| paul halcott |
If a character buffs an ability score that ties to a class power, does it effect the power? For example, A clerics Channel Energy ties to his Chr. If he casts Eagles Splendor on himself, can he get 2 extra uses of it a day? Common sense says no, and I thought I read somewhere that backed that sentament, but now I cant find it. Any help??
Beckett
|
Yes, unless PF is specifically changing it (and seem to be doing that a lot). However, those extra two uses have special rules.
1.) they are "lost" first. So lets say you have 1 channel, and buff to get 2 more. You use 1. When that buff is gone, you have no channels left that day.
2.) multiple buffs do not get you more. As above, when you have none left, if you buff again (same cha increase), you do fget +2 channels, unless you spent those 2 extra channels already that day. Basically, if you use the extra channels from a temporary source, they are gone first for the rest of the day. If the second buff was better, you only get the portion of it you had not spent yet, (so if you would have gotten +3 channels, you only get 1 as you have already spend +2 earlier).
They do not increase spells though. Because spells require you to spend so much time to ready them, (even if technically you could have the bonus long enough). The DC's go up, but not bonus spells.
James Risner
Owner - D20 Hobbies
|
If he casts Eagles Splendor on himself, can he get 2 extra uses of it a day?
Yes
But remember it is a buff, so when it expires you lose two UNUSED uses per day.
So say you use all your daily uses, cast Eagle, use the extras, then lose Eagle. Casting it again in the same day gives you two more bringing you again to "no available uses" so it isn't like you get to use the "two more" you got for the second casting (since they are already used.)
| udalrich |
A convenient way to think of it is that you don't track remaining uses, but how many times you've used an ability and compare that with how many times you can use it.
Let's say that you can channel 5/day and have already done it 4 times. 4 is less than 5, so you can currently channel once more. You cast Eagle's Splendor and now you can channel 7 times (or three more times). You use two channels before the spell wears off. You've now channeled 6 times, which is not less than the 5 times per day you can channel, so you can't currently channel. If you cast Eagle's Splendor again, you can (once again) channel 7 times. Since you've already channeled 6 times, you only have 1 more remaining.