
Beastman |

Hi there. Have some difficulties understanding the rules of a Wizard's Bonded Object. Can anyone explain to me how this class feature works and/or give an example?
Some specifities:
a) When is the wizard able to add magical properties (aside from from being of high enough class level) - when there is time, when he has the money, whenever he wants?
b) Are ther elimitations to how many properties the wizard can add to his bonded item?
c) if the bonded item is a magical one the wizard can add properties. I assume the bonded item when used by other characters functions as the origina items properties only
d) the text says if the items owner dies the item reverts back to a masterwork item. i assume this is not the cast for a magical item to which the wizard added properties - the item would revert back to its orginalform?
thanx for answering

![]() |

"The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it." -p78
Once an item's bound to you, if it was magical, its magic is also bound to you.
"Items replaced in this way do not possess any of the additional enchantments of the previous bonded item." -p78
That's one of the drawbacks of a bonded item. If you're gonna enchant it, you've gotta protect it. You're bound to it, afterall.

![]() |

"The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it." -p78
Once an item's bound to you, if it was magical, its magic is also bound to you.
"Items replaced in this way do not possess any of the additional enchantments of the previous bonded item." -p78
That's one of the drawbacks of a bonded item. If you're gonna enchant it, you've gotta protect it. You're bound to it, afterall.
Duh, this is why Matthew has 0 ranks in perception and Wisdom 8.