Multiweapon Fighting


Rules Questions

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32

Does such exist in the current Pathfinder setup? Even if you ignore the priorly extant boot knives and extra limbs (such as gaining a tail or bite attack), you can still wield three weapons through a weapon in each hand and armor spikes; or even four if you have Improved Unarmed Attack as well.

Scarab Sages

Multiweapon fighting exists but you need 3+ hands to take it. Also, natural weapons don't count. Weapons that do count are:

Armour Spikes
Blade Boot
Dwarven Boulder Helmet
Unarmed Strikes
... and held weapons

I'm curious to see if a character could put this all together for a potential 5 or 6 off-hand attacks.

Natural weapons used in conjunction with manufactured weapons follow a different rule. Each natural attack can be taken in addition to the attacks of manufactured weapons as part of a full attack action, but they are considered secondary attacks; only applying half the character's strength bonus to damage rolls, and taking a -5 penalty to the attack roll (or a -2 penalty with the multiattack feat).

A character has the potential to have claws, a bite, tail slap, wing buffets, and a gore attack as natural weapons. In theory...


Horselord wrote:
I'm curious to see if a character could put this all together for a potential 5 or 6 off-hand attacks.

Multihanded eidolons for the win!

Liberty's Edge

Virgil wrote:
Does such exist in the current Pathfinder setup? Even if you ignore the priorly extant boot knives and extra limbs (such as gaining a tail or bite attack), you can still wield three weapons through a weapon in each hand and armor spikes; or even four if you have Improved Unarmed Attack as well.

Attacking with armor spikes is treated as either a primary or off-hand attack. Thus, if you only have two hands you cannot attack with weapons in both hands AND armor spikes. You could do left & right weapons, left weapon & armor spikes, or right weapon and armor spikes.

As Horselord noted, natural weapons are different... left weapon, right weapon, AND bite attack is entirely possible.


I'm looking forward to seeing this thread get bumped in about two-and-a-half years.


Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber

I couldn't believe someone answered a question from 2009 in 2013!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiweapon Fighting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions