Karui Kage
|
Has P-RPG changed the way critical hits multiply damage? I remember the old 3.5 way was to multiply everything except extra dice beyond the weapon dice. So if you had a Ranger attacking his favored enemy (with a +4 to damage bonus) and a longbow mighty +2, you would roll 1d8+2+4 x3. Or 3d8+6+12.
If it was a rogue and a sneak attacking dagger (let's say 2d6) on a crit, however, it would just be 1d4 (x2) + 2d6, or 2d4 + 2d6.
In P-RPG on page 131, it appears to confirm this by saying: Sometimes you multiply damage by some factor, such as on a critical hit. Roll the damage (with all modifiers) multiple times and total the results. Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. Exception: Extra damage dice over and above a weapon's normal damage are never multiplied.
Emphasis mine. Now that would seem to confirm the old method of doing this, but then on page 136, the exception is Exception: Extra damage over and above a weapon's normal damage is not multiplied when you score a critical hit.
So the question is, which is correct? In the example above with a Ranger, what would he roll on a crit? Let's assume he has a Mighty Comp Longbow (+2 Mighty) and is attacking a favored enemy he has a +4 bonus to damage on.
Is it:
A. 3d8 (Weapon x3) + 6 (Mighty x3) + 12 (Fav Enemy x3)
B. 3d8 (Weapon x3) + 6 (Mighty x3) + 4 (Fav Enemy)
C. 3d8 (Weapon x3) + 2 (Mighty) + 4 (Fav Enemy)
I am fairly certain it is not C, as I consider that Mighty to be part of the weapon's damage, but am now unsure if it should be A or B. I always just assumed it was extra damage DICE that were not re-rolled, but now I see that it could be all extra damage above the weapon's normal?
Well? :D
Chris Mortika
RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16
|
First off, Karui Kage, I wanted to compliment you on such a clear question and example. I can see exactly what you're asking, and I understand where your confusion comes in.
My answer: I don't know. (grin)
My unserstanding is that (A) is the way the damage would be resolved in 3.5. Neither a rogue's precision damage bonus dice, nor the additional dice of energy damage from a flaming weapon, would be multiplied, but a ranger's favored enemy bonus, along with things like the damage bonus for high strength and the +4 enhancement bonus from a magic weapon would be, because they aren't expressed in terms of dice.
I haven't noticed an explicit change in Pathfinder, but then, there have been dozens of subtle changes that I've only caught after multiple readings of the Beta playtest rules. So, I may have just missed something.
(That's my default position with the Beta rules. "Here's what I think is going on, but I might be wrong." or "I haven't seen any changes from 3.5, but I might have missed something.")
One thing that has changed with critical multipliers. In 3.5, you roll damage (say 2d4) and multiply the result (say, by 3). In Pathfinder, you roll multiples of the dice (in this case, 6d4).
| Kirth Gersen |
One thing that has changed with critical multipliers. In 3.5, you roll damage (say 2d4) and multiply the result (say, by 3). In Pathfinder, you roll multiples of the dice (in this case, 6d4).
Now I'm confused... I'd thought the "roll multiple dice" method was technically correct all along, but that everyone in the world had house-ruled it to the "roll-and-multiply" system.
A critical hit means that you roll your damage more than once, with all your usual bonuses, and add the rolls together.
Karui Kage
|
Same here. I assumed it was always 'roll dice' though a lot of groups seem to house rule it to multiply.
As for the options, I have always thought it was 'A' as well, but that one line in the Critical Hit section of the Pathfinder RPG does confuse me. I imagine I can get it clear when we get to that section of the Playtesting forums, but as it matters in our weekly games I was hoping to get the official word.
Thanks for the response so far guys, I'll likely just go with 'A' for now unless I hear that it's meant to be otherwise.