lastknightleft
|
You can't move, but does that mean you can't take move equivalent actions. Drawing a dagger is something I see as being doable as an action that can be done with one hand, so even if you can't take move equivalents, I can see it done that way as an action, but then if you are in a grapple are you limited to just a single action or can you do a move and standard action as long as your move is a move equivalent.
I'm leaning towards yes you can draw a weapon but it counts as your action for the round so you can't also attack with it, but I'd like to know either the official rules or other DMs opinions.
| Brodiggan Gale |
You can't move, but does that mean you can't take move equivalent actions. Drawing a dagger is something I see as being doable as an action that can be done with one hand, so even if you can't take move equivalents, I can see it done that way as an action, but then if you are in a grapple are you limited to just a single action or can you do a move and standard action as long as your move is a move equivalent.
I'm leaning towards yes you can draw a weapon but it counts as your action for the round so you can't also attack with it, but I'd like to know either the official rules or other DMs opinions.
Personally, I'd probably house rule that being grappled limits you to a single standard or move equivalent action, much like Nauseated or Slowed. (Limiting you to drawing the dagger, unless you had quick draw, in which case you could Draw and attack once.)
But by the RAW, you could both draw the dagger and make an attack, or make a full attack if you have quick draw.
lastknightleft
|
But by the RAW, you could both draw the dagger and make an attack, or make a full attack if you have quick draw.
There was a whole thread where they debated whether or not you can take a full attack with the grappled condition. I'm with the group who say you can't, although it pretty much boils down to interpretation.
If You Are Grappled: If you are grappled, you can attempt to break the grapple as a standard action by making a combat maneuver check (DC equal to your opponent’s CMD; this does not provoke an attack of opportunity) or Escape Artist check (with a DC equal to your opponent’s CMD). If you succeed, you break the grapple and can act normally. Alternatively, if you succeed, you can become the grappler, grappling the other creature (meaning that the other creature cannot freely release the grapple without making a combat maneuver check, while you can). Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that requires only one hand to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you. See the grappled condition for additional details. If you are pinned, your actions are very limited. See the pinned condition in Appendix 2 for additional details.
lastknightleft
|
lastknightleft wrote:And these differ how exactly?Lehmuska wrote:Nothing in grapple prevents you from taking move actions. If it did, greater grapple wouldn't do anything.I was refering to the subject of the grapple, not the grappler.
Okay I see what you're saying, although you could have been a little more helpful in the way you say it. The grapplee cannot move, but that doesn't mean they cannot take a move action. So they can take any move equivalent action, and then only their standard actions are limited in what they can do.
| Brodiggan Gale |
The grapplee cannot move, but that doesn't mean they cannot take a move action. So they can take any move equivalent action, and then only their standard actions are limited in what they can do.
At least according to the RAW, all the grappled characters actions are limited in the same manner. Namely, they must require only a single hand to perform, regardless of action type.
So drawing a weapon, drinking a potion, casting a spell, attacking with a light weapon (or making a full attack with a light weapon) would all be fine, since they require only one hand. Lighting a torch, loading a crossbow, or drawing/attacking with a large weapon would all be impossible, since they require two hands.
Now is this a bit silly in some cases.. yes, which is why I'd prefer to houserule it. But if you're playing by the RAW, that's how it is.
Mike Schneider
|
lastknightleft wrote:The grapplee cannot move, but that doesn't mean they cannot take a move action. So they can take any move equivalent action, and then only their standard actions are limited in what they can do.At least according to the RAW, all the grappled characters actions are limited in the same manner. Namely, they must require only a single hand to perform, regardless of action type.
So drawing a weapon, drinking a potion, casting a spell, attacking with a light weapon (or making a full attack with a light weapon) would all be fine, since they require only one hand.
What about drawing and attacking with a one-handed weapon while being the grapplee?
Mike Schneider
|
Mike Schneider wrote:What about drawing and attacking with a one-handed weapon while being the grapplee?1. Way to necro this
2. Still one-handed
3. Grapple rules state you can use an Unarmed Strike, Natural Attack, Armor Spike, Light Weapon or One Handed Weapon to attack with.
It's the drawing part issue which came up recently (of a one-handed weapon).
| Stynkk |
It's the drawing part issue which came up recently (of a one-handed weapon).
Grapple doesn't say you can't draw weapons, items of any size. You could draw a great axe (but you couldn't attack with it). If you are Pinned you cant use your arms *at all*, but grapple lets you use one arm just fine.