Consequences of scroll failure


Magic Items

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32, 2011 Top 16

This came up in one of our game sessions. Using the rules for casting a scroll of a higher caster level than yours, what happens to the scroll if you fail your caster level check. I know that you have to make a DC 5 wisdom check to avoid a mishap, but assuming that there is no mishap, what happens?

Does the scroll:

a) remain intact and you can try again
b) lose it's magic and can't be retried

The text on p. 359 states that "The writing for an activated spell dissapears from the scroll.", but there's no futher mention of a failed activation attempt.

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 8

I've always assumed that the scroll does activate, but instead of doing what it is supposed to do, it does the mishap result instead.

However, since that is an assumption on my part, I can agree it needs to be clearly stated.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

If you fail to activate a scroll, nothing at all happens, and you can try again on the next round, unless you also fail a DC 5 Wisdom check. In that case, bad things may happen.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / Design Forums / Magic Items / Consequences of scroll failure All Messageboards
Recent threads in Magic Items