Low level Paladins able to use spellcasting based magic items?


Classes: Cleric, Druid, and Paladin


Are 1st to 3rd level paladins (and rangers) able to use spell-based magic items. (i.e. a Wand of Cure Light Wounds)?

Under the Spell description section, is does indicate "through 3rd level, a paladin has no caster level."

This would tell me that they can not use spell-based items until level 4. (I remember hearing about a ruling under D&D 3.5 ed, that a level 1 paladin could use such a wand -- but I have not seen such a rule myself).

Liberty's Edge

The 3.5 "ruling" is actually written into the SRD, which you can find here.

The specific rules for activating spell trigger items aren't in the Pathfinder Beta, so I would assume they haven't changed.

Dark Archive

In addition to the SRD, it's also on DMG p 213. A 3rd level Paladin is specifically mentioned as an example of sopmeone who can't actually cast spells (yet) but has the spells on his spell list.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / Design Forums / Classes: Cleric, Druid, and Paladin / Low level Paladins able to use spellcasting based magic items? All Messageboards
Recent threads in Classes: Cleric, Druid, and Paladin