*, but *can*. Meaning you can make your first attack, drop the baddie, and either take your cleave attack or end your standard action used for cleave.


james maissen wrote:
Freesword wrote:

Multiple actions in a round - a standard, a move, or each individual attack - are resolved individually. Once resolution begins for that action (dice rolling in most cases) no changes to the character's actions in the round may be made until the active action is resolved (effects of the action are applied).

You have a problem here.

What action type is making the 2nd of 3 attacks in a full attack action?

Can I 5' step during a full attack action? (Answer to this is yes I can).

I know what you're trying to say, but the point is what gets to be divided here.

Some people are claiming that the two attacks in a standard action via the cleave feat are inseparable. This is incorrect.

I resolve each attack individually as if it were a separate action because each attack's resolution affects the following attack or action. So a full round action may be handled as a single action or a series of individual (sub)actions depending on what is involved. It is basically stepping through the order of resolution. The rules include certain choice/break points already. If I have 4 attacks in in a full round attack, I can choose to stop after 3 (and may have to due to the results of the first 3 attacks).

As for separating the two attacks in a standard action from Cleave, that is only possible because of the word "can" in the first sentence. If it instead read:

As a standard action, you make a single attack at your full base attack bonus against a foe within reach.

Then the first attack is clearly part of the feat. With the word "can" it could be taken as simply restating the rules for attacking as a standard action which becomes the triggering action for the feat. This gets into the realm of RAW(ritten) vs RAI(ntended).

james maissen wrote:


As to the 'strawman' I mentioned it was some people suggesting that I suggested not taking the -2 AC penalty initially, which I never did.

You elect to take penalties like -2AC when charging for example, it's part of the act. If you don't take the penalty then you don't qualify for the benefits (being able to attack after moving more than your movement rate, etc).

Then we're on the same page, no problems here.

james maissen wrote:


So I would say that what you want is already there: the penalties are already 'declared' beforehand. That obviates your concern.

Seems like we are still on the same page.

james maissen wrote:


As to 'must keep them for the entire round' shouldn't that depend upon the penalty? For example if you take -2 to hit for TWF how long does that penalty last?

Perhaps I should have worded that better. Penalties stand for whatever duration is set in the rules. Since voluntary penalties are not covered in the rules, if they are not applied to specific action (such as TWF) I would have them last until your next action. If you apply them to a specific action, then they last for as long they normally would for that action. In other words, if you take a voluntary -2 in case you TWF:

A) You use TWF and the penalty is handled normally as per RAW.
B) You decide after your first attack not to TWF - the voluntary penalty would stand till your next action.
This is how I would rule your voluntary penalty as a DM.


Slatz Grubnik wrote:

First, I didn't intend to type "TWF or".. that was my typing fail. Fumble-fingers really.

Second, RAW you cannot "elect" to take a penalty to your AC. You can use actions that, as a side effect of their use, reduce your AC.

I'll restate my previous statement: You take the -2 penalty to AC as a result of using Cleave. Not the other way around.

This is correct. The -2 is a result of cleave. Cleave does not come from voluntarily taking a -2 to AC.

Scarab Sages

Magicdealer wrote:

cleave says "If you hit, you deal damage normally and CAN make an additional attack..."

Not *must*, but *can*. Meaning you can make your first attack, drop the baddie, and either take your cleave attack or end your standard action used for cleave.

Or you can continue on with a full attack action.

So is this arguement over yet?


KenderKin wrote:

The main problem I see with declaring a cleave from the get go is what if I (as a PC) change the action of my PC. There seems to be persons wanting to dictate PC actions!!!

For example

ooh look two baddies
I am going to cleave them
Attack roll
hit
dies
DM roll your second attack
Nope I decided to let this one live
DM you can't not attack you declared cleave
PC Yes I can
DM Cleave says both opponenets
PC no feat says I can attack not that I have to
DM you have to
PC I release my weapon OR fall prone (Do I still have to?)

As far as the -2 to AC....
PC attacks baddie #1/hits/dies
PC attacks baddie #2 (DM interupts with AoO and appropriate penalty to AC)....Then PC attacks BAddie #2

You don't have to finish the attack on the second, you still take the -2 AC from doing the cleave as your initial attack was done in a dangerous way that would allow you to have a follow through attack if you so choose to take it.


Freesword wrote:

In other words, if you take a voluntary -2 in case you TWF:

A) You use TWF and the penalty is handled normally as per RAW.
B) You decide after your first attack not to TWF - the voluntary penalty would stand till your next action.
This is how I would rule your voluntary penalty as a DM.

As long as you mean next action rather than next round I can see it.

-James

Liberty's Edge

Masika wrote:
Magicdealer wrote:

cleave says "If you hit, you deal damage normally and CAN make an additional attack..."

Not *must*, but *can*. Meaning you can make your first attack, drop the baddie, and either take your cleave attack or end your standard action used for cleave.

Or you can continue on with a full attack action.

So is this arguement over yet?

This seems like trying to keep it going....

Grand Lodge

Masika wrote:
Magicdealer wrote:

cleave says "If you hit, you deal damage normally and CAN make an additional attack..."

Not *must*, but *can*. Meaning you can make your first attack, drop the baddie, and either take your cleave attack or end your standard action used for cleave.

Or you can continue on with a full attack action.

So is this arguement over yet?

Nope.

You can't continue to take a full attack if you took a cleave.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
Masika wrote:
Magicdealer wrote:

cleave says "If you hit, you deal damage normally and CAN make an additional attack..."

Not *must*, but *can*. Meaning you can make your first attack, drop the baddie, and either take your cleave attack or end your standard action used for cleave.

Or you can continue on with a full attack action.

So is this arguement over yet?

Nope.

You can't continue to take a full attack if you took a cleave.

To build upon this further when you elected to cleave you took a standard, so now you only have a move action, and a free action left.

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:
Freesword wrote:

In other words, if you take a voluntary -2 in case you TWF:

A) You use TWF and the penalty is handled normally as per RAW.
B) You decide after your first attack not to TWF - the voluntary penalty would stand till your next action.
This is how I would rule your voluntary penalty as a DM.

As long as you mean next action rather than next round I can see it.

-James

I think it would be fair for the DM to rule that you take the -2 to hit until your next turn. After all, that's what happens when you TWF. Just because you elected to not take the rest of your attacks doesn't make the -2 go away.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
james maissen wrote:
Freesword wrote:

In other words, if you take a voluntary -2 in case you TWF:

A) You use TWF and the penalty is handled normally as per RAW.
B) You decide after your first attack not to TWF - the voluntary penalty would stand till your next action.
This is how I would rule your voluntary penalty as a DM.

As long as you mean next action rather than next round I can see it.

-James

I think it would be fair for the DM to rule that you take the -2 to hit until your next turn. After all, that's what happens when you TWF. Just because you elected to not take the rest of your attacks doesn't make the -2 go away.

By next action I mean next turn. If you want to hedge your bets like that at my table it won't come cheap.

Grand Lodge

Freesword wrote:
By next action I mean next turn. If you want to hedge your bets like that at my table it won't come cheap.

That is what I thought, and what I've been claiming all along. I am guessing that James thinks the -2 should go away if he does not actually complete the action.

A strict DM could say 'you may take a -2 to hit', and then then the player said he was going to continue a TWF full attack, respond 'okay, you now take a -4 on all your attacks'. When the player protests, the DM will explain 'TWF suffers a -2 on all attacks. That stacks with the -2 to hit you took earlier'. Because the player didn't state the -2 was for TWF, there are two separate penalties.

Me, I'm not that strict, but once you take a penalty to something, it stays until the next round. Thus, there are no options where you miss a Cleave attempt but do not take a -2 to AC.


TriOmegaZero wrote:


I think it would be fair for the DM to rule that you take the -2 to hit until your next turn. After all, that's what happens when you TWF.

You are incorrect. You probably should look up TWF.

-James

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:
TriOmegaZero wrote:


I think it would be fair for the DM to rule that you take the -2 to hit until your next turn. After all, that's what happens when you TWF.

You are incorrect. You probably should look up TWF.

-James

Ahem. You take a -2 to hit for using TWF while using a light weapon in your offhand and have the TWF feat. Better?


TriOmegaZero wrote:


Ahem. You take a -2 to hit for using TWF while using a light weapon in your offhand and have the TWF feat. Better?

Nope. You're still wrong on TWF from what you've been saying.

Read the rules on it, look at what you've been saying in this thread and give it some thought.

-James

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:

Nope. You're still wrong on TWF from what you've been saying.

Okay, I had to go to the Rules of the Game articles on Wizards to make sure. I was making the mistake of equating the TWF with the Fighting Defensively/Combat Expertise rules. I see that TWF penalties only last for your full attack action. Mea culpa. This is good to know for my future games.

However, as the Cleave feat states the -2 to AC lasts the round, it does not function in the same way. Taking a -2 to AC is synonymous with making a Cleave attempt.


Once more with feeling....

You have two baddies lined up where cleave might be useful...

PC attacks baddie#1 rolls hit
PC attacks baddie#2 (this is via cleave no reason to declare it!)

The PC took the feat to use it not to go arounnd saying "cleave attempt" or other such nonsense......

Same situation but say that illusion magic is involved and you are having players must "declare cleave".
PC Cleaves rock #1 and must now cleave rock #2
No choice no option you declared it!!!


KenderKin wrote:

Once more with feeling....

You have two baddies lined up where cleave might be useful...

PC attacks baddie#1 rolls hit
PC attacks baddie#2 (this is via cleave no reason to declare it!)

The PC took the feat to use it not to go arounnd saying "cleave attempt" or other such nonsense......

Same situation but say that illusion magic is involved and you are having players must "declare cleave".
PC Cleaves rock #1 and must now cleave rock #2
No choice no option you declared it!!!

Generally as a DM I appreciate the players actually saying what their characters are doing rather then making me guess.

Grand Lodge

KenderKin wrote:

The PC took the feat to use it not to go arounnd saying "cleave attempt" or other such nonsense......

My point is that the -2 penalty and the standard action is the cost for using the feat. What I have seen in this thread is 'you don't have to declare you're using the cleave, so if you miss your cleave attack you can just full attack'.

The price you pay for using the feat is not being able to full attack. If you miss your Cleave attempt, you don't get to try a full attack instead. The feat does not work that way.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
wraithstrike wrote:
To build upon this further when you elected to cleave you took a standard, so now you only have a move action, and a free action left.

...And now we've come full circle.

KenderKin wrote:

Once more with feeling....

You have two baddies lined up where cleave might be useful...

PC attacks baddie#1 rolls hit
PC attacks baddie#2 (this is via cleave no reason to declare it!)

The PC took the feat to use it not to go arounnd saying "cleave attempt" or other such nonsense......

Same situation but say that illusion magic is involved and you are having players must "declare cleave".
PC Cleaves rock #1 and must now cleave rock #2
No choice no option you declared it!!!

That's fine. After all you wouldn't want to cleave into guy #2 if he had, say, put up a fire shield with a prepared action for when he got attacked.

That still doesn't mean you can forgo the attack on the second guy for the sole purpose of being able to make a full attack after having started the cleave process (that's against the rules).


Ravingdork wrote:


That still doesn't mean you can forgo the attack on the second guy for the sole purpose of being able to make a full attack after having started the cleave process (that's against the rules).

I'm sorry, what's the 'cleave process' and how does it begin?

I don't believe that you need to declare any more than what you've done up to the point that you're at.

You don't need to say you are full attacking with a longsword for example, but rather you make one attack with the longsword then can decide to continue with it, or to drop it & quickdraw a different weapon with which to continue, or to move away even.

-James

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:


That still doesn't mean you can forgo the attack on the second guy for the sole purpose of being able to make a full attack after having started the cleave process (that's against the rules).
I'm sorry, what's the 'cleave process' and how does it begin?

You take a Standard Action to Cleave and gain a -2 penalty to AC.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
james maissen wrote:

I don't believe that you need to declare any more than what you've done up to the point that you're at.

You don't need to say you are full attacking with a longsword for example, but rather you make one attack with the longsword then can decide to continue with it, or to drop it & quickdraw a different weapon with which to continue, or to move away even.

-James

I agree. You don't have to declare anything more than what you've done up to the point that you're at--though I can see some groups playing it differently in order to speed things up (such as declaring all actions at the start of the turn). Neither play style is wrong, as both are perfectly within the rules of the game.

As for not declaring a full attack in advance? Of course you don't have to do so. The rules specifically allow for that. That doesn't mean that, that rule applies anywhere else, however. That seems to be where people are messing up rules-wise--they are trying to apply a rule (not declaring a full attack until after the first attack) in the wrong place (cleave).

I'd answer your question, but Tri beat me to the answer (and said what I would have).


Ravingdork wrote:

I'd answer your question, but Tri beat me to the answer (and said what I would have).

And that's where we disagree.

-James

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

I'd answer your question, but Tri beat me to the answer (and said what I would have).

And that's where we disagree.

-James

You disagree that you must take a Standard Action to use Cleave?


TriOmegaZero wrote:


You disagree that you must take a Standard Action to use Cleave?

Don't be obtuse.

I believe, as I've said numerous times, that one can have their PC make a normal attack and elect to take a -2 to their AC.

Afterwards they can decide if that was part of a full attack action, a cleave action or a standard attack action by their subsequent choices.

-James

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:

Don't be obtuse.

I believe, as I've said numerous times, that one can have their PC make a normal attack and elect to take a -2 to their AC.

Afterwards they can decide if that was part of a full attack action, a cleave action or a standard attack action by their subsequent choices.

-James

Thank you for clarifying your opaque statement. Thus I can state that your proposition of taking a -2 to AC is not covered by the rules, and is a houserule.

The problem I see with allowing players to take this action is, as I stated earlier, removing the risk of a character missing his Cleave and losing his ability to full attack. In every case he will either hit and Cleave, or miss and full attack. Never miss and have to take a move action.

This is against the letter of the rules on Cleave. A better writing of the feat to accomplish what you want would be this.

Benefit wrote:
As a part of a full attack action, you can take a –2 penalty to your Armor Class until your next turn. If you hit with any of your normal attacks, you can make an additional attack (using your full base attack bonus) against a foe that is adjacent to the first and also within reach. You can only make one additional attack per round with this feat.

Or just remove the -2 to AC, since that seems to be what you are trying to accomplish from my reading of your posts.


TriOmegaZero wrote:

Thus I can state that your proposition of taking a -2 to AC is not covered by the rules, and is a houserule.

I disagree again.

Apply your same logic to the -2 to attack from a TWF routine that gets turned into a standard action single attack.

In retrospect it is a single attack that shouldn't have the -2 to hit attached to it.

This should be problematic to your viewpoint if you stare at it long enough.

-James

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:

I disagree again.

Apply your same logic to the -2 to attack from a TWF routine that gets turned into a standard action single attack.

In retrospect it is a single attack that shouldn't have the -2 to hit attached to it.

This should be problematic to your viewpoint if you stare at it long enough.

-James

I state that the -2 to AC is a houserule because the only other way to take a -2 to AC willingly is from the Charge action.

In either event, to take that -2 to AC requires a Standard Action, and lasts for the round.

TWF is different in that the penalty only occurs during the action. It and the Full Attack action have specific rules allowing you to change the action into another one. Cleave does not.

What I see you trying to say is that according to the rules, you can try to Cleave, and if you fail, take a Full Attack action. However, the rules say that you can either Cleave, or Full Attack.

You cannot Cleave and then Full Attack because the first is a Standard Action, and the second a Full Attack Action, which cannot be combined.

You can turn a Full Attack action into a Standard, but you cannot turn a Standard into a Full Attack.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Tri is correct. If I can elect to take that -2 penalty after I have made my initial attack (which, for example, was something that provokes) then suddenly I am getting away with a higher armor class against the attack of opportunity despite the fact that I'll still have the option of using cleave (under your interpretation at least).

That's not the way the rules work. The moment you begin the action you need to be absolutely clear as to what that action is (and then benefit/suffer from whatever said action entails). The only exception to this is deciding not to take a full attack and instead do something else. Even then, the rules are strict and clear--you cannot change your mind after making more than one attack.


james maissen wrote:
TriOmegaZero wrote:


You disagree that you must take a Standard Action to use Cleave?

Don't be obtuse.

I believe, as I've said numerous times, that one can have their PC make a normal attack and elect to take a -2 to their AC.

Afterwards they can decide if that was part of a full attack action, a cleave action or a standard attack action by their subsequent choices.

-James

The cleave causes the -2 to AC. The penalty to AC does not cause cleave. The book even says the penalty is a result of cleave. When you agree to use the feat the -2 comes into play at that time.

From the PRD
.....
Benefit: As a standard action, you can make a single attack at your full base attack bonus against a foe within reach. If you hit, you deal damage normally and can make an additional attack (using your full base attack bonus) against a foe that is adjacent to the first and also within reach. You can only make one additional attack per round with this feat. When you use this feat, you take a –2 penalty to your Armor Class until your next turn.


There is nothing in the rules that states you can elect to take an arbitrary penalty to an arbitrary statistic at an arbitrary time. It's certainly a viable house rule, but it is a house rule. Doing things that aren't allowed by the rules are generally called that. And yes, that means going to the bathroom is a house rule. Thank God.

Therefore, the only way you can take a -2 AC penalty and make a standard action attack is by using the Cleave feat. Therefore, you have already declared Cleave; there's no option to say "psyche! I was just taking the penalty for no good reason, I totally wasn't Cleaving". You have taken a -2 penalty to AC for making a standard action attack == you are Cleaving.

---

BTW, I think certain people really need to read the Full Attack rules just a liiiiiittle more closely. The option to downgrade a full attack from a full-round action to a standard action is just that: the option to downgrade a Full Attack, which has already been declared, to a standard action. Actually, to be even more technical, it's the option to take an extra move action even though you've used a full-round action already by forgoing your attacks beyond the first (but that's very pedantic). You do not have the option to upgrade a standard action to a full attack. It's a one-way street.

Scarab Sages

TriOmegaZero wrote:
Masika wrote:
Magicdealer wrote:

cleave says "If you hit, you deal damage normally and CAN make an additional attack..."

Not *must*, but *can*. Meaning you can make your first attack, drop the baddie, and either take your cleave attack or end your standard action used for cleave.

Or you can continue on with a full attack action.

So is this arguement over yet?

Nope.

You can't continue to take a full attack if you took a cleave.

Yeap that is correct. I took the comment I was reading out of context... I lost track of this thread as it goes around and around - confusing.

Grand Lodge

Masika wrote:
Yeap that is correct. I took the comment I was reading out of context... I lost track of this thread as it goes around and around - confusing.

I like chasing my tail. Sometimes tho, I end up chasing other peoples tail.


Ravingdork wrote:

If I can elect to take that -2 penalty after I have made my initial attack

WHO IS SUGGESTING THIS?

You bring this up as a problem, yet you're the only person suggesting that this is the case.

I'm certainly not suggesting it, so who is?

Ravingdork wrote:


The moment you begin the action you need to be absolutely clear as to what that action is

Where does it say that you have to do this? That is "I spend a standard action to do X" rather than "I do X".

When you 'declare movement' do you spell out where you are going to move?

Where exactly does it say that you 'declare' actions rather than saying what your character is going to do?

I'm going to have my PC make an attack against foe X and I'll take a -2 to hit (for the action) and -2 to AC (for the round) when doing so, there's nothing wrong with that.

Then after that attack I then say what else the PC will be doing. Now the DM can say I fail to do something, need to make a check in order to do it, or that I can't do that much in the round.. but those are all based upon what the PC has done up to that point.

Zurai wrote:


I think certain people really need to read the Full Attack rules just a liiiiiittle more closely. The option to downgrade a full attack from a full-round action to a standard action is just that: the option to downgrade a Full Attack, which has already been declared, to a standard action.

I'm failing to find where it says that the full attack has been declared. Where is that?

What I see is:

PF SRD wrote:


Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack: After your first attack, you can decide to take a move action instead of making your remaining attacks, depending on how the first attack turns out and assuming you have not already taken a move action this round.

I don't see 'downgrading a full attack to a standard attack' rather I see 'deciding between' them.

Now my way of reading 3.5 (and now PF) is not most people's first read of the rules. To try to write them down coherently would prove difficult and I can see a game rule book moving away from trying it. Yet it does seem consistent with what is there.

-James

Grand Lodge

james maissen wrote:


I'm failing to find where it says that the full attack has been declared. Where is that?

What I see is:

PF SRD wrote:


Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack: After your first attack, you can decide to take a move action instead of making your remaining attacks, depending on how the first attack turns out and assuming you have not already taken a move action this round.
I don't see 'downgrading a full attack to a standard attack' rather I see 'deciding between' them.

Because you're deciding between 'your remaining attacks' and 'a move action'.

You can only HAVE 'remaining attacks' if you are using a full attack action. If you make a standard action attack, you cannot make a full attack, because you cannot take a standard action and a full round action in the same round.

201 to 250 of 431 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Declaring Cleave All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.