| Ughbash |
Since activating a wand is a standard action, Would it do any good to put a quickened spell in one. Would the tentacles just grapple really fast?
There is an exception to the standard action that deals with quickened or swift actions with wands.
Activating a spell trigger item takes the same amount of time as the casting time of the spell that the item stores, but activating the item
doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity. You can’t activate a spell trigger item in the area of a silence spell or if unable to speak.
Unless Pathfinder alters this rule it would still be in effect.
| dulsin |
This sounds like the arguments on the WotC boards about how quicken spell is useless to a sorcerer because any spell they use a metamagic feat with becomes a full round cast....
If you came up with an item that had a quickened spell in it activating that power would not be a standard action. It would be a swift action like any quickened spell.
| Majuba |
This sounds like the arguments on the WotC boards about how quicken spell is useless to a sorcerer because any spell they use a metamagic feat with becomes a full round cast....
Those arguments are accurate, quicken spell was useless to a sorcerer until epic levels and "Automatic Metamagic Quicken" feat. Pathfinder has changed that though (Quicken Spell being a listed exception to the general "goes up to a full-round" rule).
If you came up with an item that had a quickened spell in it activating that power would not be a standard action. It would be a swift action like any quickened spell.
Agreed - there's an epic staff with quickened (intensified) magic missiles. You can still only activate any staff/wand once per round of course.
| grasshopper_ea |
grasshopper_ea wrote:Since activating a wand is a standard action, Would it do any good to put a quickened spell in one. Would the tentacles just grapple really fast?
There is an exception to the standard action that deals with quickened or swift actions with wands.
"Rules Compendium Pg. 85 wrote:
Activating a spell trigger item takes the same amount of time as the casting time of the spell that the item stores, but activating the item
doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity. You can’t activate a spell trigger item in the area of a silence spell or if unable to speak.Unless Pathfinder alters this rule it would still be in effect.
Interesting.. I just figured it would be impossible to quicken the item since it is spell completion. I've always seen quickened spells as partially cast ready to be released at a moment's notice.
So I can have a (to avoid argument here) Scroll of quickened wall of stone in my haversack. Take a move action to get my scroll out, cast cloudkill on my enemies, and recite my quickend wall of stone to surround them.. that is evil
James Risner
Owner - D20 Hobbies
|
According to the Rules as Written, is it allowable for a wizard to craft a wand of empowered (+2 spell lvl) fireball (3rd level spell)? The cost to create it comes out to 20,000 gp and change.
No, RAW a Wand of Empowered Fireball is a 5th level spell and not able to be placed in a wand.
In both 3.5 and 3.p, you pay for the metamagic whenever you make an item. So any item spell level limits or costs are based off the higher cost. There is no rule that disagrees with this in 3.5 or 3.p, and there has never been a FAQ that disagrees with the higher level evaluation.
| The Grandfather |
According to the Rules as Written, is it allowable for a wizard to craft a wand of empowered (+2 spell lvl) fireball (3rd level spell)? The cost to create it comes out to 20,000 gp and change.
The Fallen Kingdoms sorcebook for FR had a craft scepter feat that basically allowed to craft wands of high level spells. That would allow you to make a scepter of empowered fireball. As far as I recall the rules where much the same as crafting wands, just with higher CL prereq.
| The Grandfather |
As I recall, spell-trigger items are scrolls and spell-activation items are wands and staffs.
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell
completion, but it’s even simpler. No gestures or spell
finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting
that an appropriate character would know, and a single word
that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone
whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case
even for a character who can’t actually cast spells, such as a
3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is
stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell
trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks
of opportunity.
I.e. scrolls!
Spell Completion: This is the activation method for scrolls.
A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation
is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed
beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All that’s left to do
is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final
gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item
safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right
class to cast the spell already. If he can’t already cast the
spell, there’s a chance he’ll make a mistake. Activating a spell
completion item is a standard action (or the spell’s casting time, whichever is longer) and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.
This includes wands, and staves.
There is no such thing as a spell-activation item.
There are use-activation items, such as magic weapons and armor.