Reach


Rules Questions


with a weapon with reach can you attack through squares with a creature in them? For exemple one fighter is standing in the door with a long sword and his buddy Staby Mcstab with a long spear is standing behind him, can he poke the poor goblin?


Velvetlinedbox wrote:
with a weapon with reach can you attack through squares with a creature in them? For exemple one fighter is standing in the door with a long sword and his buddy Staby Mcstab with a long spear is standing behind him, can he poke the poor goblin?

That is correct.


thought so
could not find in the book, but had a hunch

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Velvetlinedbox wrote:
with a weapon with reach can you attack through squares with a creature in them?

Yes, but the opponent has cover vs your attacks from the creature in the intermediate square.


James Risner wrote:
Velvetlinedbox wrote:
with a weapon with reach can you attack through squares with a creature in them?
Yes, but the opponent has cover vs your attacks from the creature in the intermediate square.

Cover

To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has cover if any line from any corner of your square to the target's square goes through a wall (including a low wall). When making a melee attack against a target that isn't adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks.

AND

Soft Cover: Creatures, even your enemies, can provide you with cover against ranged attacks, giving you a +4 bonus to AC. However, such soft cover provides no bonus on Reflex saves, nor does soft cover allow you to make a Stealth check.

So technically anyone being in front of you now provides you cover.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

lostpike wrote:
So technically anyone being in front of you now provides you cover.

Which is no change from 3.5 rules.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions