Can you apply a Metamagic feat to a spell in a Wand during creation?


Rules Questions


Could I do the following for example:

Spell: Magic Missile (level 1)
Feat: Empower (+2 levels)

Price: 750gp x Caster Level x Spell Level
750gp x 5 x 3 =
3,750gp x 3 =
11,250gp

Cost: 1/2 price
11,250gp / 2 =
5,625gp

So for 12 days I memorize Magic Missile (Empowered) in a 3rd level spell slot.

Damage: (3d4 x 1.5) + 3 (Min: 7; Avg: 13; Max: 21)

Is this correct or possible?


It is my understanding that you can apply metamagic to a spell before you wand it. As long as the adjusted spell level does not exceed the cap, then it works. You would need to be able to cast magic missile, have the Empower metamagic feat and be able to craft wands.

Grand Lodge

That's my understanding as well. Though in the case you cited, I think a 9th level non-Empowered wand of magic missiles would be more cost effective, with a higher average damage and lower overall cost.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you apply a Metamagic feat to a spell in a Wand during creation? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions