Question on animal companion (attacks)


Rules Questions


Hello,

the Corerules state, that an anmial does not get multiple attacks for a high attack bonus.

What does that mean?

Does it mean, that an animal cannot make a full attack since it has only one attack OR does it mean, that an animal compagnion makes all its attacks at its highest attack bonus?

Greetz
Ganzir

Sovereign Court

Ganzir wrote:

Hello,

the Corerules state, that an anmial does not get multiple attacks for a high attack bonus.

What does that mean?

Does it mean, that an animal cannot make a full attack since it has only one attack OR does it mean, that an animal compagnion makes all its attacks at its highest attack bonus?

Greetz
Ganzir

Neither, animals use natural attacks, all natural attacks are divided into two categories, primary and secondary. An animal can make one attack with each natural weapon it has at it's full attack bonus for primary attacks and -5 for all secondary attacks.

Manufactured weapons such as swords and bows are the only things that offer itterative attacks for a high BAB.

Grand Lodge

That rule also applies to characters using natural attacks or the equivalent, i.e. the Paychic Warrior using claw attacks (as in using an appropriate psy warrior power) can make two and only two attacks regardless of her BAB.


Quote:
Neither, animals use natural attacks, all natural attacks are divided into two categories, primary and secondary. An animal can make one attack with each natural weapon it has at it's full attack bonus for primary attacks and -5 for all secondary attacks.

As a fullround action or as a standard action?

Greetz
Ganzir

Sovereign Court

Ganzir wrote:
Quote:
Neither, animals use natural attacks, all natural attacks are divided into two categories, primary and secondary. An animal can make one attack with each natural weapon it has at it's full attack bonus for primary attacks and -5 for all secondary attacks.

As a fullround action or as a standard action?

Greetz
Ganzir

As a standard action you may attack with any one natural weapon, the bonus doesn't change (i.e. if you attack with a secondary attack it's still at -5 even though it's the only one you attacked with)

you may attack with all of your natural weapons as a full round action.

Dark Archive

lastknightleft wrote:

As a standard action you may attack with any one natural weapon, the bonus doesn't change (i.e. if you attack with a secondary attack it's still at -5 even though it's the only one you attacked with)

you may attack with all of your natural weapons as a full round action.

So using this as an example:

Linnorm, Crag (bestiary preview) wrote:

Offense
Speed 40 ft., fly 100 ft. (average), swim 60 ft.
Melee bite +23 (2d8+12/19–20 plus poison), 2 claws +23 (1d8+12), tail +18 (2d6+6 plus grab)

If it were to run (or fly) up to you then attack, it would attack once with its bite OR once with its 2 claws (is this 2 separate claw attacks?) OR once (at -5) with its tail.

...but if it were already in place and taking the full attack action, it could do 1 bite, 2 claws, and a tail (albeit at -5) for a total of 4 attacks, is that right?

Thats a bite at +23
a claw at +23
another claw at +23
and a tail at +18

or are the two claws considered one attack?

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Linnorm, Crag (bestiary preview) wrote:

Offense
Speed 40 ft., fly 100 ft. (average), swim 60 ft.
Melee bite +23 (2d8+12/19–20 plus poison), 2 claws +23 (1d8+12), tail +18 (2d6+6 plus grab)

Basically, if the linnorm takes a standard action, it can make a single attack. That could be one bite, one claw, or one tail, all at the listed bonuses to hit (+23 for bite or claw, +18 for tail).

If it takes a full attack action it can make all four attacks listed.

As for the 2 claws; that's two separate attacks. They're not "bundled."

Dark Archive

James Jacobs wrote:
Linnorm, Crag (bestiary preview) wrote:

Offense
Speed 40 ft., fly 100 ft. (average), swim 60 ft.
Melee bite +23 (2d8+12/19–20 plus poison), 2 claws +23 (1d8+12), tail +18 (2d6+6 plus grab)

Basically, if the linnorm takes a standard action, it can make a single attack. That could be one bite, one claw, or one tail, all at the listed bonuses to hit (+23 for bite or claw, +18 for tail).

If it takes a full attack action it can make all four attacks listed.

As for the 2 claws; that's two separate attacks. They're not "bundled."

Awesome! I've ALWAYS wondered about those two claw attacks (or other similar). Now I know, and knowing is half... ah, you get the idea.

Sovereign Court

glad to be of service in one of the few instances where I wasn't ninja'd

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question on animal companion (attacks) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions