AoO and Special attacks


Rules Questions


Under "Making an attack of Opportunity" it says that:

"An attack of Opportunity is a single melee attack"

Under "Disarm" and "Trip" it says:

"You can attempt to Disarm/Trip your opponent in place of a melee attack"

Does this mean that i can Trip or Disarm an opponent who provokes an AoO ?


It says under Performing a Combat Maneuver "While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack), others require a specific action." so you are able to trip or disarm with aoo.


Along those lines, is it possible to sneak attack as part of an attack of opportunity? We had a situation come up this past session where the PC rogue made a successful stealth check against the NPC orc. Said orc later moved past the stealthed rogue who took a sneak attack against the orc as her AoO and took out the orc with a solid shot.

Ruling (by me) was the orc didn't know the rogue was there due to stealth, so sneak attack seemed feasible. If the rogue was just in plain sight, then no sneak attack. Thoughts? Thanks!


Dosgamer wrote:
the orc didn't know the rogue was there due to stealth, so sneak attack seemed feasible. If the rogue was just in plain sight, then no sneak attack. Thoughts? Thanks!

Whether or not the orc knows the Rogue is there is irrelevant. Whether the attack is a Standard, Full, Melee or Ranged attack is irrelevant. Regular Action or AoO is irrelevant.

If the attack conditions permit Sneak Attack damage then the damage is dealt. If the orc moves out of a square that is threatened by the Rogue but he is also flanked in that square, then he provokes an AoO that deals Sneak Attack damage even if he knows the Rogue is there. If he doesn't know the Rogue is there and is surprised (and thus flat-footed with respect to the Rogue), then he takes the damage. If any other condition allows for SA damage, then it is dealt.

FWIW,

Rez


Rezdave wrote:

If the attack conditions permit Sneak Attack damage then the damage is dealt. If the orc moves out of a square that is threatened by the Rogue but he is also flanked in that square, then he provokes an AoO that deals Sneak Attack damage even if he knows the Rogue is there. If he doesn't know the Rogue is there and is surprised (and thus flat-footed with respect to the Rogue), then he takes the damage. If any other condition allows for SA damage, then it is dealt.

FWIW,

Rez

Yep, that's what I thought as well. The players seemed a little surprised that you could sneak attack as part of an AoO, but a sneak attack is a melee attack plain and simple. Thanks!

P.S. I just saw the other thread farther down about making sneak attacks from stealth. Good stuff!


Yes, you can Trip/Disarm as AoO.
Shield Bashes and Barbarian Knockback also allow Bullrushing as an AoO.

I had been under the impression (from the Playtest) that Trip/Disarm AoO's were only possible if you have the Improved X Feats (with the idea that AoO's themselves provoking an AoO is disruptive to game-flow), but I can't find any rule about that in the final rules, so I guess there isn't any such limitation.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Sort_vampyr wrote:
Does this mean that i can Trip or Disarm an opponent who provokes an AoO ?

Yes


Quandary wrote:
I had been under the impression (from the Playtest) that Trip/Disarm AoO's were only possible if you have the Improved X Feats (with the idea that AoO's themselves provoking an AoO is disruptive to game-flow)

Granted, it's 3.x rules, but read the follow article from Wizard's excellent Rules of the Game column.

Look about 2/3rds of the way down for a section titled "Attack of Opportunity Chains".

R.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AoO and Special attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.