| Elorebaen |
Rules question below.
I am thinking of a Chuul, or any other creature with a similiar combo.
Improved Grab (Ex)
To use this ability, a chuul must hit with a claw attack. It can then attempt to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. If it wins the grapple check, it establishes a hold and can constrict or on its next turn transfer a grabbed opponent to its tentacles.
Does the constrict ability happen on that same round, or the next one?
Thanks.
Nethys
|
Fortunately, this issue has come up in one of my disciple's games on numerous occasions, and it has been referenced.
If a creature with this special attack hits with a melee weapon (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. No initial touch attack is required.Unless otherwise noted, improved grab works only against opponents at least one size category smaller than the creature. The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the improved grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a -20 penalty on grapple checks, but is not considered grappled itself; the creature does not lose its Dexterity bonus to AC, still threatens an area, and can use its remaining attacks against other opponents.
A successful hold does not deal any extra damage unless the creature also has the constrict special attack. If the creature does not constrict, each successful grapple check it makes during successive rounds automatically deals the damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. Otherwise, it deals constriction damage as well (the amount is given in the creature’s descriptive text).
If the Chuul hits someone with its claw attack, it may attempt the free grapple. If it succeeds, then it may immediately deal its Constrict damage, as it does so *whenever* it succeeds on a grapple check, even the initial one.
Does this answer your question? Yes, it means creatures with Constrict can do a massive amount of damage on that first attack, as they will deal their Claw damage *and* their Constrict damage (if the Grapple succeeds). They do hurt.
Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys