Permanency and Familiar question.


Advice


Could a familiar be a target of the only yourself section since they by default bend the rule, allowing "you" only spells to be cast on them by the owner?


GM's choice really, technically it is not a spell with target : you though it does work differently when cast on yourself.

That said I probably would allow it as long as it doesn't seem to abusive to me.


AnnoyingOrange wrote:

GM's choice really, technically it is not a spell with target : you though it does work differently when cast on yourself.

That said I probably would allow it as long as it doesn't seem to abusive to me.

Same here.


RAW is you can cast personal spells on a familiar. I see nothing wrong with this.


Since we're on topic of familiars. Could someone paraphrase this ruling on familiar skill ranks for easier reading?

"Skills: For each skill in which either the master or the familiar has ranks, use either the normal skill ranks for an animal of that type or the master's skill ranks, whichever is better. In either case, the familiar uses its own ability modifiers. Regardless of a familiar's total skill modifiers, some skills may remain beyond the familiar's ability to use. Familiars treat Acrobatics, Climb, Fly, Perception, Stealth, and Swim as class skills."

As far as I understood it. If I have 5 ranks in Fly, then my Raven gets those five ranks as well, plus his dex and class bonus, right?

Does it mean my familiar has same skills as me minus his stats and class bonuses if any? Where can I find "normal skill ranks for an animal of that type". A raven has Fly +6, which is weird considering it should have +2dex +2 good maneuverability, +3 class skills for at least +7.


Correct.

Maneuverability bonuses come in as bonuses instead of the skill mod itself. This requires reverse engineering. It appears to have 1 rank in fly.


I found it out I think. Page 293 in Bestiary has statistics for monster types, an animal receives 2 + int mod per HD, which is readily scaling with the familiar, using master's HD as base.

Or is that wrong, can it only have ranks in skills I put my ranks in?
A level 10 raven should have 11 ranks to spend.


Its HD does not level with you. Skills are skills. Their allotment is whatever their bestiary entry says it is.


Ah. I thought that the text meant it sorta increased HD, when it really means in effects such as Sleep, which targets specific amount of HD?

"Hit Dice: For the purpose of effects related to number of Hit Dice, use the master's character level or the familiar's normal HD total, whichever is higher."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Permanency and Familiar question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.