| angryscrub |
let's say tenth level half orc rogue wielding a falchion is flanking an enemy. rogue has minor magic (acid splash) and took quicken spell like ability as tenth level talent.
rogue does full attack, all falchion strikes count as sneak attacks. if she also casts quickened acid splash, would that count as sneak attack?
| ryathas ruyonin-shar |
let's say tenth level half orc rogue wielding a falchion is flanking an enemy. rogue has minor magic (acid splash) and took quicken spell like ability as tenth level talent.
rogue does full attack, all falchion strikes count as sneak attacks. if she also casts quickened acid splash, would that count as sneak attack?
As long as the target does not have improved uncanny dodge, it will count, but I think the rogue opens up an attack of opportunity on herself if she is able to even cast acid splash, because the quicken spell feat requires you to use 4 higher slots for the spell you are casting.
| Scipion del Ferro RPG Superstar 2011 Top 4 |
Unless they're using the feat Sudden Quicken from Complete Arcana. In that case yes, you could cast it in that same round and it would get the Sneak Attack damage as acid splash is a ranged touch attack that deals damage.
Do look out for the AoO though, casting defensively would probably be tricky for the rogue.
| TheDrone |
TheDrone wrote:This is correct as I understand it. It would work with a Range: Touch quickened spell though.Touchy!
I would say no as a ranged attack cannot cause, or benefit from, flanking.
If it's a range, it cannot benefit from flanking right? If you had other conditional modifiers that granted sneak attack (flat-footed, etc.) then you could get it from this spell, or a melee touch attack, but not from a ranged touch attack. Even using a ranged touch attack in melee.
| Remco Sommeling |
the quicken spell-like ability feat from the beastiary does work, it is even pathfinder core ;)
anyway, yes you need to catch your opponent flatfooted, greater feint might help with that though, can even get a normal sneak attack in.
swift spells do not provoke attack of opportunity, technically it is a ranged attack I suppose, but I dont think it is supposed to.
| Scipion del Ferro RPG Superstar 2011 Top 4 |
the quicken spell-like ability feat from the beastiary does work, it is even pathfinder core ;)
anyway, yes you need to catch your opponent flatfooted, greater feint might help with that though, can even get a normal sneak attack in.
swift spells do not provoke attack of opportunity, technically it is a ranged attack I suppose, but I dont think it is supposed to.
Doesn't it evoke an AoO from being a ranged attack or is that only with ranged weapons?
| Father Dale |
Flanking works with all melee attacks only. p. 197 CRB
This would include melee touch attacks such as shocking grasp but not ranged touch attacks such as acid splash.
A rogue's attacks will do extra sneak attack damage if the rogue is flanking the target or if the target is denied its Dexterity bonus to AC against the rogue's attack. Note the very fine distinction between "flat-footed" and "denied Dexterity to AC." A creature can be flat-footed but not denied its dex bonus to AC, such as a barbarian with uncanny dodge. A creature can be denied its Dexterity bonus for a number of other reasons aside from just being flat-footed: being paralyzed, helpless, stunned, running without the run feat, balancing with the Acrobatics skill, climbing (unless the target has a climb speed), cowering, unable to see the attacker (unless the target has uncanny dodge or blind-fight), pinned in a grapple, and probably a few more I haven't thought of. If the target is denied its dex bonus to AC, then any of the rogues attacks that do damage will do sneak attack damage so long as the target is within 30' of the rogue. This would include damage from spells that require attack rolls, such as vampiric touch, scorching ray, and even Enervation and the Poison spell (but not spells that impose a penalty instead of doing damage such as Ray of Enfeeblement). Also, splash weapons such as an acid flask cannot be used to deal sneak attack damage. p. 202 CRB.
| Mynameisjake |
Remco Sommeling wrote:Doesn't it evoke an AoO from being a ranged attack or is that only with ranged weapons?the quicken spell-like ability feat from the beastiary does work, it is even pathfinder core ;)
anyway, yes you need to catch your opponent flatfooted, greater feint might help with that though, can even get a normal sneak attack in.
swift spells do not provoke attack of opportunity, technically it is a ranged attack I suppose, but I dont think it is supposed to.
Yes, it provokes, even when quickened. Which is silly. But true.
| Luei |
Scipion del Ferro wrote:Doesn't it evoke an AoO from being a ranged attack or is that only with ranged weapons?Yes, it provokes, even when quickened. Which is silly. But true.
No, no, no. According to the Quicken Spell metamagic feat you dont provoke AoO from Quickened spells. I'll assume that quickened spell-like abilities work the exact same way.
According to the rules, TECHNICALLY, no the acid splash wouldn't be a sneak attack, since it's not a melee attack and therefore wouldn't count as a flanking attack. However, I as a DM would allow it, since the flanked character is obviously still threatened by the big bad orc wielding a falchion, and might have already taken a hit from him. I'd even give the attack the flanking bonus. True, for a ranged attack, he would likely back off a little (still withing his own 5-foot square, I'm just speaking hypotheticals), but he doesn't have to. Either way, the attack doesn't provoke an AoO. I'd rule that melee-range ranged attcks still flank, since you are still an obvious threat.
| Darkwolf |
I thought sneak attack spells weren't allowed for rogues. That's why Arcane Tricksters get the ability to sneak attack with spells at, I think, 10th level. Why would they have this if rogues already did?
Not exactly. The ability Arcane Trixters get at 10 allows sneakattack dice with any spell that deals damage as long as the target is flatfooted. Think of an invisible AT casting fireball into a crowd of enemies. Ouch.
Any rogue can sneak attack with damage dealing spells that require an attack roll.
| Luei |
Any rogue can sneak attack with damage dealing spells that require an attack roll.
Yeah, it's nowhere in the rules, but in a 3.5 FAQ thing, the writer clarified that attacks like ranged touch attacks and melee touch attacks can still get sneak attack. It's pretty awesome. He just has to have a spell that requires an attack roll and deals some sort of damage (even stat damage) to sneak attack with it.
| Mynameisjake |
Mynameisjake wrote:Scipion del Ferro wrote:Doesn't it evoke an AoO from being a ranged attack or is that only with ranged weapons?Yes, it provokes, even when quickened. Which is silly. But true.No, no, no. According to the Quicken Spell metamagic feat you dont provoke AoO from Quickened spells. I'll assume that quickened spell-like abilities work the exact same way.
Yes, yes, yes. While I agree with you that they shouldn't, I'm afraid you're wrong about that. In PF all ranged attacks provoke, no matter what their source.
From Email exchange with Paizo:
Question: The Pathfinder ruleset very clearly states that making a Ranged Touch Attack triggers an Attack of Opportunity even if the spell that grants the attack is successfully cast defensively. Does the same apply if the spell is Quickened?
Answer: The Quicken Spell feat changes the casting time, but has no other effect on the casting of the spell.
Hope that helps,
Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing
Again, I think it's silly that a spell can be cast so quickly that an opponent can't react to it, but that part of the spell, the targeting, can still trigger an AoO. But that's the rule.
| angryscrub |
..snip..
From Email exchange with Paizo:Quote:Again, I think it's silly that a spell can be cast so quickly that an opponent can't react to it, but that part of the spell, the targeting, can still trigger an AoO. But that's the rule.Question: The Pathfinder ruleset very clearly states that making a Ranged Touch Attack triggers an Attack of Opportunity even if the spell that grants the attack is successfully cast defensively. Does the same apply if the spell is Quickened?
Answer: The Quicken Spell feat changes the casting time, but has no other effect on the casting of the spell.
Hope that helps,
Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing
but, but, what? that is ridiculous and totally goes against what the feat itself states. when was this email exchange?
| Slatz Grubnik |
if she also casts quickened acid splash, would that count as sneak attack?
No, as acid splash is a ranged touch spell. Ranged weapons do not threaten any squares, thus do not flank. No flank = no sneak attack.
Also: Quickening it makes it a swift action that does not provoke AoO, as it specifically states in both the Quicken Spell and Quicken Spell-like Ability feats.
| Mynameisjake |
@angry: Last month.
angryscrub wrote:if she also casts quickened acid splash, would that count as sneak attack?No, as acid splash is a ranged touch spell. Ranged weapons do not threaten any squares, thus do not flank. No flank = no sneak attack.
Also: Quickening it makes it a swift action that does not provoke AoO, as it specifically states in both the Quicken Spell and Quicken Spell-like Ability feats.
Casting doesn't provoke. Making a ranged attack does. Always.
Hey, I don't like it either, so I house ruled it. But it's still a house rule. Officially, any ranged attack, no matter what the source, even a quickened spell, provokes.
| Luei |
Casting doesn't provoke. Making a ranged attack does. Always.Hey, I don't like it either, so I house ruled it. But it's still a house rule. Officially, any ranged attack, no matter what the source, even a quickened spell, provokes.
ooh. I kinda see the reasoning behind it now. It comes from ranged at melée. But thy still seems ridiculous that they'd do that, since almost all AoO against spellcatsing are at melée range anyways, so that part of the quickened spell feats description is pretty much useless it would seem. I find thy silly. I will house rule it too.
| james maissen |
Mynameisjake wrote:ooh. I kinda see the reasoning behind it now. It comes from ranged at melée. But thy still seems ridiculous that they'd do that, since almost all AoO against spellcatsing are at melée range anyways, so that part of the quickened spell feats description is pretty much useless it would seem. I find thy silly. I will house rule it too.
Casting doesn't provoke. Making a ranged attack does. Always.Hey, I don't like it either, so I house ruled it. But it's still a house rule. Officially, any ranged attack, no matter what the source, even a quickened spell, provokes.
Well consider the following:
PCs 1 & 2 are being threatened by a monster.
PC 1 shoots it with a bow. This provokes an AOO. The monster takes it and misses.
PC 1 fires again. This also provokes an AOO. The monster takes it (proving it has combat reflexes).
PC 2 casts a spell defensively. They succeed. That doesn't provoke an AOO. But now the spell they cast has them aiming/firing into melee. They suffer all the penalties for doing so, including provoking an AOO from the monster above. The monster has a 14 or higher DEX, takes his AOO and hits. Because the PC is making the ranged attack rather than casting it doesn't disrupt the spell, but does hurt them before they finish shooting.
-James
| Mynameisjake |
Well, I've never agreed with ranged touch attacks provoking at all.
But what the rules seem to be indicating is that the targeting of the spell takes the same amount of time whether the spell is quickened or not. It's the casting of the spell that is shortened. Instead of mumble, mumble, mumble point, it's mum-point. Which I can live with.
Originally, I house ruled that quickened doesn't provoke. It makes things move a little smoother in my opinion, but I may go back to the RAW for a few sessions to see how things go. Getting two spells off in the same round is a pretty big benefit, so risking an AoO may be an appropriate limitation.
The two AoO situation is one of the reasons I don't like the ranged touch attack provokes rule. In 3.5 I played that a concentration check avoided an AoO, which was one roll, then maybe a second if the concentration check failed. With the new rules you need con check, optional AoO, then mandatory AoO. Not a big slow down, but every little bit hurts.