Can a Bladebound Magus take a light weapon as a blackblade?


Rules Questions


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Quote:
A black blade is always a one-handed slashing weapon, a rapier, or a sword cane.

Does "one-handed" mean the category or just the handedness?


deuxhero wrote:
Quote:
A black blade is always a one-handed slashing weapon, a rapier, or a sword cane.
Does "one-handed" mean the category or just the handedness?

the handedness

you could choose a dagger, gladius, wakazashi. or kukri as well. they take 1 hand as well. though you would have to find a way to get agile on a black blade or get your DM to houserule dervish dance.

any requirement requiring a 1handed weapon is also compatible with a light weapon as well. but not all light weapon ones are compatible with 1handed.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Slashing Grace has the same wording where "one-handed slashing weapon" without mention of light weapons.

Quote:
Choose one kind of one-handed slashing weapon (such as the longsword).

So this is going to need an FAQ


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think they mean the handedness... I dunno... Paizo's FAQ about schroddinger hands made everything needlessly confusing...

Personally, I allow the player to chose any melee weapon that is not a 2-handed weapon. Scimitar is, mechanically speaking, the most effective choice anyway, so I'll not punish players for trying something different.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

People really have issues with interpreting stuff.


It means a one handed weapon. a one handed weapon is not a light weapon or a two handed weapon.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

One-handed is a category of weapon. In all cases where handedness is considered, they state as such. For example, Power Attack lists two-handed weapons and one-handed weapons wielded in two hands as separate in the list of attacks that get +50% Power Attack bonus. If they intended the Bladebound Magus to be able to take either one-handed or light weapons, they would have stated one-handed or light weapons. So, by default rules, no, a Bladebound Magus cannot take a light weapon such as a Kukri or a Dagger as their Blackblade.

Though, we were talking in another thread about a houserule to allow a variant of Blackblade that let you "split" your Blackblade levels (similar to Broodmaster Summoner) into a pair of light weapons (light slashing + shortsword) and you divide the weapon levels between them.


Its the category. When they give a "type" of weapon, they give the category because that is a "type" of weapon. If it was handiness, they would state weild in one hand or something, but in this case one handed (type) slashing (type) weapon.

Grand Lodge

If you can wield it in one hand and it does slashing damage, the answer is yes.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

The bigger question is, why would you ever want to, given that dual wielding is such a trap for Magi?


I don't know if I'm more astounded by the question "does one-handed weapon mean one-handed weapons or something else?" or that so many different answers have been given.


Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
I don't know if I'm more astounded by the question "does one-handed weapon mean one-handed weapons or something else?" or that so many different answers have been given.

You know....I was thinking the same thing...the sheer fact that its even under discussion makes me wonder if I've been playing this game wrong...

Grand Lodge

LazarX wrote:
If you can wield it in one hand and it does slashing damage, the answer is yes.

I should have amended my reply to add the fact that I don't think that any light weapons meet that criteria.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
LazarX wrote:
LazarX wrote:
If you can wield it in one hand and it does slashing damage, the answer is yes.
I should have amended my reply to add the fact that I don't think that any light weapons meet that criteria.

Kukri.

Grand Lodge

LessPopMoreFizz wrote:
LazarX wrote:
LazarX wrote:
If you can wield it in one hand and it does slashing damage, the answer is yes.
I should have amended my reply to add the fact that I don't think that any light weapons meet that criteria.
Kukri.

Now that you mention it, I remember the guy who wanted twin blackblades from his kukri.


LazarX wrote:
If you can wield it in one hand and it does slashing damage, the answer is yes.

As several FAQs have clarified, "one-handed" and "in one hand" are entirely different mechanical concepts.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Bladebound Magus take a light weapon as a blackblade? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions