Wizard Bonded Item - How does it work


Rules Questions


Hi there. Have some difficulties understanding the rules of a Wizard's Bonded Object. Can anyone explain to me how this class feature works and/or give an example?

Some specifities:

a) When is the wizard able to add magical properties (aside from from being of high enough class level) - when there is time, when he has the money, whenever he wants?
b) Are ther elimitations to how many properties the wizard can add to his bonded item?
c) if the bonded item is a magical one the wizard can add properties. I assume the bonded item when used by other characters functions as the origina items properties only
d) the text says if the items owner dies the item reverts back to a masterwork item. i assume this is not the cast for a magical item to which the wizard added properties - the item would revert back to its orginalform?

thanx for answering

Liberty's Edge

If you look in the back of the book, it has rules for creating magic items. I would say that all of those apply for enchantment purposes except the necessity of feats. Money cost, time cost, and spellcraft check (or other skill check if desired as determined by item type)

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

My only question is, if the wizard has a bonded item he's enchanted the snot out of and it gets destroyed, does the replacement get all the enchantments, or is it gold tossed out the window?

Liberty's Edge

"The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it." -p78

Once an item's bound to you, if it was magical, its magic is also bound to you.

"Items replaced in this way do not possess any of the additional enchantments of the previous bonded item." -p78

That's one of the drawbacks of a bonded item. If you're gonna enchant it, you've gotta protect it. You're bound to it, afterall.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

stardust wrote:

"The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it." -p78

Once an item's bound to you, if it was magical, its magic is also bound to you.

"Items replaced in this way do not possess any of the additional enchantments of the previous bonded item." -p78

That's one of the drawbacks of a bonded item. If you're gonna enchant it, you've gotta protect it. You're bound to it, afterall.

Duh, this is why Matthew has 0 ranks in perception and Wisdom 8.

Contributor

And you damn well better be careful when you're enchanting it too, because the last thing you want is a curse on a bonded item.

Yes, your magic amulet now doubles as a necklace of strangulation! Now how much would you pay?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wizard Bonded Item - How does it work All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.