Can I... touch myself?


Rules Questions


Maybe a stupid question, but can spells that require you to touch another willing creature be cast on yourself?

Just wondering.

Holla back.

- Spee


Short answer: Yes.

Paladins can also "lay on hands" themselves as a swift action (if I remember correctly).


Are you willing? Are you a creature? Can you reach yourself? IF the answer is yes to all three of those then yes you can touch yourself... please do it in private though, the whole world doesn't want to know...

Unless you are Seoni, and then whatever you want dear.


"Yes you may. We also would like to take pictures of the touching."

Holds up camera " We have odd kinks back at the layer, say cheese"


J-Spee Lovecraft wrote:

Maybe a stupid question, but can spells that require you to touch another willing creature be cast on yourself?

Just wondering.

Holla back.

- Spee

I can't find text to back me up, but we've always run with "yes."

After all, it's a sad mage/cleric who can't touch himself.


Mauril wrote:

Short answer: Yes.

Paladins can also "lay on hands" themselves as a swift action (if I remember correctly).

"It's called 'smite evil,' not 'bump uglies.'"


Yeah, unless it states otherwise for some reason. You can lay hands on yourself too, in case you were wondering. Some paladin players even take 'oaths' to not lay hands on other people in conjunction with their gloryhound traits.

The Exchange

Yes but if you do it to often you'll go blind.

(Sorry I failed that save.... I rolled a 4!)


Moorluck wrote:

Yes but if you do it to often you'll go blind.

(Sorry I failed that save.... I rolled a 4!)

Damn it Moorluck, you beat me to it.

The Exchange

Garydee wrote:
Moorluck wrote:

Yes but if you do it to often you'll go blind.

(Sorry I failed that save.... I rolled a 4!)

Damn it Moorluck, you beat me to it.

(Damnit! Rolled another 4!)

Sorry but you'll have to do that yourself.

Ok I'm done, sorry for the threadjack. :P

The Exchange

Yes I made my will save and Moorluck did not!!!!!!


Moorluck wrote:
Garydee wrote:
Moorluck wrote:

Yes but if you do it to often you'll go blind.

(Sorry I failed that save.... I rolled a 4!)

Damn it Moorluck, you beat me to it.

(Damnit! Rolled another 4!)

Sorry but you'll have to do that yourself.

Ok I'm done, sorry for the threadjack. :P

Heh, heh. I couldn't resist saying that.


Yeah quit jacking the thread already...


Abraham spalding wrote:
Yeah quit jacking the thread already...

Haha.

"Jacking."


Maybe it's like the sand guy on mighty boosh... gloves are required.


Sure you can, the question is if you really want to.


You do provoke an attack of opportunity if a threatening enemy took the 'Mother' feat. High concentration only makes it worse.


Garydee wrote:
Moorluck wrote:

Yes but if you do it to often you'll go blind.

(Sorry I failed that save.... I rolled a 4!)

Damn it Moorluck, you beat me to it.

Me too! Let's gang up on him and beat him up.


Pathfinder is not a game you're supposed to play with yourself!


Kakarasa wrote:
Maybe it's like the sand guy on mighty boosh... gloves are required.

He won't need gloves no more, with those hairy palms of his.


J-Spee Lovecraft wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Yeah quit jacking the thread already...

Haha.

"Jacking."

Jacking. With a capital J. Capitalisation is very important. Consider the sentence "Go and help your uncle Jack off the horse."


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Kakarasa wrote:
Maybe it's like the sand guy on mighty boosh... gloves are required.

I watched that episode with several friends of mine (all of whom had already seen it and wanted me to see for the laughs as well).

Shortly before the sand guy showed up, my mom came into the room and sat down to join us. When the sand guy came up on screen all of my friends left the room because they knew what was coming and didn't feel comfortable watching it with a "mom."

Mom and I were both quite surprised and she ended up having a "small talk" with me about it afterwords (as my friends all laughed at the hilarity of it all from the background). :-/

Silver Crusade

J-Spee Lovecraft wrote:

Maybe a stupid question, but can spells that require you to touch another willing creature be cast on yourself?

Just wondering.

Holla back.

- Spee

Yes, I imagine so.

Depends on how much you want to experience chill touch or does shocking grasp really feel like a taser?


KaeYoss wrote:
Garydee wrote:
Moorluck wrote:

Yes but if you do it to often you'll go blind.

(Sorry I failed that save.... I rolled a 4!)

Damn it Moorluck, you beat me to it.
Me too! Let's gang up on him and beat him up.

All this talk about "beating" is making me blush...


J-Spee Lovecraft wrote:
KaeYoss wrote:
Garydee wrote:
Moorluck wrote:

Yes but if you do it to often you'll go blind.

(Sorry I failed that save.... I rolled a 4!)

Damn it Moorluck, you beat me to it.
Me too! Let's gang up on him and beat him up.
All this talk about "beating" is making me blush...

Well, then beat it!

Dark Archive

KaeYoss wrote:
J-Spee Lovecraft wrote:
KaeYoss wrote:
Garydee wrote:
Moorluck wrote:

Yes but if you do it to often you'll go blind.

(Sorry I failed that save.... I rolled a 4!)

Damn it Moorluck, you beat me to it.
Me too! Let's gang up on him and beat him up.
All this talk about "beating" is making me blush...
Well, then beat it!

Well, this thread certainly explains the Chelaxian Paladin with max ranks in courtesan at the last convention.......


Or the Divinyls song I touch my self NSFW


The 8th Dwarf wrote:

Or the Divinyls song I touch my self NSFW

I remember this song, paid attention to the words.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think this d20/3.5 book can help with rulings on touching yourself.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can I... touch myself? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions