Infernal Bleed multiples?


Rules Questions


I am going to be running an encounter with a Bearded Devil and am wondering whether the Infernal Bleed ability stacks every time the BD hits with the glaive or is it just one general bleed at the end of the round. (for 2 points total).
If it is just a single bleed what if there is multiple BDs, is there a separate bleed for each one?


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber

In my campaign I've ruled that they stack and a separate caster level check is required to heal each one.


Id rule each hit is a separate bleeding wound.


This is sort of pedantic (and what RAW ruling isn't?), but the description of the ability mentions that the caster level check stops "all bleed effects". It is plural, so it implies that the bleed effects stack, however, it only takes one caster level check to stanch them.


I thought bleed effects of the same type didn't stack but overlapped.

So if you get 1 hp bleed, 2 hp bleed, and 1 con bleed, you'd take 2 hp and 2 con bleed.

Dark Archive

Hmmm... It's not mentioned in 'Universal Monster Rules'. However, the rogue's 'Bleed' ability does not stack with itself, so it would indicate that the same applies to monster abilities, too.


The rogue's bleeding attack specifically mentions that it does not stack with itself, so it could be seen that this is an exception. Infernal bleed does not. It's not clear though, so it's sort of up to Rule Zero unless one of the designers wants to drop in and make their intent known.


So no real consensus on what happens here. Anyone else have any experience running Bearded Devils? What did you do?


I ran a pair of bearded devils against a group of level 5 PCs. I made the bleed stack and it worked just fine for me. Only one of the devils really got to use his glaive, though. The other had his glaive sundered immediately and fought with his claws and beard.


The Bleed Rules would apply here:

(Page 565 Core Rule Book)

Quote:
Bleed: A creature that is taking bleed damage takes the listed amount of damage at the beginning of its turn. Bleeding can be stopped by a DC 15 Heal check or through the application of any spell that cures hit point damage (even if the bleed is ability damage). Some bleed effects cause ability damage or even ability drain. Bleed effects do not stack with each other unless they deal different kinds of damage. When two or more bleed effects deal the same kind of damage, take the worse effect. In this case, ability drain is worse than ability damage.

The devil's bleed doesn't stack with itself.

The "effects" in reference to barbed devil's ability means that if a creature happens to have an ability damage/drain bleed as well, that the successful caster level check allows the healing spell to wipe the infernal wound and the ability bleed as normal. On a failed caster check the healing spell fails to remove the Infernal Wound and only the ability drain would be staunched.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Infernal Bleed multiples? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions