Adding to a Magical Weapon?


Rules Questions


Someone help me clarify something please. I read that once an item is enchanted it can be enchanted again and have effects added to it after the fact. Did I read this correctly?

Example, my 6th Level Fighter recently was awarded a +2 Adamantine Bastard Sword by a Dwarven Regent for awesomeness that not even the Bards could put into words. What can I say? My PC rocks.

Anyway, let's say time rolls on, could someone with the proper feats and capabilities (not to mention funding) add effects to the sword? Like make it +3, or add the flaming.

I generally do not dabble in magic, I prefer my Barbarians and Fighters so I'm rather dim on PFRPG enchanting works. I don't need a complete lesson (since I have a book I could read), I'm just looking for clarification about adding effects to already enchanted items.


You sure can.

Check out page 553, right hand column towards the bottom. It's pretty straight forward.

You just add the difference in price, unless the item occupies a specific body slot. If it does occupy a specific body slot, there is a 50% extra cost. However if you're talking specifically about weapons, that doesn't apply (at least in any case I can think of).

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Hartbaine wrote:
make it +3, or add the flaming.

Yes, upgrading bonuses and adding effects is allowed.

Changing things are not allowed by RAW (but the DM can allow anything via Rule 0)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Adding to a Magical Weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.