Beckett
|
I don't see a reason that the spell would end. Normally, (in 3.5 anyway), the death of a caster did not stop a spell unless it specifically says so, or the caster had to do something to keep it going. The target will get the save each day afterwards, and the duration is 1 day / caster level, so it shouldn't be to terribly long before it goes away on it's own, and if it is something real bad that keeps cropping up, Protection from Evil is a full proof temp cure.
The up side is that they have a little protection from future Dominates in a sense. If it that big a problem, they can always get a Miracle, Break Enchantment, or something to get rid of it.
| DM_Blake |
Protection from Evil is a full proof temp cure.
Maybe not so much.
Protection from evil or a similar spell can prevent you from exercising control or using the telepathic link while the subject is so warded, but such an effect neither prevents the establishment of domination nor dispels it.
Exercising control means changing the orders you gave initially, but per the OP's question, you're dead, so you're not changing orders or exercising control.
And since you're dead, you're not using the telepathic link, either.
So, if a person is dominated, and the caster of the domination is dead or alive, casting Protection from Evil on the victim of the domination won't stop him from carrying out the initial instructions.
At least that's how I read it.
But there is an interesting gray area.
Protection From Evil won't prevent the establishment of the domination, but it does prevent the caster from exercising control via his successfully established domination.
I guess this means that if you walk into a wizard's tower and you have Protection from Evil running, that wizard can cast Dominate Person on you and can successfully establish the domination (if you fail your save), but cannot give you any orders (exercise control) until your Protection from Evil ends.
Interesting situation.
Nethys
|
From the 3.5 FAQ
What exactly does the second effect of protection from evil do, anyway?The Sage feels your pain. While the first and third effects of protection from evil are relatively straightforward, the second is less clear. The key phrase that defines this particular effect of the spell is as follows: “ . . . the barrier blocks any attempt to . . . exercise mental control over the creature (including enchantment (charm) effects and enchantment (compulsion) effects that grant the caster ongoing control over the subject . . .).”
(The spell also blocks attempts to possess the creature, but effects that accomplish this are so few as to barely be worth mentioning.)
The first part of this phrase describes the basic criteria by which the DM should judge protection from evil’s effect: If the incoming effect attempts to exercise mental control over the creature, protection from evil likely suppresses that effect. The parenthetical portion of the phrase provides two specific examples (pointed, obviously, at rules elements of the PH) to help judge what exactly is meant by that:
1. Enchantment (charm) effects. Simple enough — protection from evil automatically suppresses any enchantment (charm) effect, such as charm person or enthrall.
2. Enchantment (compulsion) effects that grant the caster ongoing control over the subject. This is where adjudication gets trickier, because you have to decide what “ongoing control” means. The Sage recommends a broad definition, which includes any non-instantaneous effect that prevents the target from exercising full control over its own actions.
Examples would include the obvious (such as command or dominate person), but also the less obvious, such as daze, sleep, and Tasha’s hideous laughter. Such effects would be suppressed for as long as protection from evil lasts on the target.
There are still plenty of enchantment (compulsion) effects that don’t grant the caster ongoing control over the subject. Heroism, crushing despair, mind fog, power word blind, rage, and touch of idiocy are examples. Protection from evil has no effect on such spells.
But what about mental control effects that aren’t enchantment effects, such as psionics? In such cases, the DM must use the rules and his own best judgment in concert to adjudicate the effect. Psionic powers of the telepathy discipline are the equivalent of enchantment spells, for example, and thus are affected in the same way. Nonspell effects that closely mimic enchantment spells should be treated as if they were spells of the appropriate subschool (charm or compulsion).
Emphasis mine. The dominate person effect is suppressed as long as the protection from evil remains on the individual, but if both the dominate caster and target are still alive and the spell is still in effect after the PfE wears off, then the dominate will be un-suppressed and resume.
Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys
Russ Taylor
Contributor, RPG Superstar 2008 Top 6
|
I'd be nervous about citing that FAQ ruling - it's one of the howlers in the document. While consesus is that protection from evil does fully suppress domination (so walking into a magic circle makes you a free person for a while), the ruling in question completely misses the distinction between compulsions that grant ongoing control (like dominations) and ones that don't. As a consequence, it incorrectly claims that protection from evil affects the other two types of ccompulsion effects.
The three categories described in the Magic section are:
"some compulsion spells determine the subject's actions or the effects on the subject"
example: confusion
"some compulsion spells allow you to determine the subject's actions when you cast the spell"
examples: command, suggesion
"and others give you ongoing control over the subject"
example: dominate person
Protection from evil only helps with compulsions that grant ongoing control, as well as with charm effects:
"including enchantment (charm) effects and enchantment (compulsion) effects that grant the caster ongoing control over the subject, such as dominate person). "
Not a fan of that FAQ entry, or the fact that WotC never fixed it...it came down from Sage Advice, and appears to be one of the cases where all the rules in question weren't examined before making the ruling.
Beckett
|
I don't think so. The supression of those effects for a short time is the main point of the spell. The +2 to Saves and AC against a single alignment are pretty trivial, and other spells of the same level +/- 1 do a better job. Keep in mind though, tha a 20th Level Caster is only going o be able to help you for 20 Minutes out of a 24 hour day (with one casting). Like I said, it is a prett full proof TEMPORARY plan.