| Ben Adler |
First off the 3.5 FAQ is meaningless, 2nd. You make the attack like a bash, it never calls it a bash. It states the spike must be enhanced like a weapon, the bashing enhancement is not a weapon enhancement and so does not effect the spikeBashing is a bludgeoning attack, not a slice , not a stab, it's bashing. You do not bash with a dagger, you do not bash with a longsword. The spike attack is handled like a bash{as it's mounted on a shield" but is not a bash, which is a bludgeoning attack
You're getting confused.
The text you're referencing actually reads:An enhancement bonus on a spiked shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but a spiked shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right.
Note it says enhancement bonus, it says nothing about magical properties not affecting the shield when used as a weapon.
Additionally Shield spikes are an addition (like masterwork, or a special material), so a heavy spiked shield is still a heavy shield.
The text for shield spikes reads:
These spikes turn a shield into a martial piercing weapon and increase the damage dealt by a shield bash as if the shield were designed for a creature one size category larger than you (see “spiked shields” on Table: Weapons). You can't put spikes on a buckler or a tower shield. Otherwise, attacking with a spiked shield is like making a shield bash attack.
If you pay close attention to the wording I think it's pretty clear that they do combine, and give you a 3-size increase in damage.
| Maezer |
Bashing is a bludgeoning attack, not a slice , not a stab, it's bashing. You do not bash with a dagger, you do not bash with a longsword. The spike attack is handled like a bash{as it's mounted on a shield" but is not a bash, which is a bludgeoning attack
Sorry. I guess the page reference wasn't enough. Here is the quote from the Pathfinder core rulebook.
Spiked Shield, Heavy or Light: You can bash with a spiked shield instead of using it for defense. See page 152 for details.
That seems explicitly clear that you can bash with a spiked shield. But of course as I said, there is no moving the entrenched camps on this issue.
| seekerofshadowlight |
So you spike now does bludgeon damage? Not buying it, the bash enhancement does not improve the spike, as the spike entry states it must be enhanced on it's on
Also it's says "like" making a shield bash, meaning you attack the same way. Not like say a dagger, also under shield bash again it says it may be enchanted as a weapon. The spike and shield are two different items, it covers that under spikes. You can enhance one without doing the other
So until the books says they stack, no they do not stack. Unless bashing does piercing damage now.
| Ben Adler |
So you spike now does bludgeon damage? Not buying it, the bash enhancement does not improve the spike, as the spike entry states it must be enhanced on it's on
Also it's says "like" making a shield bash, meaning you attack the same way. Not like say a dagger, also under shield bash again it says it may be enchanted as a weapon. The spike and shield are two different items, it covers that under spikes. You can enhance one without doing the other
So until the books says they stack, no they do not stack. Unless bashing does piercing damage now.
Bludgeoning damage =/= bash attack, the two are separate terms and are largely unrelated.
The Bashing enchantment improved the Bash Damage of the shield by 2 sizes.
The Spikes add-on improves the Bash Damage of the shield by 1 size.
Note the similarity?
Btw the text you keep referencing:
An enhancement bonus on a spiked shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but a spiked shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right.
If it prevented bashing from affecting a spiked shield's damage, then this text from the shield entry would similarly prevent bashing from working on a non-spiked shield:
An enhancement bonus on a shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but the shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right.
That same text is found on the descriptions of heavy and light shields, so your assumption that it singles out spiked shields is fallacious.
Until the book says they don't stack, then they do.
| seekerofshadowlight |
Nope as the book points out the spike must be enhanced by it's self. The shield and spike are not the same item. As the spike my be enhanced as a weapon, without doing so to the shield.
Your spike replaces the shield bash damage. Your spike may be enhanced,BUT the bashing enhancement is an armor enhancement, it can not be placed on the spike as is is not a weapon enhancement.
So you enhance the shield, which now is better then the spike, so it does damage,not the spike. If they stack then so does adding a short sword to my long sword should as well.
| Ben Adler |
Nope as the book points out the spike must be enhanced by it's self. The shield and spike are not the same item. As the spike my be enhanced as a weapon, without doing so to the shield.
Your spike replaces the shield bash damage. Your spike may be enhanced,BUT the bashing enhancement is an armor enhancement, it can not be placed on the spike as is is not a weapon enhancement.
So you enhance the shield, which now is better then the spike, so it does damage,not the spike. If they stack then so does adding a short sword to my long sword should as well.
I think you're misinterpreting or mixing up some of the vocabulary used.
Enhancement: a type of bonus, the numerical bonus of a magic weapon is an enhancement bonus. A +3 bashing shield has a +3 enhancement bonus, the bashing is not an enhancement bonus, it is a "special Ability", thus the text "An enhancement bonus on a shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it" is referring to the numerical bonus on to-hit and damage, not to any other properties of the item.
The spikes do not replace the shield bash damage of the shield, as the book states they "increase the damage dealt by a shield bash as if the shield were designed for a creature one size category larger than you". This is quite clearly a modification, not a replacement.
All the book states is that a shield's enhancement bonus is a bonus to your AC only unless you enchant the shield as a weapon. It's to clarify that though you can enchant a shield as a +3 shield, and/or a +3 weapon, both magical enhancement bonuses are tracked separately, do not stack, and do not apply to the same things.
| Aelryinth RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16 |
Agreed. This has been hashed out and defined by 3.5 rules.
Spikes modify a Shield Bash. You enhance them seperately as a weapon because standard Shield Enhancements only affect AC. A +3 Shield is not a +3 Weapon.
I'll posit to you all the standard Uber Shield: +5 Bashing with +5 Defending Shield SPikes and an Augment Gem of Missile Deflection. With Shield Spec/Mastery/Ward in place, a Heavy Shield used on the defense provides +13 to your Touch AC, deflects the first ranged attack against you, and provides +18 Touch AC against all other ranged attacks.
Cost? 108,000 gp + Augment Gem.
Also, taking the Agile Shield Fighter Augment reduces your off hand penalty for any shield being used to bash down to -2.
===Aelryinth
| Maezer |
Nope as the book points out the spike must be enhanced by it's self. The shield and spike are not the same item. As the spike my be enhanced as a weapon, without doing so to the shield.
I disagree with you here as well. Nowhere do I see the book say you can enchant the spike on a shield seperately from the shield.
An enhancement bonus on a spiked shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but a spiked shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right.
If you look you will notice that they used the very similar language to describe a (standard) shield. (I guess I'll quote it for good measure).
An enhancement bonus on a shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but the shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right.
You can enchant the "Spiked Shield" or a (standard) "Shield" as a shield thereby giving it armor/shield special abilities. Or you can enchant the "Spiked Shield"/(standard) "Shield" as a weapon giving it weapon special abilities.
The spiked shield is all one item. Its not two individual magic items. You cannot attempt to sunder/disarm the spikes and not the shield or vice versa. Spiked is an adjective to describe a specific type/design of a shield not a noun unto itself when used in this fashion.
| Skylancer4 |
Nope as the book points out the spike must be enhanced by it's self. The shield and spike are not the same item. As the spike my be enhanced as a weapon, without doing so to the shield.
...
Your spike replaces the shield bash damage. Your spike may be enhanced,BUT the bashing enhancement is an armor enhancement, it can not be placed on the spike as is is not a weapon enhancement.
...
So you enhance the shield, which now is better then the spike, so it does damage,not the spike. If they stack then so does adding a short sword to my long sword should as well.
&&&&&
You'll have to agree to disagree then because unless I get a statement that say it stacks, it does not
You added a enhancement to the shield, not the spike. They do not stack, they do not even do the same damage type. But you can do what you want in your game.
Honestly at this point you are just being argumentative. You don't like it, we get it. Given that you are trying to rationalize the game rules with "real world" situations that mean absolutely nothing to the game itself, its a given you won't see otherwise, we get that too. Despite that, the rules say otherwise and don't follow your rationale on this. So you go ahead with your house rules while I will happily play with the rules as given and base my decisions on what is written in the book, thanks for your permission.
Bashing: A shield with this special ability is designed to perform a shield bash. A bashing shield deals damage as if it were a weapon of two size categories larger (a Medium light shield thus deals 1d6 points of damage and a medium heavy shield deals 1d8 points of damage). The shield acts as a +1 weapon when used to bash. Only light and heavy shields can have this ability.
Please note, "a shield" - not only a plain shield, not only a spiked shield - any shield with this property gets these attributes. Those attributes being 1) Damage done as if it were 2 sizes larger a weapon and 2) Acts as if it were a +1 weapon. Basically its a template, imagine that. You take the "base item" and add those attributes, doesn't matter if it was a regular shield or a spiked shield, if it does blunt or piercing damage. The enhancement doesn't change that. You'd go to the items listing in the weapons section (table 6-4), find the shield you are adding the enhancement to and then make the appropriate changes to the damage. They are even differing types of size increase, one is type "shield spike" the other is type "bashing enhancement" so the rules for stacking don't even kick in. When you make a shield bash normally you do the same thing, go to the table and figure out which set of attributes you use (which shield and then whether it is a spiked shield or not), you're argument that a shield spike somehow isn't a shield bash is just plain ridiculous. The entry of the shield spike says it is, the RULES say it is despite what you decide on using in your game:
Shield Spikes: These spikes turn a shield into a martial piercing weapon and increase the damage dealt by a shield bash as if the shield were designed for a creature one size category larger than you (see “spiked shields” on Table 6–4).
For a spiked shield that has the spike enhanced as well things aren't all that complicate either. We'll continue with a base of a +1 Bashing medium spiked heavy shield and make it a +1 Bashing medium spiked heavy shield (+2 flaming spike). That is a 22k gp (4k+18k) item before counting in the masterwork shield and shield spike. So before going on about how much damage is being done in comparison to the greatsword, take into account that is almost 45k gold to do what a dual wielding greatsword combatant could do with basically 2 regular greatswords. Of course this ignoring the fact that the shield slam is stated specifically to be an off hand attack in the rules and that doing dual shields ends up being more complicated than just the shield feats and physical shields themselves (there is another thread on that someplace around here) in order to get a shield used as a main hand attack. When making an attack with this particular shield you'd lose the AC of a +1 heavy shield (unless you had the feat & shield spike doesn't make a difference here) and you would get a +2 to hit and damage (the effective +1 of the Bashing enhancement is overwritten by the +2 weapon enhancement of the shield spike) and would have a base damage of 2d6 (medium 1d6 ->1d8->2d6) piercing and 1d6 fired damage. As a spiked shield the base damage is piercing so that would be what is increased. For a "plain" shield it would be blunt.
Work is done, time to go enjoy the New Year, have fun everyone!
| seekerofshadowlight |
[
Honestly at this point you are just being argumentative.
Says the man, who wont let it go. I got it y'all read the rules and look at them a different way. We do not agree on how each other sees a rule.
You can run it how you want, but you have no more "proof" then I do on how it works. All you got is how you choose to interrupt the rule
I said my peace and was willing to let it go, not every one agrees on every rule interruption. In the end it's a GM's call. I'm not your'n and your not mine, so it's a moot point to argue with you over what neither of us is gonna change are mind on.
| northbrb |
A shield bash refers to the way in which you hit a person with your shield, adding a spike does not alter the way you hit them it simply increases the effectiveness.
When you perform a shield bash what ever enhancements that add to attack or damage would stack since all damage dealing parts of the shield would hit in the same manor.
| RamboJesus |
Anyone who says that shield bashing with a spiked shield that has the bashing special ability doesn't do damage as though it was three size categories larger is just plain silly. I shall explain my thought process in two ways with the rules as written and the quote "logic" behind it.
Okay. First we have the bashing special ability that says when the shield uses its shield bash it deals damage as though it were two size categories larger? Alright that is simple enough right? a 1d4 damage shield bash with a heavy shield now does 1d8. Alright now lets say we wanna put some shield spikes on this bad boy, we can do it. Shield spikes say that they and I quote directly from the book (pg 153.) "Increase damage dealt by a shield bash as if the shield were designed for a creature one size category larger than you." from this we can surmise that a heavy shield that once did a unimpressive 1d4 dmg now does a still unimpressive 1d6 dmg, but hey whats this? My shield strikes as though it were THREE size categories larger now hey that 1d4 dmg is now a whopping 2d6 damage ALRIGHT! WOOOOH WHOOOOO!
Part Two: Logic. The logical explanation behind what the bashing special ability is that it makes you strike with a much greater momentum than what your character could otherwise do. Meaning it makes you hit a lot harder. Now shield spikes. What spikes do is rather simple they poke things, and logic would dictate that the harder you poke something the more damage its going to do to it. Here lets think you get poked in the chest with a quarterstaff, you think hey that s++! hurts! Yeah it does trust me I know. Then you think HEY! lets attach a pointy thing to it! YEAH NOW IT WILL MESS SOME STUFF UP! then when you get poked in the chest with that pointy stick you DIE! so tell me how attaching spikes to a shield that hits even harder than normal wouldnt do more damage?
Robert Brambley
|
seekerofshadowlight wrote:Nope as the book points out the spike must be enhanced by it's self. The shield and spike are not the same item. As the spike my be enhanced as a weapon, without doing so to the shield.
I disagree with you here as well. Nowhere do I see the book say you can enchant the spike on a shield seperately from the shield.
Pg 462 Core Rules
"Shields: Shield enhancement bonuses stack with armor
enhancement bonuses. Shield enhancement bonuses do not act as attack or damage bonuses when the shield is used
in a shield bash. The bashing special ability, however, does
grant a +1 bonus on attack and damage rolls (see the special
ability description).
A shield could be built that also acted as a magic weapon,
but the cost of the enhancement bonus on attack rolls
would need to be added into the cost of the shield and its
enhancement bonus to AC."
By enforcing that the cost is in addition to (at the cost of a weapon enhancement) the cost of the AC based enhancement, the rules infer that there's two seperate enhancements that must be placed within said shield - one for AC - one for attack/damage.
Robert
Robert Brambley
|
from this we can surmise that a heavy shield that once did a unimpressive 1d4 dmg now does a still unimpressive 1d6 dmg, but hey whats this? My shield strikes as though it were THREE size categories larger now hey that 1d4 dmg is now a whopping 2d6 damage ALRIGHT! WOOOOH WHOOOOO!
I will admit, this all makes sense.
However size increases and bonuses do not stack - and is explicitly written in the rules.
Were this idea presented to me (as GM) by a player, I would cite those basic concepts as to why the idea is not as good as they would have liked.
The better of the two increases is what one should abide by.
I can provide page numbers and quote texts as to the rules about size increases not stacking, but I'm fairly certain everyone here knows that this is the case, and merely that rules logic had not been being applied in this instance.
Robert
EDIT: Which is why the 3.5 FAQ seems to establish a means for it, and which is why the 3.5 is irrelevant here - because 3.5 didn't explicitly indicate that size increases don't stack - thus why we were forced to endure so much more rules abuse in 3.5 how things got broken and how we came up with monikers such as CODzilla. These are things of the past since PF has since curtailed such abuse.
| Remco Sommeling |
RamboJesus wrote:
from this we can surmise that a heavy shield that once did a unimpressive 1d4 dmg now does a still unimpressive 1d6 dmg, but hey whats this? My shield strikes as though it were THREE size categories larger now hey that 1d4 dmg is now a whopping 2d6 damage ALRIGHT! WOOOOH WHOOOOO!I will admit, this all makes sense.
However size increases and bonuses do not stack - and is explicitly written in the rules.
Were this idea presented to me (as GM) by a player, I would cite those basic concepts as to why the idea is not as good as they would have liked.
The better of the two increases is what one should abide by.
I can provide page numbers and quote texts as to the rules about size increases not stacking, but I'm fairly certain everyone here knows that this is the case, and merely that rules logic had not been being applied in this instance.
Robert
EDIT: Which is why the 3.5 FAQ seems to establish a means for it, and which is why the 3.5 is irrelevant here - because 3.5 didn't explicitly indicate that size increases don't stack - thus why we were forced to endure so much more rules abuse in 3.5 how things got broken and how we came up with monikers such as CODzilla. These are things of the past since PF has since curtailed such abuse.
yea, it is good to be GM, as the rules support you are the final arbiter of snobby rulelawyeringplayersthatthinktheycantrickyou in allowing stuff like this
| TreeLynx |
Bashing: A shield with this special ability is designed to perform a shield bash. A bashing shield deals damage as if it were a weapon of two size categories larger (a Medium light shield thus deals 1d6 points of damage and a medium heavy shield deals 1d8 points of damage). The shield acts as a +1 weapon when used to bash. Only light and heavy shields can have this ability.
The easy point of clarification here is that a spiked shield is a different item. Reading the last line of the Bashing special ability, it is very clear about what it can be applied to. It cannot be applied to bucklers, tower shields, or light/heavy spiked shields. What it does allow is a method to enchant a non-spiked shield to act as a weapon, in a way that spiked shield users have had available, and is better than the spiked shield. In turn, the Lion's Shield is another incremental improvement, which, although the rules don't clearly support it, I would allow to be enchanted with Bashing. The rulebook and SRD seem to refer to a spiked sheild as a separate item.
This seems like a case of trying to apply the zombie template to an octopus. While it would be a powerful zombie, the zombie template requires the base creature to have a skeleton. Therefore, you cannot make a zombie octopus.
| Maezer |
By enforcing that the cost is in addition to (at the cost of a weapon enhancement) the cost of the AC based enhancement, the rules infer that there's two seperate enhancements that must be placed within said shield - one for AC - one for attack/damage.
Yes if you want the enchant the armor with an armor enchant and a weapon enchantment you could do that as well. There is the +50% cost on the cheaper enchantment for getting multiple different bonuses on a single item. My point was the "spike" on a shield is not an individual item that can be enchanted seperately from the shield it is attached to. You enchant the noun, not the adjective describing the noun.
Please do. I am particularly interested in the ones that you find in the Pathfinder rules that are not in the 3.5 SRD. ie where they chose to change the text to change the rules as opposed to leaving the text identical to change the rules. The most common rule on the issue that I am finding is located in the individual spells that can increase size isI can provide page numbers and quote texts as to the rules about size increases not stacking, but I'm fairly certain everyone here knows that this is the case, and merely that rules logic had not been being applied in this instance.
"Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack."
Which is word for word identical with the 3.5 srd text. Adding spikes to a shield is not a magical effect thus would avoid the above rule. And it also does not increase the size of the shield and again it would avoid the above rule.
Instead we have two untyped bonus that increase the damage done by an item when used in a given fashion. As these bonus have different names, come from different sources, and are untyped so by the they stack. Which is clarified by addition rules in the pathfinder core book (an additional sentence of text not in the 3.5 srd) stating:
Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.
yea, it is good to be GM, as the rules support you are the final arbiter of snobby rulelawyeringplayersthatthinktheycantrickyou in allowing stuff like this
This is true. If you want it to function this way in your game that is fine. Tell your players and its all good. The GM can and should change any rule he feels that will make the game better. But that is functionally a house rule/ruling. You could similarly rule that when ever you make shield bash attack and miss you fall prone. In the rules forum I would try to stick closer to rules as written, for better or worse.
| Ravingdork |
Shields are considered both shields AND weapons at ALL times (even before the addition of shield spikes). They appear both on the armor table and the weapons table after all. They must be enchanted as shields or weapons separately (but may have both enchantments simultaneously).
You can enchant a shield to give you +5 to AC and bashing (shield traits). You can enchant the same shield with +5 to attack and damage rolls (weapon traits). You can apply shield spikes before or after these enhancements, it makes no difference. Spikes are not considered a separate weapon. (Note, however, that this is not true of armor spikes, as armor itself is never considered a weapon.) The spiked shield is the same weapon it always was, except for the fact that it now does piercing damage, and little bit more damage at that.
Robert Brambley
|
Please do. I am particularly interested in the ones that you find in the Pathfinder rules that are not in the 3.5 SRD. ie where they chose to change the text to change the rules as opposed to leaving the text identical to change the rules. The most common rule on the issue that I am finding is located in the individual spells that can increase size is "Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack."
I feel the precedent is set with this declaration and is applicable in this case. It makes sense that two sources that cause an item to "attack as if x number of sizes larger" does not stack if size bonus increases do not stack. Is this explicity stated? Maybe not, but the precedent is set, and like Jason and the others have mentioned before - sometimes a GM just needs to use common sense based on precedents and way other things are ruled. I feel a GM need only point to that established caveat as a means to rule with common sense, that to disallow such a thing (which could easily be construed as abuse or not as intended). It just makes sense.
At least it makes as much sense as disallowing a Shield property to be added to a weapon. A spiked shield is a weapon (Granted one that provides an AC bonus). But a main-gouche or other defending type weapon that could exist to benefit a two-weapon style warrior would be similar in theme. To increase its overall AC effectiveness, and ability to attack/damage, requires two seperate types of enhancements.
Furthermore i got the gist of the 'enhanced the noun' and the spike not actually being a different part - but what I was indicating was that in essence, since it has dual effectiveness and needs to be enhanced in two separate enhancement trees, it can be imagined or otherwise considered two seperate parts. Much as a double-weapon must be enhanced at each end. They are both part of one item, but they are in essence two seperate parts and treated seperately.
Robert
| Maezer |
The easy point of clarification here is that a spiked shield is a different item. Reading the last line of the Bashing special ability, it is very clear about what it can be applied to. It cannot be applied to bucklers, tower shields, or light/heavy spiked shields.
This exact issue was in the 3.5 faq and already quoted in this thread. Pathfinder decided to copy the rules about these issues word for word from the 3.5 srd so I believe they didn't intend to change the rules by leaving them identical to their 3.5 iteration.
Evenout with the faq that a spiked heavy shield qualifies as being a heavy shield just as much as a bastard sword or longsword qualifies as being a sword. I think the restriction was listed, so that people would not try to bash with shields that could not be bashed with.
This seems like a case of trying to apply the zombie template to an octopus. While it would be a powerful zombie, the zombie template requires the base creature to have a skeleton. Therefore, you cannot make a zombie octopus.
A zombie requires only any corporeal creature (other than an undead). Perhaps you meant the skeleton template which does require the base creature to have a skeletal system.
I feel a GM need only point to that established caveat as a means to rule with common sense, that to disallow such a thing (which could easily be construed as abuse or not as intended). It just makes sense.
By all means make any house rule you want. But come on, the rule existed in this state for the duration of 3.5. Nothing changed. Was it so much abused over the years? I have to believe Pathfinder copied the rules exactly because they didn't believe their was a problem with the rules as defined by 3.5.
At least it makes as much sense as disallowing a Shield property to be added to a weapon. A spiked shield is a weapon (Granted one that provides an AC bonus).
A spiked shield is a weapon exactly as much as a heavy shield is a weapon. The rules expressly state in under both shield and spiked shield that they may be enchanted as weapon in the exact same wording. If any weapon has rule text stating that it can enchanted as armor or a shield, then you should probably let it be enchanted as such.
Furthermore i got the gist of the 'enhanced the noun' and the spike not actually being a different part - but what I was indicating was that in essence, since it has dual effectiveness and needs to be enhanced in two separate enhancement trees, it can be imagined or otherwise considered two seperate parts. Much as a double-weapon must be enhanced at each end. They are both part of one item, but they are in essence two seperate parts and treated seperately.
Well they put the bashing power in the shield tree. Much like the put the defending power in the weapon tree. Yes you can take a power from the weapon tree to make the item more defensive, or take a power from the armor tree to make the item more offensive even if you only climb one tree.
The cost for enchanting a double weapon is spelled out in the craft magic weapon section. The cost for enchanting a shield as both a weapon and shield is not, so you fall back on the default table 15-29 and the adding new abilities section.
| seekerofshadowlight |
By all means make any house rule you want. But come on, the rule existed in this state for the duration of 3.5. Nothing changed. Was it so much abused over the years? I have to believe Pathfinder copied the rules exactly because they didn't believe their was a problem with the rules as defined by 3.5.
It is no more a house rule then using a 3.5 FAQ as proof. Bonus do not stack. The spike adds a size bonus, the bashing adds + 2 size bonus, you would take the larger of the two, not add them together, unless it is stated you do, which it is not
You can't have a +3 crossbow, then use a +2 bolt and expect to gain a +5,
The cost for enchanting a double weapon is spelled out in the craft magic weapon section. The cost for enchanting a shield as both a weapon and shield is not, so you fall back on the default table 15-29 and the adding new abilities section.
No it's stated, you enchant it as a separate item, which makes it done like a double weapon. Same with the spike, which is counted as a separate weapon as well. This is made clear, it counts as it's own weapon, Which is just what a double weapon does.
Robert Brambley
|
The spike does not add a size bonus. It increases damage as if it were larger.
I agree with the distinction.
What I counter, however, is that the BASHING quality uses the exact same wording.
Thus it is left the GM to establish a) does this mean that you can stack the two size increases worded in the same fashion? or b) does this mean that each stated increase is based off the original templated item, and a GM can pull from other similar instances when two size increases are potential and follow the same precendent already well established in black and white?
I personally see the wisdom in following the second. This is not a house rule - this is an extension of an existing rule. This is using logic that already exists and applying it to a different but quite similar scenario. As far as I can tell, it is meant to apply to the original item.
If two creature templates applied to the same creature increases the size of a creature, it still only increases once.
I don't see this as all that disimilar. The changes are relative to the 'base creature' in this instance, and the size based damage for a the shield protagonist of this thread is relative to the 'base item'.
Robert
| Remco Sommeling |
common sense tells me 2d6 is a bit much, otherwise I cant really find fault with the raw as is, seems to me bash is a leftover from an early draft that is forgotten and never really bothered to change it since 3.0
enchanting a shield as weapon seems even sillier to me though and does not seem to combine well with this ability, I cant conjure an image to mind that would make a weapon enchanted shield cool...
| Ressy |
Maezer wrote:By all means make any house rule you want. But come on, the rule existed in this state for the duration of 3.5. Nothing changed. Was it so much abused over the years? I have to believe Pathfinder copied the rules exactly because they didn't believe their was a problem with the rules as defined by 3.5.
It is no more a house rule then using a 3.5 FAQ as proof. Bonus do not stack. The spike adds a size bonus, the bashing adds + 2 size bonus, you would take the larger of the two, not add them together, unless it is stated you do, which it is not
You can't have a +3 crossbow, then use a +2 bolt and expect to gain a +5,
Maezer wrote:No it's stated, you enchant it as a separate item, which makes it done like a double weapon. Same with the spike, which is counted as a separate weapon as well. This is made clear, it counts as it's own weapon, Which is just what a double weapon does.
The cost for enchanting a double weapon is spelled out in the craft magic weapon section. The cost for enchanting a shield as both a weapon and shield is not, so you fall back on the default table 15-29 and the adding new abilities section.
Actually, it does not add a "size" bonus, the bonuses are untyped.
Size bonuses are what Beast shape etc... give you| William Timmins |
Robert:
As Ressy commented related to an another comment, even if one were to accept that spike shield and bashing both provied 'damage bonus,' there is no listed type.
As a non-typed bonus, they can stack, so long as they don't come from the same source. Bashing enchantment and putting a spike on a shield are different sources.
But I'd also content the basic concept; enlarge person, for example, doesn't actually provide a bonus to damage. You'll note nowhere in the description is 'size bonus to damage.'
There is no such thing as a size bonus to damage, or it'd be something like '+3 size bonus to damage.'
| Maezer |
It is no more a house rule then using a 3.5 FAQ as proof. Bonus do not stack. The spike adds a size bonus, the bashing adds + 2 size bonus, you would take the larger of the two, not add them together, unless it is stated you do, which it is not
Quote the text to me. No where do I read bashing adds a +2 size bouns. I don't see the keyword bonus or penalty anywhere.
No it's stated, you enchant it as a separate item, which makes it done like a double weapon. Same with the spike, which is counted as a separate weapon as well. This is made clear, it counts as it's own weapon, Which is just what a double weapon does.
Please state where you find such a quote that you enchant it as a seperate item. Or that when you enchant a shield (or spiked armor for that matter) as both a weapon and armor/shield its costed like a double weapon.
I'll admit. This particular costing issue isn't covered by the FAQ, its my interpretation of the cost. A house rule/ruling. I think its right, but having nothing in the text beyond the generic table to back it up. More than willing to be shown wrong here and I'll admit it.
Costing custom magical bonus can be a complicated task. I have dug through a fair number of D&D 3.5 books and adventures (including the might item compendium) trying to find a pricing president to follow for a shield enhanced as both a weapon and shield (or spiked armor) at the same time but have yet to find one as a guideline. So I fall back on the table.
I'd be appreciative if anyone could come up with an example of either in a WotC or Paizo published book (for 3.5 or pathfinder system) of an item containing both weapon bonus and armor/shield bonus.
| seekerofshadowlight |
Actually, it does not add a "size" bonus, the bonuses are untyped.
Size bonuses are what Beast shape etc... give you
But it does, You count as 1 size larger. The bashing counts the shield as 2 sizes larger. It states size, not damage. It could say the next higher damage dice. It does not it calls out size.
You make an item large, and up the damage, then make it huge and take damage from huge. You do not however add them together. You take the highest of the 2, not the combined total.So we have 2 effects that make the damage a size larger. you take the largest bonus not the total.
If this works then so should adding two spikes to a shield, as they stack. Heck why not 3 spikes then bashing, lets add bashing twice or maybe 3 times as you say it stacks and all
Until ya can show me where it says "this is the exception to the normal rule " they do not stack
| Ressy |
Ressy wrote:
Actually, it does not add a "size" bonus, the bonuses are untyped.
Size bonuses are what Beast shape etc... give youBut it does, You count as 1 size larger. The bashing counts the shield as 2 sizes larger. It states size, not damage. It could say the next higher damage dice. It does not it calls out size.
You make an item large, and up the damage, then make it huge and take damage from huge. You do not however add them together. You take the highest of the 2, not the combined total.So we have 2 effects that make the damage a size larger. you take the largest bonus not the total.
If this works then so should adding two spikes to a shield, as they stack. Heck why not 3 spikes then bashing, lets add bashing twice or maybe 3 times as you say it stacks and all
Until ya can show me where it says "this is the exception to the normal rule " they do not stack
Your references are wrong.
Again.The not stacking size bit you're talking about is for spells that increase your size category (and they all explicitly state they don't stack with other size increasing magics) and a 3.5 rule where you couldn't stack effects that let you wield larger than normal weapons (such as the Goliath racial ability and Monkey Grip feats).
Neither of them apply to a weapon dealing damage as though it were a larger weapon.
In this case the intention seems to allow for the enchantment and spikes to be suitably generic that they don't need specific examples of every usage with damage numbers, such as if a splat book had come out with an exotic shield that counted as a heavy shield but had a base bash damage of 1d6 instead of 1d4. If the bashing property had a table of values instead of a dice size increase, the new shield would have to have it's own table and specific numbers.
| Ressy |
So what is it? Is bashing untyped or not?
Shield Bash: A type of attack, specifically an attack with a shield
Bludgeoning: A type of damage, damage typically done by blunt weaponsBashing: A Special Ability defined thusly:
A shield with this special ability is designed to perform a shield bash. A bashing shield deals damage as if it were a weapon of two size categories larger (a Medium light shield thus deals 1d6 points of damage and a Medium heavy shield deals 1d8 points of damage). The shield acts as a +1 weapon when used to bash. Only light and heavy shields can have this ability.
Note that no type is given for the bonus, so the bonus is un-typed. (The "as a weapon of two size categories larger" is text describing how the increased damage is calculated)
and to further clarify matters the other terms used in the discussion thus far:
Size bonus: a type of bonus (like an enhancement bonus)
Enhancement bonus: a type of bonus, usually numerical (as in +2 shield)
Shield Spikes: an addition to a basic shield, similar to masterwork in that the item retains the same type, but is improved in function.
Robert Brambley
|
I'd be appreciative if anyone could come up with an example of either in a WotC or Paizo published book (for 3.5 or pathfinder system) of an item containing both weapon bonus and armor/shield bonus.
I already have - several posts up.
I'll repost it here.
Maezer wrote:seekerofshadowlight wrote:Nope as the book points out the spike must be enhanced by it's self. The shield and spike are not the same item. As the spike my be enhanced as a weapon, without doing so to the shield.
I disagree with you here as well. Nowhere do I see the book say you can enchant the spike on a shield seperately from the shield.
Pg 462 Core Rules
"Shields: Shield enhancement bonuses stack with armor
enhancement bonuses. Shield enhancement bonuses do not act as attack or damage bonuses when the shield is used
in a shield bash. The bashing special ability, however, does
grant a +1 bonus on attack and damage rolls (see the special
ability description).
A shield could be built that also acted as a magic weapon,
but the cost of the enhancement bonus on attack rolls
would need to be added into the cost of the shield and its
enhancement bonus to AC."By enforcing that the cost is in addition to (at the cost of a weapon enhancement) the cost of the AC based enhancement, the rules infer that there's two seperate enhancements that must be placed within said shield - one for AC - one for attack/damage.
Robert
| Maezer |
Ressy wrote:
Actually, it does not add a "size" bonus, the bonuses are untyped.
Size bonuses are what Beast shape etc... give youBut it does, You count as 1 size larger. The bashing counts the shield as 2 sizes larger. It states size, not damage. It could say the next higher damage dice. It does not it calls out size.
You make an item large, and up the damage, then make it huge and take damage from huge. You do not however add them together. You take the highest of the 2, not the combined total.So we have 2 effects that make the damage a size larger. you take the largest bonus not the total.
If this works then so should adding two spikes to a shield, as they stack. Heck why not 3 spikes then bashing, lets add bashing twice or maybe 3 times as you say it stacks and all
Until ya can show me where it says "this is the exception to the normal rule " they do not stack
Ok. First the rules which you refuse to cite or quote.
Bonus Types: Usually, a bonus has a type that indicates how the spell grants the bonus. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don’t generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works (see Combining Magical Effects). The same principle applies to penalties—a character taking two or more penalties of the same type applies only the worst one, although most penalties have no type and thus always stack. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.
Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or penalties
on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don’t stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above).
Different Bonus Types: The bonuses or penalties from two different spells stack if the modifiers are of different types. A bonus that doesn’t have a type stacks with any bonus.
What we are dealing with is an untyped bonus. Bashing and Spikes stack because they are untype bonuses from different sources. Stacking spikes repeatedly would not stack because it is from the same source. Stacking bashing repeatedly similar would not stack with itself because its from the same source.
The FAQ answered this question. Nothing changed. This is the status quo. We cannot show you "this is an exception to your rule" which you refuse to quote or site, because its not the same rule that we are reading, citing, and/or quoting.
Robert Brambley
|
Robert:
As Ressy commented related to an another comment, even if one were to accept that spike shield and bashing both provied 'damage bonus,' there is no listed type.As a non-typed bonus, they can stack, so long as they don't come from the same source. Bashing enchantment and putting a spike on a shield are different sources.
But Ressy also indicated that the 'increase is not a bonus'. Thus if it's not a bonus, it can't be an "untyped bonus" and so falls outside the specific exception to the stacking rule.
But I'd also content the basic concept; enlarge person, for example, doesn't actually provide a bonus to damage. You'll note nowhere in the description is 'size bonus to damage.'
This is true, but Enlarge Person does increase the damage due to equipment gaining a larger size.
And as others have stated - it's not a "bonus" It's a benefit, but by the definition of "bonus" as it pertains to the RPG, it's not a listed "bonus" in the description of the text. It's a benefit of an effect; the effect being that it treats a weapon as larger than it is.
I'm not indicating anyone is wrong; I'm merely defending that using the logic that "size bonuses" do not stack (from other sources), neither should effects from sources that make something Act like it's size increased.
As I said - sometimes you just have to use common sense and logic to make a decision.
There's nothing specifically allowing this, and there's nothing specifically disallowing it; I'm just erring on the side of caution and using judgement based on previous rules.
If the Bashing said' "Adds +2 size bonus" and the shield spikes said "Adds +1 size bonus" and the bonus types lists "size bonus" as something that is stackable, then I'd say without a doubt that they should stack.
But it doesn't. It doesn't use the term Bonus at all - and thus should not follow the rules for bonuses and stacking - or to the exception of what is stackable - thus it is not an untyped bonus.
Saying "this gives a +2 bonus" is an untyped bonus.
These things give "effects" Much like damage reduction or energy resistance. These aren't bonuses; they are effects or qualities. So too is gaining Darkvision on something that already has it - it generally does not stack (unless otherwise indicated); you merely take the greater of the two. Effects and qualities have a precedence of not stacking. Things that alter size (of creatures) have a precedence of not stacking.
It is therefore not merely a leap of faith to extapolate from these then that effects that make something seem bigger do not stack either.
Robert
Robert Brambley
|
Ok. First the rules which you refuse to cite or quote."Pathfinder Core Rulebook, p208 wrote:
Bonus Types: Usually, a bonus has a type that indicates how the spell grants the bonus. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don’t generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works (see Combining Magical Effects). The same principle applies to penalties—a character taking two or more penalties of the same type applies only the worst one, although most penalties have no type and thus always stack. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.
"Pathfinder Core Rulebook, p208 wrote:...
Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or penalties
on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don’t stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types,
Which I contest is irrelevant because the benefits are not listed as a 'bonus' type or untyped at all.
Robert
| Maezer |
I already have - several posts up.
I'll repost it here.
I see how that can be interpreted as a flat expense. I really do, and I know I am in the minority on pricing this way, but I see it as add an enchanment to an already magic item. So when I add the second enchantment I pay a 50% penalty on whatever the cheaper enhantment is. What I was hoping for was an actual magic item printed out. That gave bonuses both ways and had a price attached.
But alas the item is so unpopular I don't see it printed in any of the books and adventures I have purchased.
Robert Brambley
|
Robert Brambley wrote:
I already have - several posts up.
I'll repost it here.
I see how that can be interpreted as a flat expense. I really do, and I know I am in the minority on pricing this way, but I see it as add an enchanment to an already magic item. So when I add the second enchantment I pay a 50% penalty on whatever the cheaper enhantment is. What I was hoping for was an actual magic item printed out. That gave bonuses both ways and had a price attached.
But alas the item is so unpopular I don't see it printed in any of the books and adventures I have purchased.
Fair enough.
The way it works is a +2 shield that also has a +2 attack/damage enhancemnt would cost:
4000 gp for the AC enhancement
8000 gp for the Attack/damage enhancement
This would take care of the
"A shield could be built that ALSO acted as a magic weapon"
Then a 50% increase on the 4000 (the cheaper) would be incurred for a 2000 gp increase.
Total 14000 (Plus cost of shield/material/masterwork).
The same total would be true for a +1 shield of Bashing w/ +2 Weapon Enhancement (It would need to made +2 at least to give it any more of a bonus to hit damage than it was already getting from the Bashing Property.)
Robert
| seekerofshadowlight |
Stuff about stacking
Eh it's what I get for not checking and going off memory
However, I still see them as the same kind of " bonus" , even if it does not use that wording
If it said "1 higher damage dice". thats untyped just like something says +2 with no type. It does not, it calls out how it gained the damage{counting as 1 size larger], that is typed
1 takes the size up by 1 size, the other takes the same items size up by 2 sizes. To me I just do not see them stacking as you take the bigger incress not add em together
Robert Brambley
|
These things give "effects" Much like damage reduction or energy resistance. These aren't bonuses; they are effects or qualities. So too is gaining Darkvision on something that already has it - it generally does not stack (unless otherwise indicated); you merely take the greater of the two. Effects and qualities have a precedence of not stacking. Things that alter size (of creatures) have a precedence of not stacking.
Other examples that I just thought of:
Spell Resistance. Take the greater of the two.
Adding a Fly spell onto a creature with an existing Fly movement (such as a eagle). Take the greater movement of the two.
Adding Spider Climb onto something with a Climb movement. (such as a spider). Take the greater movement of the two.
These are things that don't give a "bonus type", but instead a beneficial effect and/or quality, magical or otherwise, that can be quantified. Such things don't stack.
I then deduce that multiple effects or qualities that treat something as larger (or smaller) do not stack.
Robert
| northbrb |
Can anyone actually site a rule that says you can’t duel-wield shields, and even if you can’t shield bash with a shield in your main hand (I think you can but it doesn’t matter for this question) wouldn’t you still end with a -0 penalty when dual-wielding shields if you have the shield mastery feat.
I am not asking people to tell me what the damage would be or if I can actually attack with both shields, but for the purposes of the Shield Mastery feat I want to know what its effects are if I am using two shields.
| Remco Sommeling |
no there isn't a rule for using two shields as such, you can just use one as a shield really since shield bonus does not stack with eachother.
"shieldmastery : You do not suffer any penalties on attack rolls
made with a shield while you are wielding another weapon.
Add your shield’s shield bonus to attacks and damage rolls
made with the shield as if it was an enhancement bonus."
well, if you want to read RAW, you would get no penalties on attack rolls and with a + 5 shields you'd get + 8 to hit and + 8 damage with no penalties to hit.
the second shield wouldn't do you any good.. since you do not actually get any shield bonus, so no bonus on damage or armor class from carrying a shield in your other hand as well. it would however negate having penalties on attack with it and you COULD enchant that shield as a weapon by RAW, so circumventing that, + 5 to hit and damage for a + 5 weapon.
you'd end up with a spiked + 5 shield of bashing for a base 2d6 damage + 8 for the shield with + 8 to hit bonus and no two-weapon penalties
(considering shield focus as well), it will count as a magic weapon because of the bashing property for purposes of DR
(not because of the shieldmaster feat)
That is how I would read RAW.
* In my opinion however it is completely ridiculous and so obviously a rule exploitation that I wouldnt even consider taking a player like that serious (or a GM that allows it).
I'd not allow the shield master feat as written either, it just doesnt make sense to me why would a shield be a better weapon than an actual weapon... I think there should be an option to negate two weapon fighting penalties to hit completely
(for light weapon in off hand at least, which a medium shield is not).
please paizo, dont make feats to make shields actually a better weapon choice than an actual weapon, though to combine it with the shield function is alright, there is no need what-so-ever to make a shield a superior weapon.
| Eyolf The Wild Commoner |
Remco Sommeling wrote:the second shield wouldn't do you any good.. since you do not actually get any shield bonus,Yes you do, that bonus just doesn't stack with the bonus from the other shield, doesn't mean it's not there.
Combat Facing >.>
Both work >.> So long as you interpret it that way.
I mean, after all, from a forward attack, you could use both shields to block.
From sides no, so yeah, but anyway >.>
I love Combat Facing, makes for more realistic, tactical combat.
| Remco Sommeling |
I cant find anything about combat facing here, is it a houserule ?
In general people are assumed to move to block and turn all the time so they do not just face in one direction all the time, it is why there isnt such a thing as a rear attack since 2nd edition.
I do recall reading something about combat facing, do not recall where...
anyway, two shields are still silly, unless you are a marilith demon I suppose (6 armed smexy snakewoman)
| Skylancer4 |
Says the man, who wont let it go. I got it y'all read the rules and look at them a different way. We do not agree on how each other sees a rule.
...
You can run it how you want, but you have no more "proof" then I do on how it works. All you got is how you choose to interrupt the rule
....
I said my peace and was willing to let it go, not every one agrees on every rule interruption. In the end it's a GM's call. I'm not your'n and your not mine, so it's a moot point to argue with you over what neither of us is gonna change are mind on.
Says the person with multiple posts to my single post, apparently someone's new year is off to a rough start... My sympathies.
Eh it's what I get for not checking and going off memoryHowever, I still see them as the same kind of " bonus" , even if it does not use that wording
If it said "1 higher damage dice". thats untyped just like something says +2 with no type. It does not, it calls out how it gained the damage{counting as 1 size larger], that is typed
1 takes the size up by 1 size, the other takes the same items size up by 2 sizes. To me I just do not see them stacking as you take the bigger incress not add em together
I'm not quite shocked you hadn't read the rules honestly... Mostly as you were arguing from a "realism of combat" POV. Again you are entitled to your view, but your view isn’t backed by the rule set. I can point to the book and say “here, here and here” to make my point and the only thing worth arguing on the forums is the actual printed rule. Granted there may be differences of interpretation, but again I can point to the book and give an actual precedent for my views, where as yours are a belief based on opinion instead of what is actually in the book. So I am more than comfortable calling your “view” a house rule.
Anyways, there is a world of difference between an actual size increase and what the shield spike does. The heavy shield in question is still medium size, there is no size increase actually. It is a medium sized shield that deals the equivalent of a weapon one size larger (as per the description and table 6-5). That means it is a medium shield that does 1d6 damage instead of the 1d4, thus the entry in the weapon table. It becomes an exception to the rule that mediums sized heavy shields deal 1d4 damage, no size increase made. It isn't a large weapon, it is still medium. No size increase to stack upon, as it is still medium sized. It has become a completely different item with different stats requiring a new entry on the weapon table. That new item is now the "base" item that is going to be used from that point on - just like a template.
Now, given that you have a mundane medium weapon (heavy spiked shield) that deals 1d6 damage when you enchant it with a magical effect that causes the damage to increase further (by two steps on the table 6-5) you go and look up the adjustment, the first increase makes it do 1d8, the next increase leaves the weapon doing 2d6. You now have a medium weapon that is dealing 2d6 damage normally or 1d6 damage in an AMF (or like effect), no actual size increase has been made at all. Just rules that made exceptions to the norm and as pointed out already there isn't anything to stack, the rules of the game that deal with stacking don't pertain to this. There aren't two magical effects providing a similar bonus to cause a problem, just a base item and then a magical effect, in the most strict case this doesn't cause a problem regarding that rule.
To make the point further, look up how a monk's "size increased" unarmed damage works when enlarged. I'll give you a hint, they stack.
| Takamonk |
A bonus is a bonus is a bonus.
Enhancement bonuses do not stack with enhancement bonuses.
Splitting hairs aside, size bonuses do not stack with size bonuses.
Likewise, a shield-fighter with all his feats in place don't get to double-dip in a fully enchanted shield with fully enchanted spikes, for the very reason mentioned before: enhancement bonuses don't stack with enhancement bonuses.
Robert Brambley
|
To make the point further, look up how a monk's "size increased" unarmed damage works when enlarged. I'll give you a hint, they stack.
This line of thinking is faulty logic when comparing it to the issue on this thread.
In your situation, the monk IS actually increasing in size.
To compare apples to apples:
A person with a Spiked shield (that does damage as if the item is one size larger) becomes enlarged, by all means, the spiked shield would do the "one size larger" damage based off the "large-sized" creature that he currently (albeit temporarily) is - which would invariably increase it two sizes of damage from it original form - but it actually changed form and size.
I have no problem with that scenario being adjudicated as such.
What is being argued is two different instances where an item is being "Considered" larger that it actually, but whose size is not actually altered, and asking them to stack and work together. That is a different type of stacking than what you closed your comment with, and should NOT stack because they are two different aspects asking the damage to be increased in the exact same fashion.
The larger of the two should override the lesser of the two; since both are "Acting" as larger, but no actual change in size.
You couldn't Enlarge yourself actually twice and cause them to stack, you shouldn't be able to damage as if you were larger twice and expect them to stack.
Robert